We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Be Faulted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Have stayed at the Sebel twice, both times we were more than happy with the service, the rooms & restaurant . Received a double upgrade 1 time, staff more than happy to accomodate this if hotel not full. Only problem we had (& this is NOT the fault of the hotel) was with the swimming pool, as it is an inside pool & some parents don't care about inconveniencing other guests,when children are allowed to be excessively noisy (screaming & hitting water with large inflated swim rings/floats) the noise echos & is very unpleasant. We had to leave the pool area which was a shame because it was a very hot day.

Room Tip: A polite request goes a long way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (898)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 898 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

Had a wonderful stay rooms are in keeping with hotel style
Food well priced and buitifully presented
The staff were very helpful and always smiling
All in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelers0095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We just spent our first weekend away to the Hunter Valley and friends suggested that Kirkton Park was a nice place to stay. Firstly we both loved the Hunter Valley and Kirkton Park has some wonderfull views of the country side. We stay in a Heritage room which was $209, the room was normal size, neat and tidy but getting dated at the edges, the King bed was saggy and uncomfortable (the first night in ages I've woke up with a sore back). The room opens up to a balcony that wraps around the building and the view is excellent, there is one big problem. on the balconcy is a compressor unit that services many rooms air conditioners. Being a cold night the room next door had the A/C on all night and the outside unit made plenty of noise, I must had been woken up about 6 times. The restaurant is way over priced and so is the breakfast (which while OK is nothing special). The gardens are bueatifull and the pool and gym are good facilities. We had a nice stroll around the gardens to walk of the breakfast. Lastly the check-n , check-out staff either tried too hard or in the later case where just smug and unpleasant. I would stay again as the location is excellent, although I will check the room for a decent bed and make sure I'm away from the AC noise.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the sebel for a weekend wedding. Following some mixed reviews I was a little afraid of what I might find at this hotel in terms of room quality. But, having stayed in a heritage room, I can report that the room was very nice, it was clean, comfortable, had a good flat screen tv with plenty of free to air and a small selection of foxtel channels. The bed itself was one of the best I have slept in in any hotel. I have found many hotels tend to have soft or saggy beds, but this one was very firm and for once I woke up refreshed as opposed with a sore back. The hotel grounds are kept in very good condition and the open fire lounge was a pleasure to return to after the wedding reception wrapped up. We were very well looked after from start to finish at the wedding reception at the same venue.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monterey_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed at the Sebel Kirkton Park for one night this week while travelling on business. I had stayed there and reviewed the hotel 2 years ago, however this review reflects the "now" of this hotel, which I did not view as favourably as my past visit. My room was in the "Manor House" and was well presented and comfortable. The room was equipped with a flat screen TV with a wide range of channels available. The room and hotel seemed very tired, but generally appeared in good condition.

Check in was quick and efficient, ample outdoor car parking was available, free of charge. I had dinner with business associates and the food and service was excellent in the restaurant.

Downsides :

- At about 11PM I was in my room and had completed my work, feeling like a drink I looked in the minibar, only to find it empty, except for a small carton of milk for tea/coffee making. Further investigation showed that the minibar was only stocked if you ordered from a list on the desk in the room, and a minimum order of $25 applied. This seemed most inconvenient, especially if you only wanted one beer or soft drink. If for only this reason, I would choose to use the nearby Crowne Plaza (who feature conventional mini bars) rather than return here.

- In the morning I was making a cup of tea, and went to get the small carton of milk from the mini bar, and found that it had already been opened and was 1/2 empty. This shows poor systems of work at the hotel, to allow used/opened goods to remain in the fridge between guests.

- Unfortunately this hotel has introduced credit card surcharges. I find it deplorable while hotels can enjoy more benefits of credit card use than most other industries (booking guarantees, pre-authorisations, charging for no-shows, charging for late charges, avoiding large cash transactions), the industry has been one of the most bullish industries in Australia to introduce credit card surcharges. It also makes it misleading when comparing prices between different hotels. I go out of my way to avoid providing repeat business to hotels who surcharge.

In summary, despite the nice restaurant and room presentation, I would not choose to stay here again - there are much nicer places available in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

We were married at the Sebel on the Easter long weekend and between friends and family managed to fill around half of the rooms in the whole resort.
Our suite was large with a great loungeroom, king size bed and roomy bathroom with a spa bath. Other rooms were smaller but all with flatscreen TVs and most with balconies overlooking the valley.

Location is right amongst everything, next to the Golden Grape and with many wineries, spas and golf courses only a short drive away. The grounds are perfect for amazing wedding photos and April Werz is a great photgrapher in the area and knows how to make the most of the Hunter.

Previous post have commented on the age of the Hotel and criticised the upkeep, however everything worked perfectly for us and was well maintained. I guess it depends on what you’re after… this hotel is clearly more heritage than it is modern – but that’s the character and what makes it warm and fitting with the Hunter Valley.

The breakfast was plentiful and the staff throughout the hotel generally couldn’t do enough to help you – they were all great.

The gym was small but sufficient if you just want to do a quick jog but if you’re an exercise nut it won’t be what you’re after. The pool was great albeit a little on the cooler side coming into winter.

As far as value goes, it seems the prices increase substantially close to the date of arrival so booking in advance can really help you snap up a bargain.

Room Tip: Book well ahead - rates climb steeply weeks prior
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Pros:
* fabulous view, close to town (Cessnock)
* reception service was fine, happy and attentive
* facilities

Cons:
* uncomfortable frumpy beds
* restaurant/bar service was painfully slow and disorganised - waited 45mins for two bowls of chips! one bowl which was under cooked.
* food generally was pretty average for the price paid
* $30/head for breakfast quite pricey given the quality
* worn and weary decor
* very expensive rooms for what you get! - avoid "Manor House" and try for the middle building, which has central views and they're a little less 'tired' and cleaner.

Room Tip: avoid Manor House
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eenereats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
8.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
880 reviews
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
255 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley

Address: 336 Oakey Creek Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#7 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: $128 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxury and refinement of one of the Hunter Valley’s most prestigious estates. Situated on 70 acres of rolling countryside with spectacular mountain views. Kirkton Park is boutique hotel that blends classic elegance and charm with contemporary style. Stroll through manicured gardens, breathe in the fresh air make the most of our fitness centre and tennis courts. Or simply luxuriate in our impressive Grecian style heated indoor pool, spa and sauna. Only two hours drive north of Sydney, Kirkton Park is also a convenient venue for meetings, conferences and weddings. Versatile indoor and outdoor spaces to choose from, as well as mouth-watering food and beverage menus. The hotel also acts as your base from which to explore the delights of the Hunter Valley region. Discover boutique wineries, sample local cheeses and visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Gardens. Kirkton Park is your luxurious retreat in the heart of the Hunter Valley wine region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley Hotel Pokolbin
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing