We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We got a deal at the Sebel as a last minute thing for a friends wedding. The hotel is centrally located amongst the vineyards. The rooms have magnificent views over the valley. Although the balcony extends across each room meaning that anyone could walk past your room at anytime.

The front desk staff are very quick and efficient. They provided us with a guide book of all the vineyards.

Compared to other hotels in the Hunter Valley who think they are better and charge way above the going rates, the Sebel holds it own and is the perfect getaway for a weekend of indulgence of the grape variety.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    320
    132
    51
    29
See reviews for
133
527
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

I stayed at the Sebel Kirkton Park recently while attending a conference at this hotel. This hotel is in a beautiful rural setting and is an older style building which has been tastefully renovated. Outdoor car parking is provided free of charge at this hotel.

Room - comfortable, spacious and equipped with a large bathroom, CRT television and mini bar.

Check In was smooth and efficient. I booked on the day of my stay and the room rate online at the hotel's own website was $20 cheaper than it had been when I checked the previous week.. and was quite a bit cheaper than some of my colleagues had paid.

Restaurant - I had dinner with customers in the restaurant, a fine dining restaurant where the food and service was quite good, however I would still recommend trying out some of the restaurants at nearby wineries in the Hunter Valley.

Check Out was efficient. A credit card surcharge was levied on the account - this makes it hard to compare the true rates of hotels as most hotels do not charge this additional fee. It seems hard to justify when the room rates continue to increase and the majority of guests settle accounts by credit card.

It was a good place to stay for a conference, but probably would not go there for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

This was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Not only was it beautiful but the customer service was first class.

We received an incredibly friendly and informative welcome. The facilities were explained to us and we were given some great advice about the local area. In the restaurant they bent over backwards to ensure we enjoyed our meals. The meals arrived in perfectly good time, however they clearly prided themselves on better service because we were immediately offered free coffees. When my girlfriend's steak was slightly over cooked they were very apologetic, cooked a fresh one immediately (and perfectly) and offered us a free bottle of wine as a goodwill gesture.

These small touches cost the hotel little, but they really impress customers. We will happily stay there again and recommend it to anybody.

In addition, there was a nice indoor pool, a gym, a barbecue area and a lovely patio area with beautiful views. I'm sure there are hotels with slightly better facilities in the world but this was genuinely the best customer service we have ever received. It made me realise that a good hotel is so much more than a clean room, with good facilities and a Corby trouser press! You go to a hotel for a special experience, otherwise you may as well just stay at home! The Sebel Kirkton Park was a friendly, relaxing, beautiful, stress free experience. Customer satisfaction was clearly the main priority as everyone was excellent. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Liked — Excellent customer service
  • Disliked — No criticisms whatsoever.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockLobster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My partner and I stayed in a heritage room, we had a great experience and did not encounter any problems. Memorable points about the hotel was the very comfortable king sized bed with beautiful linen and duvet, excellent breakfast (we found out in the morning hot breakfast was complimentary to the buffet, a nice surprise), friendly staff and good location.

The grounds of the hotel is beautiful and unique and very well maintained, the gym and pool has been beautifully renovated. The large fireplace at the common lounge area in the front of the hotel was very pleasant to spend time in. The hotel has character and is one of the nicest places to stay in the Hunter Valley region.

  • Liked — Luxurious comfortable bed, beautiful grounds and garden, great fireplace in common area, buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

$165 a night without breakfast.$190 a night with breakfast on a dead Monday night
Impressive from the outside but thats where it stops.
The room was very small and the bathroom not able to fit 2 people. Mould in the bathroom in numerous spots. Bed uncomfortable and minimal TV stations.
Our air conditioner would not work except to blow cold air.Great on a REALLY chilly night. Reception tried to fix it but didnt. We went to sleep waiting for the warm air to turn on. Waking at 3am absolutely frozen,tried every control possible on the air con - ZILCH
Breakfast: an absolute joke. First they tried to hit us for an extra $16 for a cooked breakfast until I complained. Beakfast was mediocre at best. Hopw can anyone screw up breakfast? How come we cannot get a latte in a 4.5 star hotel. How can you screw up cooking eggs?
The place needs updating, is poorly maintened. A really great pity as it is in such a pretty location
NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

After reading other reviews I had high hopes for this place... and left sorely disappointed. We were upgraded which was a nice touch, but I found the room a little small and chintzy for my liking. The view was nice but certainly not the best available in the Hunter. And for at least $250 a night there should at least be some plunger coffee in the room! The service was very snobby - and misplaced, the Sebel isn't anything special!

The breakfast was appalling. The buffet was ok (lots of cereal and fruit, but no muffins or leaf tea, and the yoghurt smelt a bit off - and this is meant to be a gourmet destination!) Hot food had to be ordered seperately, and my pancakes were burnt black. The staff didn't even come to ask us how everything was, and seemed sulky when I complained about the burnt pancakes. We will not be returning - there are much better places to stay in the Hunter Valley!

  • Liked — Views were reasonable
  • Disliked — Snobby service, terrible breakfast, rather ugly rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydney_beach_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I've stayed here twice during the past few years and really like it.

The hotel is right in the main wine area of the Hunter Valley. Rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and a decent size. Ask for one of the rooms that overlooks the valley as the views are great. As far as I could tell, all have an outdoor terrace with chairs and table - very relaxing place to enjoy a bottle of wine or two!

The indoor pool is pretty nice, the grounds lovely, friendly staff etc.

You can also get pretty good deals, especially if you book at WOTIF.com

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Property: Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views, Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley is the ultimate place for you to escape, unwind and indulge. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style and sophistication. It’s a place where you can leave the day-to-day behind, relaxing in luxurious accommodation, tasting exquisite food, and embracing the beautiful surrounds. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air on picturesque walking trails, and make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. With a range of versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus, your event will be a memorable experience. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens – the largest display garden in the southern hemisphere. Or if you’re feeling a little more adventurous, challenge yourself on a championship golf course or take a dream ride in a hot air balloon. Whether it’s a romantic weekend, time away with the family, a conference or wedding, or simply an indulgent escape, Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing