We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had its day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had its day”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

At $400 per night with breakfast not included the sebel has had it's day , it could very easily be a five star hotel but its decor is now outdated and the gardens looked neglected in parts to pay those prices and not have breakfast included seems a bit steep these days and $30 for a buffet breakfast is a poor show , you can stay in an executive suite in Sydney which would include this . The staff were pleasant but it seemed more like a place tailored for conferences than a 4.5 star hotel . Some basic housekeeping though a refreshed decor , a fresh locally produced quality breskfast could make it an amazing place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pjhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    305
    126
    51
    28
See reviews for
129
501
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our first visit to the beautiful Hunter Valley and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. From the start staff were pleasant and helpful. The hotel's location is sublime and our room is spacious and well equipped. Loved it.

Room Tip: We were given a superb room, even though paying a bargain rate on the day. Ask for valley view, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hello, Ive stayed in the hotel twice now and the first time was a little worse for wear. The staff in the restaurant were tired and didnt offer much in the way of "service", they could have smiled a bit more or even engaged in a little conversation especially when ask questions about the surrounding area. The rooms division was also tired with much dust and not much consideration in the way of cleanliness, however this time around I was pleasantly surprised with the accomodation. The rooms were much cleaner and the grounds staff were very pleasant to talk too, I particularly loved the way the beds were made this time , certainly much more care than last time as they were tucked in and made much more presentable, the dust has definately improved and there were more ammenities than last time...THANK YOU. The staff in the restasurant seemed more interested in a quality service and even engaged in a small conversation with the guests. My pasta did come out a little on the cold side but it was very tasty.
You should all be proud of such an older establishment and I look forward to another return next time im in the Hunter region.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view, it is just fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I was entertaining a group for a work entertainment function. The setting of the place is terrific. I had stayed on a couple of occasions before and quite enjoyed the place. This occasion was extremely disappointing. There were a number of things that did not live up to the standard of a 5 star hotel. Breakfast was fine but if you came later in the time period, food was not replenished and it was hard to get service for an espresso coffee, as the staff were focussing on clearing up as opposed to serving guests. I asked the check-in staff to deliver packages to guests as soon as possible ( at 5,30 PM ) , but one of the packages was not delivered until after 11.00AM the next day!!
The rooms were worn and shabby, dirty bathroom windows , not cleaned for what seemed like months!, very stained carpet, which I asked to be steam cleaned. This was not done during our stay as was promissed.

The view there is very nice, but the standard of the rooms spoiled the experience.

Upon checkout, after being reminded on 3 occasions to charge all the guest room charges to my one account, (including incidentals) the staff still made the mistake of trying to charge my guests contrary to strict instructions.

Unfortunately , for them the place has lost our business forever. There is plenty of good competition up there in the Hunter.

Room Tip: None of them, go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our recent management strategy retreat was at the Sebel Kirkton in the Hunter.

Wasn't sure what to expect from a Sebel in the countryside, but it is just lovely. Driving through the gates and down the long drive you feel you are arriving at an old colonial homestead, surrounded by rolling hills.

The hotel reception area is stylish and the staff were extremely welcoming and friendly, couldn't do enough to help throughout our stay.

The rooms are comfortable and functional, nothing of note, except the balcony that wraps around the building. A great place to enjoy a beer in the sun after a day of conferencing! I believe that some rooms had a bath, but ours only had a shower - might be worth checking when booking.

The conferencing facilities are in a separate building, with a large conference room and 3-4 breakout rooms. Refreshments were of a fantastic quality, and good coffee, even from a machine! And it was so nice to be able to escape out to the sun on the balcony between sessions.

The food at dinner was OK - very much conference food - beef or chicken, nothing to write home about. Lunches and breakfasts were quite extensive and tasty, good selection.

Located in a good spot, not too far from Cessnock, Pokolbin, Tempus Two, etc.

I think this would be good for a quiet getaway to the Hunter as well as a conference.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath, so be sure to ask if you want one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had been given a voucher for Xmas and decided to have a break away in the Hunter Valley.
The property was Sebel Kirkton Park where we checked in on a Friday at 12noon and although early our room was ready for us. We had booked a deluxe room with a view which was located in the Reg Drayton wing.
Kirkton Park has one main "house" where the reception area is located together with the restaurant, lounge area, bar, billiard room, conservatory and also some guest rooms. Then there are several separate wings with guest accommodation.
Our room was probably a little smaller than what we expected for "deluxe" however it had everything we needed including the view. The bathroom had separate shower and bath, there was plenty of cupboard and storage space, fridge with mini bar, tea/coffee facilities, small flat screen and chairs & small table to sit and have a drink. The room opened to a long verandah which all the rooms in that wing share, however each room had their own small outdoor setting. The only thing we noticed was, although the rooms are "non smoking" the verandah area is not, so you would get the smoke from other guests if you were sitting there. I would suggest the hotel has "smoke free" wings!
We ate in the dining room on our first night and the food was very good, although a little expensive. Wine list was extensive but limited if you wanted to order by the glass.
Breakfast was buffet style and we sat in a sunny spot in the conservatory, very pleasant. There was a good selection on the buffet, however the staff member who was replenishing the food had a little "attitude" and was slow when we asked for poached eggs (like 15 minutes).
Car parking was limited and also a walk from our room.
The overall experience was good, a nice break and went to some great vineyards and restaurants. Would I stay here again...."maybe".

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and access to a verandah!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RondaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is an amazing property in a perfect location. We stayed here for one night for a mid week getaway, unfortunately our stay was less than perfect. The duty manager who checked us in was not welcoming at all she just ran through the script of what she had to say and sent us to our room no personality. I should note that we were given a complementary upgrade which was nice however no mention of the gift basket or breakfast we booked which we later found had tickets to book a winery tour the next day (needed to book by 5:30 the other receptionist later informed us). The room had great views over the valley however need some attention there were mould and dead flies over the walls in the shower and yellow towels. After going out for afternoon tea we returned to reception desk to enquire about our gift box and other tours. The receptionist was great he informed us he would bring the gift box over straight away and he was terribly sorry. We waited 30 mins and I called again. At 7:30 no sign of the package or apology we left for dinner knowing we had missed the tour in our package we booked another online. We later return and at our delight the package was placed in our room. After an exhausting day we climbed into bed to find we could the people next door talking word for word until early hours of the morning with interconnecting rooms I am sure management us aware of the noise problem the least they could do is provide ear plugs.

The next day we had breakfast in hotel and were again met with a staff member who was less than welcoming and woke up on the wrong side of the bed.

This is a great property with stunning views, however the appalling service we recieved meaning we will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayson0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.8 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#3 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley

Property: The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are looking for a close but elegant holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the city, we invite you to consider The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley.The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley is less than 2 hours drive from Sydney's CBD in the glorious, panoramic Pokolbin countryside. Featuring an excellent array of meeting, conference and event facilities, this stylish hotel combines the elegance of a bygone era with all the comforts and luxuries of a contemporary lifestyle. This romantic Hunter Valley accommodation is perfect for a couple's weekend away to reconnect, unwind and spend time with the one you love.Set within 70 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and gently rolling grounds with magnificent views over tranquil vineyards and the wineries of the Hunter Valley, The Sebel Kirkton Park offers exceptional accommodation and a superb array of activities for leisure guests, as well as the conference and incentive delegate. Elegant function rooms and stunning scenery make this the ideal venue for stylish wedding receptions.Couples and families will enjoy the manicured gardens, tennis courts and the many facilities at The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley. With 71 beautifully appointed rooms and suites it is the ideal choice for romantic weekends away or time out with the children. There are several Hunter Valley accommodation wedding and weekend getaway packages available as well.The hotel accommodation rooms and suites are spacious and well appointed, majority with ensuite bathrooms, some with individual spa baths, complimentary cookies and tea making facilities, cable television, minibar and all rooms have broadband connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing