We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place shame about the service”
Review of De Iuliis

De Iuliis
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.38*
and up
Hunter Valley Gatherer's Full-Day Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #74 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Attraction details
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We turned up for a short wine tasting on saturday at 4:30pm and were appalled at the unfriendly and abrupt, bordering on rude lady that served us. I asked a couple of questions about the wines and vineyards and felt mocked at the response. Maybe we were late in the day and she wanted to go home. It would have been better if she did. I always buy at least one bottle of wine as a common courtesy and we had just come from from McLeish Estate and bought 18 bottles and joined the club for another 2 dozen this year ( a $600 spend). De Iuliis need better people to maximise the beautiful location and outlook.

2  Thank all6ofusSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeIuliis, Owner at De Iuliis, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

We are very sorry to hear you had an unsatisfying experience at De Iuliis Cellar Door.

Customer service is very important to us and we are very sorry due to some misfortunate timing you didn’t receive the service we usually provide and are well known for. Our cellar door opening hours are 10am to 5pm, which can make structured tastings immediately before the closing time a challenge and we feel doesn’t do our wines justice. Despite this, it seems our staff member did attempt to accommodate you and your family by staying back after our opening hours solely to cater for your visit and is very sorry that you were not content with the small tasting possible in that time. This came as a surprise to us as we generally receive a substantial amount positive feedback about our friendly staff members on a regular basis. We have discussed the matter with them and taken actions to ensure this doesn’t happen again.

Again we are sorry about the negative impression which was made and appreciate all feedback to assist us in improving everyone’s experience when visiting De Iuliis wines. We hope you enjoy our wines and we look forward to welcoming you again so you can get the friendly, informative and professional tasting we are generally known for.

Please feel free to contact us directly on (02) 4993 8000 or mail me on sales@dewine.com.au if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 36 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

It is surprising to find such positive reviews on De Iuliis - as my recent trip with friends found this winery to be far from pleasant. The service that we had unfortunately encountered left us with the poorest impression of how wineries can be run in the Hunter.

From early on into our stay, the female staff member present at De Iuliis displayed a very unwelcoming conduct towards our group. The server poured wine to us in a careless and brusque manner, showing no courtesy whatsoever. Upon asking to sample a different wine, we were quickly told by the female staff member very impudently that, "A lot of Asian people have come through - and you all just don't know how to taste wine!" The amount of rudeness we encountered in our mere twenty-minute stay at De Iuliis is shocking. It was made clear by the server that she had no intention of giving her visitors any common courtesy or respect, let alone introducing, serving or selling the winery's products.

To learn that other visitors have had such positive experiences is even more offending. Our friends and I had, like many others, looked on Trip Advisor for well-rated and popular wineries to visit in our trip to the Hunter. Instead, we were subjected to insolent manner and racist remarks that made us all very uncomfortable. It is appalling and disappointing to know that this type of behaviour can be tolerated. I honestly urge other visitors to look to many of the other excellent, high-standard wineries in the area where you would certainly not be subjected to the kind of behaviour they call 'customer service' at De Iuliis.

5  Thank jwsc40212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The tasting list is extensive and they are happy to open wines for you, including some of the reserves. Gardens around it were lovely. The cellar door person knew what she was talking about and was battling a cold...but cheerful enough. Worth a visit.

1  Thank DiverDanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a lovely little winery with a nice cellar door and very attractive gardens, when I went it was quiet certainly didnt have the large numbers at some of the bigger wineries. Service was friendly and helpful - oh and the wine was very nice too!

4  Thank QbnSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

De Iuliius is one of the best cellar doors in the Hunter. We were warmly welcomed by Anne - whose knowledge of the wines and stories about the history were extensive and interesting. One of the best experiences - from the quality of the wine to the professionalism of the customer service. Combined with a visit to the adjacent Butterflies gallery, it was a perfect finale to a memorable weekend in the Hunter.

5  Thank KC64_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Iuliis also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to De Iuliis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing