We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular venue”
Review of Tower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tower Lodge
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Horley
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Spectacular venue”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A beautiful 12 room hotel, quiet, all rooms with distinctive features, good pool, small gym, helpful staffand great breakfast choices.
On the downside, as a wedding party we filled the hotel which meant the staff, although very helpful and pleasant, were extremely stretched. We got the impression they were used to much lower occupancy. A 1 hour wait for breakfast order or the receptionist doubling up as waitress and bartender as well as porter and chauffeuse tells you everything about her commitment and the need for more resources especially when you're paying $450 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriswoodbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly S, General Manager at Tower Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear chriswoodbear,

Thank you for your great review of Tower Lodge.

All the staff at Tower Estate and Roberts Restaurant enjoyed looking after your family and friends whilst you stayed with us.

I agree that the staff at Tower Lodge are very much committed and helpful. Being such a small property the front of house staff wear a variety of 'hats' which sees them driving guests around the property, serving drinks in the evening and helping with the service of breakfast.

As was noted to your party during your stay, we were conscious and very disappointed, that there were delays with your breakfast on two occasions. I should mention that the delay with the service of your breakfast was not due to the staff being 'extremely stretched' but a problem in the kitchen that has since been rectified. It is very pleasing to hear that you found the breakfast menu great considering the delay.

I trust you had a safe trip home and a fantastic Christmas and New Year.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Tower Lodge when you next visit.

Cheers,

Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
92
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've stayed at Tower roughly 3 times over the last 3 or so years and each time I never want to leave. Sean Byrne (the new general manager) is more than hospitable. The rooms are always clean and tidy and the furniture is beautiful. It's always peaceful and private. I can't wait to get back there over the summer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c_rose_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Tower Lodge, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Rose,

Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Tower Lodge recently. As you are aware there have been a number of changes at Tower Estate over the last few months, and it is fantastic to know that you continue to enjoy your Tower Estate experience.

Our aim is to create a unique experience that guests will want to revist over and over again, and it seems we have delivered on our promise to you once again.

Summer is definately going to be a hot one, so make sure you pack your swim wear to lounge around by the pool over looking the vines, and maybe even a massage or cocktail by the pool!

We all look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend there (17 & 18 November) and had a great time. Our room was spacious, eclectic (with the Oriental furnishings) and service first class - loved the breakfasts too overlooking a very peaceful courtyard. Our suite also had a great big outdoor bathtub - point of note on the downside was the somewhat ineffective sauna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waratahs09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Tower Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Tower Lodge.

The Oriental Suite is a favourite of mine too - the outdoor tub is truly unique. I am very pleased to hear you found the service first class. As a member of Relais & Chateaux we pride ourselves on offering first class service and really try to ensure we go out of our way to look after our guests. With the advent of summer and the warmer weather the service of breakfast in the courtyard adds another dimension to the various dining locations on offer with-in and around the Lodge.

I note we had an issue with the sauna over the weekend and apologise we were not able to fix the problem until early this week.

I hope to welcome you again to the Lodge and am really pleased you had a wonderful anniversary weekend.

All the best.

Sean Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Tower estate is still great . Yes, Andreas and some staff have left. Andreas will be a hard act to follow. However, after meeting Sean Byrne, new General Manager, I can say there in good hands. Went to NINES last night, food exceptional. Jonathan , the maitre de Madison , who you call Jono, is friendly and knows his stuff. Rooms are still great, breakfast menu is good. Tower is experiencing a change-over period, but so far, it's still one of the best places to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean B, General Manager at Tower Lodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Lawrence.

Your positive feedback, and kind words, are very much appreciated. It was a pleasure to meet and chat with you during your recent stay at Tower Lodge.

I'm thrilled to hear that Tower Lodge consistently delivers a memorable experience. I agree that the food on offer in Restaurant Nine is exceptional and personally feel that Executive Chef George Francisco has put together a menu unrivalled in the Hunter Valley; couple that with the wonderful service provided by Jonothan and his staff and Nine really is a unique dining experience all must enjoy.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to Tower Estate soon.

Warm regards

Sean Byrne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

A nice boutique accommodation. We spent all weekend trying to guess what country had inspired the decor of the lodge. We are still guessing...moroccan? spanish? french Mediterranean? We really aren't sure, but it was neat. The room was very spacious and included a functioning fireplace, which was always ready to light with kindling and wood available. The bathroom was large. There was a nice seating area outside the room. The staff were attentive and polite. The inclusive breakfast was also very nice. No complaints. We would book again. It is expensive, but on saying that, the room was wonderful. Our booking included a dining package with dinner at Roberts Restaurant & Nine Restaurant. As returning patrons to Roberts, this restaurant has really taken a turn for the worse. My slow-cooked beef was actually deep-fried and my pork was as dry as a bone. The wine list was also very limited - The real Robert always had a variety of European & local wines available. Thankfully we had a better dining experience at Nine restaurant the next night. A fabulous degustation menu with carefully matched wines.

Room Tip: Stay away from Roberts restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Charmaine101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overall we could not give more than poor/ average for our stay as there were quite a few disappointments . We went with high expectations, as it had been recommended.There were a few staff in training and the lack of local knowledge was frustrating.This was highlighted when it was suggested we dine in-house,and even we knew that Nine was closed that night. We arrived on a cold afternoon and were shown to a very cold unheated room. The in room spa bath could really have done with a good clean too. Considering the room tariff, it was very disappointing. Breakfast was good and the chef very obliging with requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mookiandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have stayed at Tower Lodge several times over the last several years, and it has always been our favourite Hunter Valley destination. However, our most recent stay will be our last. As the reviewer mentioned previously, Andreas and his team offered outstanding service, made us feel welcome in our 'country house'. On our last stay we were disappointed to find that Andreas and his team, are no longer there. Instead of the warm welcome at the door, there was no one. Staff seemed distant, cold. We sat in the lounge for drinks, and had to look for someone to serve us. The room was reasonably tidy, and the breakfast and service was average. The place seems to have lost its spirit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wino001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.2 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
142 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Property: Tower Lodge
Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:5 star — Tower Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing