We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be a great hotel but........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

3 and 4 Oct.
Stunning location and really great colonial features. However, things went wrong from when we checked in. The block with our room number marked on the map by check in staff was incorrect and having driven to nearest car park, and carried our bags around aimlessly. We had to confirm details back at reception and were told to go where we were originally parked.

We arrived 2pm there is an all day menu but found no light meals apart from side orders. We did not want to pay for a full meal above $30 as we were going to eat at the restaurant that evening. A more appropriate lunch menu would be considerate.

The evening meal and service was most disappointing. We had an inkling of this while walking past the kitchen door with music blaring out over the peaceful gardens. This seemed to be the case everytime we passed during our stay. Really gives a bad impression to guests.

Staff got my side order wrong and included it on my main plate. How did they know we did not wish to share? The waitress did not pour our wine initially or refill at any point. Restaurant not busy and the matre de was hardly seen outside the kitchen. The glaze with the pork belly entree was stuck fast to the plate, not chance of tasting it with the pork that was just a brick of fat and crackling that was obviously a leftover. Also if you are going to serve a Spatchcock then please don't label it as Chicken on the Menu!

Room had interlocking door, unfortunate as we had some very loud and inconsiderate neighbours. Maybe better sound proofing?

At check out we were told about credit card fee, which was not much but I think they should inform customers of this when taking an imprint of card at check in!

Could be great place if a bit more attention to first impressions.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't have a connecting room. Veranda view at the rear of property absolutely stu...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (892)
There are newer reviews for Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 892 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

I booked two rooms for two couples & absolutely thought it was great! Went on the October long weekend for one night as we reside in Newcastle so just after a quick break and this was the first time we had stayed there. We each had a deluxe queen room and the views were beautiful and rooms were large.The staff were very helpful and the reception area was stunning!
The only thing if I had to name it was carpark 1 did not have enough space as there were half a dozen cars that had to mount the gutter and park on the grass but it was a long weekend and it didn't bother us.
Will absolutely stay there again... looking forward to it too!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julie-anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great location and very quiet during our weekdays stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms and great pool, spa and gym. Handy to the Hunter vineyards. Good rural retreat feel with large grounds looking over rural and mountain areas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Rodney O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights at the Sebel Kirkton Park in the Hunter Valley. We had a comfortable room which overlooked a country vista complete with the soft mooing of cows in the distance. It was idyllic! I chose it because we have a 10 year old daughter and with a pool, spa, gym, tennis courts, basketball hoop and pool table, I thought we should just be able to just relax and never leave.
Our room was not huge but it was a comfortable standard hotel room with a sofa bed for our daughter. Everything worked and it was great to have a balcony to relax outside.
And all went to plan apart from the very cold indoor pool. When we arrived it was just 21 degrees in the pool ... brrrr!! It was supposed to be fixed the next day, but if it did get warmer, it wasn't by much. The spa on the other hand was like a hot bath. All the gym equipment worked as well.
We met some people who had hoped to use the advertised bbq facilities and were less than happy there were none! When they raised the issue, the staff kindly offered to get the chef to cook the 10kg!! of meat they'd bought with them so at least they didn't go hungry!
Overall, it was a wonderful break in an area families wouldn't necessarily think would be good. We didn't go travelling around the wineries because of our daughter, but the Kirkton Park had plenty to keep us occupied.

Room Tip: We had a Heritage Superior which may be the rooms either end of the buildings. They are slightly lar...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel over the weekend for 2 nights. It was a beautiful hotel with a great view and the rooms were very spacious. The staff were friendly and very professional. They have an organised tour that we signed up for and for breakfast they have 2 types of buffet to choose from. Overall we had a great weekend in the Hunter and we were very impressed with the room. The bathroom was beautiful and the shower was a good size, although the water pressure could of been harder. No complaints at all from us. We also had a balcony to overlook the paddocks while eating some cheese and drinking wine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
253 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $119 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing