We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world country charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Old world country charm”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We think the reviews which state this place is dated or shabby appear to be missing the point. The Sebel Kirkiton Park is like an old country manor house situation in perfectly manicured grounds in the heart of pokolbolin.

Rooms are located in wings along an old wooden veradah, which is surrounded by peaceful fountains and manicured grape vines.

Staff are friendly and helpful, price seemed reasonable & location overall is pretty good.

If you are looking for somewhere modern and sleek, this place (and probably the hunter valley) is not for you.

We did not visit the gym or pool but enjoyed a lovely bottle of wine on our verandah (common to all rooms in the block) overlooking local pastures complete with kangaroos.

It would have been nice if the bike rental was free.

The buffet breakfast was satisfactory but not an overly large selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandkat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    320
    132
    51
    29
See reviews for
133
527
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

the Sebel Kirkton was amazing, the accommodation, grounds, facilities and restaurant are first class, situated in the most romantic (immaculate) setting amongst rolling hills and vineyards.
although i didnt experience the high tea, it looked amazing - on my wish list for next time :)
the indoor heated pool and spa, sauna and basic gym equipment was like being in a Roman Bath house - gorgeous. our stay was far too short, with so much to see and do in the area, it is best to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: i think any room is a good room, although rooms are side by side in range of "complexes"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Very tired place
Staff not very interested
Restaurant very over priced and not good quality. In particular they have no idea how to cook a steak rare came out like. Boot leather sent it back and replacement wasn't much better

Not worth the money disappointed

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HILSN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This place looks tired and worn out even though the surrounding scenery is magnificent. It also appears to be understaffed. It has an apology of a gym. The staff here seem to go through the motions.

I can live with all these but nothing irritates more than the check-in shuffle in which the staff member pretends to put you in a superior room while actually doing the reverse. I have had similar experiences in other hotels and it always drives you mad when it happens. I had paid an extra $30 for a 'colonial' room which looked bigger than the 'heritage' room in the photograph on the web site. At the time of check in, the check in person offered me the "superior" heritage room which happened to be a very small room with the attraction of a balcony. It is only after some insistence that I was shifted to the colonial room that I had booked in the first instance.

I have decided this is the last time that I will be staying at the Sebel in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdavis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My experience was in booking this hotel for a wedding night for a dear friend. What a disaster. I pre-paid fro the room. checked on the Friday that they knew the guests were to pay for nothing, that they had my credit card details and then on arrival on their wedding day, the desk clerk refused to let my friends in because they didnt have a credit card.
Poorly handled by the hotel. This used to be a favorite hotel of mine. Not anymore.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hopkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Good bed, good shower, everything else needs upgrading, esp the noisy aircon/ heater and TV reception. It's a bit out of the way but prob quieter for it. Will go elsewhere next time, for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krpp1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at the Sebel with 2 other couples for June long weekend. Pleasantly surprised by the location of the resort. Our room in the Manor House overlooked a magnificent 180deg view of the valley, waking each morning to the view of hot air balloons adrift over the vineyards. Room was spacious and clean, great verandah wrapping around the entire house....a little dated but fitting with the "heritage" style and age of the resort. Dined at Infuzion Restaurant - YUM! and breakfasts were the traditional buffet style - though a little expensive for the norm. Spa is a must do... warm and relaxing. Location is great... not far from all the hunter has to offer. Plenty of parking (outdoors).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoJaysonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#13 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Property: Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views, Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley is the ultimate place for you to escape, unwind and indulge. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style and sophistication. It’s a place where you can leave the day-to-day behind, relaxing in luxurious accommodation, tasting exquisite food, and embracing the beautiful surrounds. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air on picturesque walking trails, and make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. With a range of versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus, your event will be a memorable experience. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens – the largest display garden in the southern hemisphere. Or if you’re feeling a little more adventurous, challenge yourself on a championship golf course or take a dream ride in a hot air balloon. Whether it’s a romantic weekend, time away with the family, a conference or wedding, or simply an indulgent escape, Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing