We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only wish we had booked earlier to enjoy the entire weekend...but so glad we got the 1 night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only wish we had booked earlier to enjoy the entire weekend...but so glad we got the 1 night!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

After deciding we needed to getaway before bub arrives in 3 weeks & about to book our usual Chateau Elan Hunter getaway thinking its the most luxurious accomodation on offer here, a Tripadvisor pop up of Spicers being rated #2 in the Hunter caught my eye as the room pictured with fireplace & all looked very appealing. So I clicked on it & was dissapointed to see it was booked out for the weekend, however there was the great option of an overnight stay with 1 room left. After seeing what was on offer & the website I had a good feeling about the place & booked it. We have stayed everywhere in the Hunter & Spicers by far ticked all the boxes. Amazing, clean, cozy & spacious rooms with a fireplace & huge bathroom including a double spa. Only 12 suites on the property make it a peaceful, intimate affair. Every last detail was thought of including complimentary mini bar with great inclusions, a handwritten welcome note, set up fire, lounge music playing, candle lit, fluffy bathrobes & slippers, free wifi, huge range of dvd's & games to select, knock on the door at 5.30 offering 2 delicious French Martini cocktails (hubby enjoyed both) & extra towels if needed, amazing comfy bed & pillows the list goes on. Included in our overnight stay was one of the freshest & tastiest dinners & breakfasts we have had anywhere in the world. An added highlight you have the option of being served your brekky in bed if you didn't want to venture down to the nearby restaurant with amazing vineyard views. To top it all off the service provided was next to none - friendly, efficient & always with a smile...a refreshing change from Sydney! Upon checking out we had asked what room number one of the suites up top were with a balcony & if it was one of the new ones & we were immediately offered a tour of the place whilst they were in the midst of setting up & cleaning all the rooms. So happy, we will be back to experience the Leisure Suite, amazing. Given almond biscuits as a going away pressie to snack on just topped off an incredible overnight stay...we didn't want to leave. Thanks Belinda & team, you all run a great ship :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzz Accardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
691
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maroubra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just stayed at Spicer's for our wedding anniversary, and what a great choice!
The King Spa Suite was gorgeous, modern and very spacious, with a heated bathroom floor, and a huge shower and spa.
Each night we received a 6 pm cocktail delivered to our room, to drink in front of the fireplace (which was built ready to be lit), breakfast was delicious as we took in the vineyard and mountain views...
The service was above expectations, all staff were efficient, friendly, discreet and happy to be there, which makes the experience even more enjoyable.
Dinner was fantastic, the food is as good as any of the hatted restaurants we eat in in Sydney, the staff were relaxed, entertaining and knowledgable. Remember to have the veggies which are grown in the backyard!
Thank you to everyone to made our anniversary getaway from the kids so memorable!
Highly recommend a stay there, we plan on coming back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheShews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Every aspect of the stay was first class - from the service (which always went above and beyond), to the room, the restaurant, and the Day Spa. We took a stroll through the vineyard at sunset and knew this wasn't the last time we'd visit.. We've looked for the ideal getaway in the Hunter for years, and it's safe to say we have found our favourite!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspRedGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights midweek and had a lovely personal welcome and service throughout. Both the dinner and breakfast was amazing and we would highly recommend the wine tasting tour... just be sure to pace yourself!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PSEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spicers Vineyards Estate was brilliant! The rooms, the service, the team, the venue, the fireplace, the breakfast, happy hour... i could go on. Do yourself a favour and book right away, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

First time stay and boy were we impressed. Service and accommodation were fantastic! Luxury all around. Felt totally relaxed by the end of the holiday. Breakfast was beautiful and staff were very friendly. Highly recommend for any couple going away for the weekend.

Dinner at the nearby restaurant was also very pleasant and professional. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Spicers Vineyards Estate in the Hunter Valley. We have been there many times but this time it was just amazing to see the new “Luxury Spa Suites” which have just been added – the décor is subtle, modern and totally relaxing. The fireplaces in each room are a treat and are all prepared for lighting – all you have to do is light them and relax with a glass of bubbly which is in your mini bar for your enjoyment. The mini bar in The Vineyards Estate is totally there for your use – complimentary.
Each evening one of the amazing staff arrives at your door, cocktails in hand – what more could anyone want – sitting in front of a fire, sipping on a lovely cocktail.
The bathroom is huge with underfloor heating and everything you could ever want, including the fluffiest white robes. The new pool is wonderful as is the lovely outdoor hot spa .

Of course, the finale to a day is dinner in Restaurant Botanica! Chef Mark Stapleton and his wife Belinda are the ultimate hosts. Mark’s food is prepared from the best ingredients – that is very obvious when you taste it and no matter what you choose from the menu, it is delicious, starting with a ‘taster’ with compliments from the chef.

The breakfast is great with fresh fruit, fresh fruit mixed juice, poached eggs which are cooked to perfection, home made little quiches and other delicious items.

Huge congratulations to Belinda, Mark and their fabulous team!
I will never ever stay anywhere else when in The Hunter Valley – just love it!!

Room Tip: Just love the new Luxury Spa Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrisydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing