We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spicers Vineyards Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is our 4th trip to the Hunter Valley and 2nd time at this resort and we would never bother staying anywhere else in the Hunter as this resort is so wonderful. The service is professional and warm, the beds are sooo comfortable and the food is devine. They are large rooms with a very comfy sofa to relax on during the day (assuming you don't want to sit outside either at the front or back of the room - i.e. 2 options, or by the pool). There is a huge spa and a fireplace (not needed in January, of course). The icing on the cake as far as exceeding expectation is the mini bar AND a bottle of sparkling wine included in the price. They even dropped by every evening to see if we wanted more huge fluffy white towels. There was an earlier review about not being able to open shutters/windows. I was concerned about privacy too but when we checked, we realised that unless someone "peered" in the window, they can't see you inside with the shutters half open. We also opened the windows one night to get fresh air when it wasn't hot enough for the air conditioner. Just keep the shutters at the right angle and it's private.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrisbaneTraveller079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    73
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
684
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Found Spicers at last minute. couldn't have been more warm and welcoming. very charming and private accommodation. Staff enthusiastic and very helpful and breakfasts overlooking vineyard fantastic. shame our stay was when restaurant closed. will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robndavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

It's been 8 months since our stay at Vineyards Estate but in planning our return for our 1 year anniversary I was prompted to write this review.

This is really a lovely resort for couples looking for a private, romantic escape. It's not that expensive compared to nearby resorts and for that little bit extra you really get a package that makes you feel pampered and spoilt for a few nights.

The staff were amazing and were happy to go that extra mile for us on such a special few days. My husband dropped off all our luggage and special bottle of champagne the morning of our wedding and was able to take the room key with him so that night we got our car to drop us at the hotel and didn't need to worry about checking in and arrived to find our champagne in an ice bucket and a crackling fire burning for us (it was May).

The next morning we had a brunch with family in the restaurant and they took excellent care of us. The food was great (also had breakfast and dinner here) and staff was very attentive and helpful. My brother in law needed a bit more of a sleep in the morning after the wedding so we offered him our room while the rest of us enjoyed brunch which meant we missed the cleaners but they were more than happy to service our room while we were out later that afternoon.

We can't wait to go back for our anniversary in a few months!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful but if you are on an especially romantic trip ask for an upstairs room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night and I agree with the other reviews, the service is excellent and the rooms are beautifully presented. We didn't dine here but had breakfast on the terrace and it was perfect. The setting of this estate is beautiful and looking across the vineyards at breakfast is stunning. I would like to add however, that for me, I found it dissapointing that whilst the rooms overlooked the vineyards, you had to keep the shutters closed for privacy as the other guests walk by the front windows to access their rooms. It is not possible to sleep with the window or door open which is such a shame given the beautiful country setting. Coming from the city, one of the best things about the country is smelling the fresh night air instead of relying on an air conditioner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pollyannaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Spicers for 3 nights over the new year period. We were more than impressed by the amenities available and service levels provided by all staff. All staff were very friendly and were available to help with any questions we had. The rooms are very clean, well maintained and have everything you need for a great stay. The daily breakfasts were brilliant. We also had new years eve dinner at the restaurant and found the food and wine to be extremely good with service to match. The rooms were serviced daily and nice little touches such as scented candles and turndown services provided.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3, located on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewhale9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with the complete indulgence package and was not disappointed. The staff were extremely helpful and made the stay very enjoyable. The room was perfect for kicking back and relaxing. The restaurant is also amazing with 3 course dinner as part of the package and breakfast daily. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmac79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed ata number of Spicers properties and this was easily one of the best. We spent 3 nights in December for our 10th wedding anniversary and everything was perfect. The rooms were spotless and luxurious and the property and grounds immaculate. We ate at the Botanica restaurant on our last night and were amazed at the quality of the food. Can highly recommend this resort as somewhere to get away for a few days or to use as a base to visit the Hunter Valley.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor have both front and rear patios to sit and watch the wildlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
4.7 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicers Vineyards Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Vineyards Estate

Property: Spicers Vineyards Estate
Address: 555 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Spicers Vineyards Estate 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personal service & attention to detail in every way! A luxurious Guesthouse, Spicers Vineyards Estate is set amidst its own private vineyard. Every suite features king beds, lounge area, open fireplace, spa en-suite, flat screen TV with CD/DVD and IPod dock, whilst the property boasts gourmet dining experiences at onsite Restaurant Botanica, Salt water pool & spa, guest lounge & boardroom, free wireless broadband and every guest is greeted on arrival with complimentary wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Spicers Vineyards Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Pokolbin
Vineyards Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Spicers Vineyards Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing