We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't bother... Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The only capable person here is the wedding planner, Ruth. She's happy, polite, on the ball and attentive. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the rest of the staff. When they bothered showing and interest in the guests they couldn't find reservations (lost mine even though it was all booked together by me! - Not even an apology, just told I was wrong and it was in the system. Too bad the wasted half hour of my life didn't say that). Breakfast was a rip-off and it's frustrating having to continually ask staff to refil the buffet. The groups department are difficult and unable to answer anything without a 2-3 day wait "to check", even more so since becoming an Accor property. The pool, spa and rooms could use a touch-up and are not worth the money you pay for it. Although the construction waking everyone up at 7am on a Monday morning might tell they're looking to improve. We won't be using this property again and won't be recommending it to anyone. Stay away at all costs.

Room Tip: Stay at the Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelAgent84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 898 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is pretty on the outside but look closer and it is clear that the hotel is not respecting the property.
The rooms in general could to with a renovation.
The gym equipment was very poorly kept, the sauna was a midly warm room and the swimming pool could do with a clean along the tile walls. The missing light fitting and loose electrical wire under the water was a bit disturbing.
I went for run around their 'running track' which is really just a shorter mowed pathway through a paddock. I met along the track many dead ends and came across the hotels waste disposal area which was poorly maintained with light fittings and bits and pieces scattered around the ground and somewhat in random piles.
With such an attractive region it would be nice for the money you pay to be in luxury comfort too.
Take your own breakfast because their menu if hideously expensive ($27 for cereal).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaksta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable about the hotel, the way it was set out, the lovely grounds and the views across the valley. Andrew at the front desk, was informative and friendly, our Heritage Room in the Manor House was very spacious and spotlessly clean. Yes, some of the furniture is scratched and looking a bit tired but it all adds to the charm of the hotel. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was big and worked perfectly. The 4 Poster bed was extremely comfortable and the TV worked perfectly. We had dinner in the dining room, service was quick and efficient, the meal was lovely as was the extensive wine list.
We went on a half day wine tour with lunch, it was very nice, very enjoyable.

We would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The best thing I can say about our stay is that the staff was very friendly and very quick to fix anything we complained about.

To start, there were no wine glasses in our room. Especially noteworthy as we were in the wine region. Dinner at the hotel was horrid in that we waited 45 minutes for our drink order to be taken, and when we asked for steak knives after our $47 steaks arrived we were told there were none (only "the old butter knives"). The chicken was dry and the rest of the foo average at best.

After we finished our meal, I requested reception bring wine glasses to our room. When he arrived he asked how our night was, and I explained our pitiful dining experience. The friendly staff offered a complimentary bottle of wine and asked what I liked (cab sav). He returned shortly after to advise they were our of cab sav, but did provide a nice bottle of Shiraz. After he left I noticed the large cockroach in our bathroom. Thankfully I was able to kill the insect with the complimentary bug spray in our closet.

The metal furniture on the balcony was in desperate need of repair: two of the three chairs had loose legs and felt like they were about to break.

During the 34' day we discovered we did not have a remote control to the air conditioner and could not turn it on. The friendly staff were happy to locate a remote, each of the three times it took to find a working remote.

I would not recommend this hotel or restaurant to anyone. There has to be better in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynthiaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sebel Kirkton for four nights. The room was comfortable although the decor was dull and there was an absence of drawer space - we had to keep our clothes in our cases. There was also a lack of coat hangers, only two plus two which had the towelling gowns on.We ate in the restaurant once during our stay. The food was good but the room was dull, the lighting was low and the room could have been improved with either candles or flowers on the tables.We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as we felt $37 for a cooked breakfast and $27 for a continental breakfast was a rip off! The water in the pool was very cold by the standards of modern heated swimming pools.However, the view from our verandah was fantastic and more than made up for some of the inconveniences.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gymearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Sebel Kirkton for a wedding in October 2012. We had only just gotten back from a 5 night trip to Hamilton Island before staying here and I have to admit that the four star hotel we stayed at on Hamilton Island was much more luxurious than this. I thought the $545 we paid for 2 nights at the Sebel was very overpriced for what we got.

We did enjoy our stay at the Sebel and the grounds were beautiful however we believe it is in need of a refurbishment. Our room (room 15) joined to another room by a door. We could almost hear word for word what the other people were saying from each room beside us, there seemed to be an odd paint colour next to the air conditioning unit on our wall, there were messy power cords running under the door from the other room, the picture on the TV was not very clear and our kettle didn’t work.

I suppose after being at a resort for a week prior and being spoilt with endless breakfast choices the buffet at the Sebel didn’t compare so well. There just wasn’t as much choice and for a 5 star hotel I did expect more. But it was still a nice selection.

When we checked out, the price breakdown did not match our original quote but the total matched so I didn’t argue. When I went to pay on my creit card the price was different. I asked why and the lady on the desk said ‘Oh that is because we charge a 1.5% surcharge if you pay by credit’. It would have been nice to be told as a courtesy before putting it through.

Overall it was a nice stay and a beautiful place to watch a wedding. It just needs some work done before we decide to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KylieandAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

At $400 per night with breakfast not included the sebel has had it's day , it could very easily be a five star hotel but its decor is now outdated and the gardens looked neglected in parts to pay those prices and not have breakfast included seems a bit steep these days and $30 for a buffet breakfast is a poor show , you can stay in an executive suite in Sydney which would include this . The staff were pleasant but it seemed more like a place tailored for conferences than a 4.5 star hotel . Some basic housekeeping though a refreshed decor , a fresh locally produced quality breskfast could make it an amazing place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $128 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing