We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A decadent weekend away....”
Review of Tower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tower Lodge
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A decadent weekend away....”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I wanted to spend some quiet time alone together this weekend, and so we booked into the Tower Lodge to spoil oursleves a little... but that was an understatement !! This place is spectacular !! By the end of it - we were already trying to figure how how soon we could get away and do it again.
Everything was first rate from the ambience in the spacious Lounge Room through to the wonderful decor and attention to detail in the individual layout of each room. The service is of the highest standard and the whole experience was incredibly flattering.
Once settled into the rooms - its hard to leave. There is nothing quite like a fire crackling away on a cold winters night and we just wanted to relax and absorb the tranquility. Breakfast the next morning was very indulgent and extremely generous. We were lost in time, reading the paper, soaking up the view of the mist covered mountains through the large windows, while savouring that wonderful meal.....we really didnt want it to end...

The Tower Lodge is up there with the best that Australia has to offer. We cant wait to do it again....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
92
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

As we entered the majestic grand doors of Tower Lodge, I was in love.

The amazing entrance of Tower Lodge takes you to another place. I felt as though I was in a beautiful Riad in Marrakech or in an exclusive chateau somewhere in France. I never knew such a magical place existed only a few hours from Sydney.

The first room we saw was The Lounge Room. The fire place was going, there was ambient music, the lounge was extremely comfortable. I was lost for words as the place was just sooo beautiful and luxurious yet it was cosy, warm and extremely welcoming. I was intrigued by all the detailing and delicious ambience. The energy of the room was captivating and so comforting. I couldn't stop smiling and giggling for hours as I was just in awe at how amazing this place already was and I haven't even seen my room.

I stayed in Room 10. Perfection. Absolute perfection. The room was decadent, luxurious and extremely welcoming. Seems to be a common theme in this amazing place.

As I entered the room, I was welcomed with the crackling of wood from the fireplace and classical music. WOW! Felt so pampered and looked after already.

The fittings and detailing of the room was exquisite. Absolutely exquisite. The bed was extremely comfortable. I haven't slept that well in ages. The bathroom was amazing!... Extremely spacious, luxurious and very inviting.

The staff were impeccable, caring and attentive.

Paul was the manager on for the evening we arrived. There was a large group of us arriving throughout all crazy hours of the night and Paul was AMAZING!.. He was friendly, attentive and provided amazing service - maintaining my fireplace for house on end even though I wasn't in the room and spending my time hanging out in the Lounge Room. We had arranged a dinner service for our group at a certain time and kept changing the times on when to serve dinner due to our different arrival times and Paul was soo great with all the changes requested!!

Another mention would have to be to Karlie, the owner of the estate. WOW! What an incredible human being - So attentive, generous, gracious and wonderful. Karlie managed our booking and our constant requests and changes (even up to the very very last minute) and she made the start of the experience delightful. It was really lovely to have met the owner and hear her share the story, the history and share the love and passion for this gorgeous venue. It made the experience really personable and amazing.

I can't recommend this place enough!.. It was one of the most amazing hotel experiences in my life. I have travelled around the world.. and never would I ever have thought such a grand and decadent place existed only a few hours from Sydney. It's a little piece of European luxury in Australia. It really is up there with one of my top travelling experiences.

I'm still giddy and in awe of how amazing this place is. I can't wait to revisit. A home away from home. A luxurious escape. Totally magical.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had a project/photoshoot on location in hunter valley & when I saw the pictures they just blew my mind away! But let me tell you.....nothing describes the magic this place has!!! it is everything luxurious but cosy at the same time!!!!!! the perfect addition to a hunter valley experience. All ammenities are top notch, so so spacious, furnishings are each customised so that each room has a different theme (yes i asked to check out some other rooms after seeing the lobby)!!! the staff there are so friendly and hospitable (Paul especially). parking is right out front, minutes walk away from other estates and winerys, food was high quality (produce was fresh as expected from the hunter region).... I am cannot say enough about this place, I think it is perfect for ANY type of stay as I was on a work trip. But I instantly missed my partner and messaged him right away when I saw the fireplace!!!! Thank you to the staff, you are amazing.

Room Tip: the rooms have different themes so depending on your style, let the staff know when you make your bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakeMeOverKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Absolutely stunning! felt like i was in another country, they served amazing food as well, i felt like i was in paradise!! - the staff were so kind, made me feel at home. Paul Moussa & Karlie May what an amazing job they did! so friendly and helpful :) Highly recommend the tower lodge, im definitely coming back. THE VIEWS WERE AMAZING! x

Room Tip: stayed in the eastern rooms felt like i was in mexico! the view was amazing #vinyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently returned to the Tower Lodge for a one night stay.

We chose the Oriental Room and the room itself was amazing, but then for $700 per night you would hope it would be.

The afternoon tea was quite plain in comparison to what was served 3 years ago and the breakfast was very average.

The staff really let this place down. I'm told there are only 10 rooms making it a boutique luxury hotel. Given this, and the price you pay, you would expect the staff to be very customer focused. I requested a bottle of water from the front desk and the lady behind the desk let out a big sigh and made a face as if it was the most difficult thing she had to do that day. We requested a slightly later check out and were advised by a different staff member that a "VIP" was checking into our room the following day so he would have to confirm whether we could stay an extra half an hour. We had booked the best room in the hotel for the night. It would have been nice for us to be treated like VIPs as well.

The Tower Lodge is part of the Select luxury hotels group. We recently stayed at another boutique hotel which is also part of this group - the service at that hotel was outstanding with a real customer focus. The room was significantly cheaper than the Tower Lodge.

It's truly a shame. We stayed for 3 nights in 2010 and had a great time with attentive staff, and delicious food.

We're happy to pay for quality but the service of the staff and average food let down what was a a very special place for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Indulgent_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Lovely location with great atmosphere despite being brand new.

Great pool and grounds set in its own vineyard to which on gets complimentary tours.

In house restaurant is lovely, five minutes walk the through the vines, but horribly expensive.

Rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated.

Ideally located for exploring the Hunter Valley.

Only the price costs it it's fifth star.

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last Spring my wife and I got married at Roberts restaurant and stayed at the lodge for 2 nights in the oriental room. Rooms were very private, clean and very unique. We visited a couple of rooms before settling for the Oriental Suite.

Staff were always smiling and accommodating to our unique needs. The shuttle bus driver stayed up late just in case on our wedding night to take us back to the lodge. The wedding planner kept track of all components and took our input for custom requests. The owner Matt was also lovely no the phone for additional requests and customer service.

While staying at the lodge, I highly recommend getting pre-dinner drinks by the fireplace during the colder time of the year. It's very romantic.
I would highly recommend this lodge for a short getaway in the Hunter or a wedding.
We will be going back for years to come.

My only regret is not being to climb the rock climbing wall! Mind you I didn't ask.

Room Tip: Look at the photos online of each room and pick one best on personal preference. They are all very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gudavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.0 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Property: Tower Lodge
Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:5 star — Tower Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing