We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for High Tea and wanted to stay the night”
Review of Tower Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tower Lodge
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had high tea here with a girlfriend, and it was the best high tea I'd been to. The service was of the highest standard, with very professional and friendly staff. The tea selection was impressive, and the food was stunning! The sandwiches were light and fresh, the scones amongst the best I'd ever had, and the petit fours were delicious! The atmosphere was that of a grand country manor, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. There was also the option of having champagne with the tea. Tower Lodge is very quiet, and would be lovely for a romantic weekend. It's also very close to dozens of vineyards.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Angela_Wollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Tower Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 129 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Spent a weekend at Tower Lodge with husband and mother-in-law. Don't let the Lodge's somewhat dreary looking exterior fool you, inside it is beautiful. The rooms are all individually decorated, European in style and enormous. Perhaps a teeny bit dated but, to me, that's all part of the old school character and charm. Hubbie's and my room was perfect, however my mother-in-law had a few minor snags with her shower not working and a bathroom light out of order.

The courtyard is a lovely place to enjoy breakfast, however the breakfast service itself leaves a little to be desired if you're after a cooked brekkie - our eggs took ages. When they arrived, poached eggs were rock hard, eggs benedict were cold & congealed...suffice to say it all went back. After another long wait, the dishes were served correctly, however it did mean breakfast took forever. There was only one waiter looking after ten odd tables and when I went up to the Continental buffet table I could hear staff in the kitchen having a gossip/laugh which probably explains the cooked breakfasts not being right. There is a perfectly decent Continental buffet table which we stuck to for the remainder of our stay.

The bar is a nice spot to enjoy a complimentary pre-dinner drink in the evenings. Lots of magazines and board games provided which is a nice touch. We had a fantastic dinner at Robert's Restaurant. Lovely cosy ambiance, wonderful food and wines. The hotel staff chauffeured us there and back which was a nice touch, meant we didn't have to worry about taxis or driving ourselves. Hotel staff extremely helpful and pleasant at all times.

Overall the stay was great, just a shame the breakfast service was a little slack.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooooh_pardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is our third time back to Tower Lodge and enjoyed it once again. Everything is the same.... wonderful setting, wonderful rooms, wonderful relaxing atmosphere. We were excited this time to experience the new Nine restaurant.... it was amazing and worth every cent. Our host and his staff are professional and made our stay fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a small luxury hotel which is peaceful with first class service.
Not very impressive from outside but lovely interior. The rooms vary - ours was a little dark but very comfortable, breakfast was served outside in the courtyard and was delicious.
We had dinner one evening in Nine in the basement which is a small room with only about five tables the meal (nine small courses) was good but very slow each delicate little course being served beautifully but after a longish wait the poor waitresses spent their time negotiating a narrow staircase with trays of food. It was very expensive and not our best meal while in the Hunter Valley.
There is a lovely small swimming pool with loungers and the indoor space is comfortable and cosy for afternoon tea or pre dinner drinks.
There are some very attractive gardens worth a visit a short drive down the road and of course lots of wineries.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VirgoQualitySeeker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Excellent stay, we were the only 2 people there so hard to gauge what busy would be like. All staff attentive and polite. Obviously well managed and run. Had dinner at Roberts (see separate review) and all meals were of very high class. Cannot go past the rooms or feel of the place without feeling very wowed. Not sure the website does it justice. Almost perfect. Will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwasere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have recently returned from a wonderful two-night stay for our 20th wedding anniversary and everything was more than we expected. The staff were very friendly and professional and our room was just perfect. We had an elevated bed area overlooking the lounge and a large walk-through dressing area to the bathroom with amazing rain shower.

The breakfasts provided a lovely relaxed, and filling, start to the day and we were lucky with the weather to be able to enjoy one of them outside in the sun in the courtyard.

Pre-dinner drinks were served in the bar area (just have to return when it is colder and the fire is lit) and we were then chauffured by Andreas (the GM) to and from Roberts where we enjoyed a lovely dinner. The 'piece de resistance' was on the second night when, due to our late booking they could not accommodate us in "Nine"; instead we had a private dinner set-up in the library. The nine-course degustation meal is certainly worth the money and is a great experience - the 'swirling' of the red wine decanter and dry-ice presentation of the dessert' is well worth seeing!

As we have visited the Hunter Valley on numerous occasions, rushing around on wine tastings was not part of this trip which gave us the ideal opportunity to relax around the pool, which we had all to ourselves, on a lovely sunny afternoon.

Unfortunately, as we were not there for a weekend afternoon, we could not participate in afternoon tea, however, we would certainly love to return again and highly recommend a stay here.

Cheers, Anni and Scott

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

During our trip in Australia we stayed 2 nights at the Tower Lodge and it definitely is luxury place. There are not so many rooms which makes the atmosphere just like you would be visiting friends. The rooms are nice, clean and have a unique decoration. Service was perfect. Breakfast was fresh and there were a lot of good choices to pick from the menu. I think it was the small details which surprised me - every evening at 7 the Hotel manager did open a bottle of champagne with his sword (guests did take care that none of the good stuff was wasted). If you are visiting Hunter Valley and you demand for luxury, good service, privacy then the Tower Lodge is THE place.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoffaFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Lodge

Address: 6 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:5 star — Tower Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Lodge is the only truly intimate World class luxury Lodge in the Hunter Valley region, accommodating a maximum of 24 guests at any one time. The Lodge is not only luxurious, but also offers a stage to create your own special experience, one that will become your benchmark for years to come. Located at Tower Estate in the Hunter Valley, Australia the Lodge was recognised as the best "Luxury Lodge" for 2010 at the World Luxury Hotel Awards. Tower Lodge represents all that is Unique, Intimate and Luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tower Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower Lodge - Relais And Chateaux
Tower Lodge - Relais & Chateaux Hotel Pokolbin
Tower Lodge Pokolbin
Pokolbin Tower Lodge
Tower Lodge Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing