We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mid week getaway”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Although the rooms were looking a little out dated, you could not get tired of the view over the valley and vineyards below. Centrally located in the heart of wine country Pokolbin Hunter Valley this place is worth considering. The staff were attentive and extremely helpful. One of the best kept secrets in the valley is "Infusions" restaurant in the resort. The food produced here is some of the best Ive had in a very long time. It was a pleasant surprise. This experience was better than some 2 hat restaurant Ive been too. Followed up by a sumptuous breakfast the next morning was excellent. The head Chef here obviously cares about the food they serve and was very obvious by the results. Overall a very pleasant and surprisingly good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JV_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    305
    126
    51
    28
See reviews for
129
501
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Accommodation was great, easy to find. Old world charm about the Hotel. Central to the wineries and other attractions. Dining was excellent and the Service was excellent. As an Accor Advantage Plus member I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The rooms are average with old pine furniture. Our room had a distinct smell of a dead animal. The air conditioner leaked. Bathroom was large with nice deep bath however the shower was mouldy and there were cobwebs on the ceiling and walls. The grounds are lovely with a beautiful view over the valley towards the mountain.
We had dinner in the restaurant. My husband had the rib eye steak which was very tough. The service in the restaurant was very ordinary for the price you pay. The waitresses are very abrupt and dismissive.
Breakfast was not worth the half hour wait. Most food had run out and was very slow to be refilled if at all.
They appear to be very short staffed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryandLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent a very enjoyable 2 nights at this hotel, food in the restaurant was top class.
the air conditioner was leaking water, which went on our clothes, but it was clean water so no problem there.
However we inadvertently left 2 items of clothing behind in the wardrobe, rung up as soon as we got home to Sydney ( about 2-3 hours later) and was told someone would check with housekeeping and get back to us, never happened!. Over the next 2 days (and 5 calls) were told that someone would check housekeeping and get back to us!! (Starting to see a pattern?)
on the third day spoke to the General manager who agreed that it was unprofessional not to get back to us and that he would handle it personally and call me back withing 2 hours, Guess what?? no call back. I rung back next day and when I gave my name to the receptionist she said that the General manager was in a meeting but told her to say that the room had been checked and no clothing items had been found!!!! so much for handling it personally. So in concluding this rant enjoy the hotel as it is certainly lovely but DON'T leave anything behind as you won't get it back!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesc852258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca Beach, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent location to visit winery's, chocolate factory, shops etc. Restaurant food was excellent for both dinner & breakfast. Rooms were very comfortable & sitting on the balcony & overlooking the vineyards in the eveming was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy-Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a studio room. We had planed to see the Christmas Lights at HVG, however the weather intervened and that is another story. This was a spur of the moment booking on the return leg of our family holiday and it was a stress free way to end the journey. The studio room was clean and comfortable and the kids enjoyed the sofa bed for something different, our package included a full breakfast for 4, so value for money was tops. The pool and spa house was refreshing after a couple of hot days on the road. The gym has all the basic kit and would be sufficient for a getaway weekend, with a tennis court and basketball hoop, there was more to do here for the kids than at the caravan park we had just stayed at??? The staff couldn't be faulted, keep up the great work, we'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeytheSparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.8 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Property: The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing