We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Vineyards Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Another great weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently had another great weekend at the Vineyards Estate -this was our 4th visit. We travelled with another couple and they were very impressed and loved everything.
This time we stayed in the newly opened Deluxe Accommodation. The rooms are spacious and well appointed - each with a private balcony or courtyard. The Nespresso Machine and capsules were a nice touch (we love our coffee). Another nice touch was the complementary evening cocktail.
There were other improvements to the property since our last stay, including a new swimming pool/spa, outdoor games area and a private dinning room in the restaurant Botanica.
The food here is always of high standard and we enjoyed our dinners and breakfast very much.
The staff are a great team; they are friendly, helpful and make you feel very welcomed.
Finally we congratulate Mark & Belinda on all the recent renovations and a great place to stay - thank you for a great weekend we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FS1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
684
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We recently stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. I had booked this as a surprise for my wife and our booking included breakfast, massages, arrival champagne and 3 course dinner for 2 at Botanica.

From the moment we arrived we were so impressed with all the nice touches, a hand written card from the owners and team wishing us a happy anniversary, the fire set up ready to light, the scented candles burning in the room and the music playing, although not my cup of tea. The surroundings are beautiful, you feel a million miles away from anywhere, with the vineyard out the front and the rolling countryside out the back.

We arranged to go to a local pub for dinner which Sharon at reception recommended, she even organised for the pub bus to come and get us. The next day we had our first breakfast and it was superb, mini pastries, quiches, eggs and smoked salmon plus fruit, mixed juice, teas and coffees. My wife is a veggie and the kitchen were quick to offer any number of alternatives for breakfast which were also excellent.

We were out all day Saturday but returned to a freshly set up fireplace again, and we then took the opportunity to dip in the hot tub outside; it could've been a little warmer but it was lovely nonetheless and the girls brought us the evening cocktails in plastic wine glasses so we didn't have to leave.

On Sunday we had massages booked in the new spa, these were both excellent and very much required after a long day drinking wine and beer the day before. We headed out for the remainder of the day but came back for dinner at Botanica. See separate Botanica review.

All in all a fantastic place to stay with service that was second to none, just highlights how far a place can go by having the right people with the right attitude towards delivering a quality experience. Would recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My Fiance surprised me with a night stay at the Spicers Vineyards Estate and it was the most amazing experience I've had in a long time. They had beautiful, modern, clean rooms with amazing views. The facilities in the room were more than what I've ever received before and the staff are lovely and very accommodating. The restaurant Botanica has beautiful food, great staff with service that made me feel very special on my birthday. I highly reccommend staying here for a relaxing weekend in the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any room being any less of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were given a weekend at Spicers vineyard by a friend & we can' t believe our luck. The whole stay was fantastic.The room was so beautiful & the bathroom was out of this world. When we arrived it was a cold & rainy day & when we were shown to our room it was warm as they had the heating on & there was a beautiful candle burning & soft jazz music playing. One of the nice touches is that the mini bar is included. We had 3 breakfasts which were probably some of the best I have ever eaten. We also ate at Botanica restaurant for an evening meal and the food was of the same quality as some of the high class restaurants that are in Sydney. I could go on & on but the best thing I can say is if you are visiting the Hunter Valley you won't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthkillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

A fantastic stay, blew me and my partner away, awesome service and atmosphere and the room was amazing. everything was great.

the people there really went out there way to make our stay the best possible. highly reccommended if your staying in the Hunter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott528956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spicers Vineyard in the Hunter Valley provided extra special touches and my husband and I sometimes felt as though we were the only ones there. The staff were always happy and available to attend to any requests. All our extra activities were booked by the staff. We had a lovely welcome and throughout were provided with extra complimentary services which were not expected at all. The restaurant was just as complimentary. The food fantastic, the service we just could not fault, even receiving complimentary drinks when one of our courses was running a bit late which was not a problem anyway. Apart from the service, the room was clean and serviced frequently. We left feeling very relaxed and looked after - just what you want when you head off for a week-end away.

Room Tip: The luxury spa suites (at each end of the complex) are new and more private, particulary the ones up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the short stay we had available in the region for excellent food and wines with great Accomodation and ease of access to surrounding tourism and winery locations
Recommend this to those after a great location in this wine area of Australia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 571StephenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing