We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dis-satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The hotel has good views, free parking, and a complimentary free internet access. Breakfast is costly at $22.50 per person when compared to number of items served.

However we were disappointed with the overall experience.

On the first day, we turned on the electric tea kettle and the electricity tripped in our room. We came to know that this issue was known and were moved to another room which we stayed in for the first day. This was in addition to the phone not operating in the first room. Next day we were upgraded to a deluxe room and were confirmed that this would not entail any cost. The deluxe room was better and had good views.

However to our dismay, we found a small cockroach inside the bed mattress when we woke up the second morning and killed it. This was informed at reception. While the bedsheets were changed, the room was not vacuumed and toilet papers were not replenished which we realized on returning at night. We noticed a small cockroach in the breakfast room top but did not want to disturb the other guests.

On checkout, we found an additional charge for the room upgrade which was informed to be free earlier. After a couple of wrong card swipes and corrections, we were able to finally checkout.

Hope the management checks and addresses these issues for future guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

796 - 802 of 915 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location and great view of the hunter surroundings.
Rooms need a bit of care and reno's needed but not too bad. Bathroom clean and neat.
Staff at reception are very helpful and check in was quick.
walls are a little thin so we could hear the baby cry next door, so make sure you are away from kids if you dont have any.
Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evesdropin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladimir E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for A Day on the Green and we were stunned by the beauty and serenity. Arriving and opening the door to reception to the best entrance I have ever seen, beautiful tiling and a grand dome with leadlight glass in the middle. The room was beautifully renovated, clean, huge bathroom with a bath, gorgeous view. Had a great night's sleep, fresh, crisp linen on the bed. Lovely rose garden and 2 weddings taking place, plenty of space for everyone to enjoy themselves.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fstech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I disagree with all the negative reviews and I believe the majority of people are missing the point. The customer service was excellent and no complaints at all. The room was large, comfortable and clean and the grounds were very pretty and well maintained. Even saw some bunnies. Part of the charm of this country hotel is that the furniture is slightly lived in; it’s not intended to be a modern, cold hotel. It’s the perfect place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the country atmosphere.

Room Tip: The pool/spa/sauna are great and try to get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashleigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Room is spacious with comfortable beds and pillows. The table and chairs on the verandah sure add a nice touch. The reservation department was kind enough to accommodate our request to ensure we do not have to check out of one room and move to another as they were fully booked. For $200/night, I expected the room to be perfect. Downside in my observation is, the bathroom need a good clean. Shower tiles were covered with grime and toilet bowl needed a good scrub down. Some of the tiles are coming off which should be attended to. I have rated the cleanliness as poor due to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The only capable person here is the wedding planner, Ruth. She's happy, polite, on the ball and attentive. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the rest of the staff. When they bothered showing and interest in the guests they couldn't find reservations (lost mine even though it was all booked together by me! - Not even an apology, just told I was wrong and it was in the system. Too bad the wasted half hour of my life didn't say that). Breakfast was a rip-off and it's frustrating having to continually ask staff to refil the buffet. The groups department are difficult and unable to answer anything without a 2-3 day wait "to check", even more so since becoming an Accor property. The pool, spa and rooms could use a touch-up and are not worth the money you pay for it. Although the construction waking everyone up at 7am on a Monday morning might tell they're looking to improve. We won't be using this property again and won't be recommending it to anyone. Stay away at all costs.

Room Tip: Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelAgent84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
893 reviews
5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
5 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $123 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing