We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, popular cellar door”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brokenwood Wines

Brokenwood Wines
Ranked #31 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely, popular cellar door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

This place is clearly popular and well known. The wines themselves are varied and enjoyable but lacked some wow factor for me, personally. Of course, this is completely personal taste so don't discount it!
The staff were very knowledgable and personable making the experience a delight.

Helpful?
Thank MrsKK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    33
    11
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit for the whites alone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A relaxing, laid back atmosphere made my visit here enjoyable. Staff knew their product and allowed it to sell itself. I thought the whites were good, summery and light.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank silversurfer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best cellar doors in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

There are a lot of cellar doors in the Hunter Valley region, but Brokenwood is one of my favourites. Two reasons: first the wines are classy and excellent (although not cheap) and the second is the staff who are warm, friendly, and are eager to impart information and anecdotes. You go to the cellar door for the first reason, and stay for the second reason. Even if you don't end up buying any wine, you should go to get an idea of how a cellar door should be run.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelling_smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun wine tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Brokenwood was part of the wine tour we attended. Our host was lovey and very knowledgeable. As well as the wine was beautiful and we just had to leave with a few bottles.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rhianna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tasting at new Cellar Door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Mark was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was very professional and we learned a lot from his presentation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank susiem925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brokenwood Wines also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Brokenwood Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing