We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$111
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$366
$351
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
$246
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estate Tuscany(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$102
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$86
$75
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
$171
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Lodge(Pokolbin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
109
86
38
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
86
38
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscirca restaurantgorgeous buildingtree lined drivewaypepper creekhunter valleyfull length mirrorshared balconybridal suitefrench doorsmain buildingshower capbreakfast was excellentpleasant stayperfect settingshort strollour wedding anniversaryboutique hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 266 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Despite the uneven reviews here at Trip Advisor, we booked for two nights as part of out week long trip to the area northeast of Sydney. Coming off three nights at Lillianfels in Katoomba, there were plenty of reasons why we would be disappointed. The long drive up from Katoomba had been uneventful and quite scenic. We arrived in the early afternoon on a brilliantly sunny day. The building and facilities are in excellent condition. We quickly checked in and got our room on 1F, at the back. The room was quite large and had a large sun nook on the side that had two day beds and looked out onto the trellised garden. We headed out to the pool in the back, ordering some lunch on the way through the main building. The pool was a bit cloudy, not in a green way and could have been a result of the high termperatures and drought all of Australia was experiencing. It didn't matter as we hopped in anyway after the long drive. Haha, water couldn't have been that bad as kermit the frog was swimming alongside. Lunch came out promptly, a couple of sandwiches and beers. The room looked out into another clearing and had a massive, covered deck shared with the three rooms on one side of the main building. There was only one room taken when we arrived and perhaps four in total during the time we were there. We had pre-dinner drinks in the main sitting area with complimentary wine and cheese. This was followed by dinner over at the sister location, Pepper's Guest House, eating at Chez Pok with free car service between the two and a table outside. Dinner and wine were excellent and the local driver filled us in on things to see and do in the area. The next night we ate at the Convent's restaurant, Robert's. Again, quite good with the restaurant being in a converted and restored barn. A very nice setting. Brekkie was served in the main building dining area and had the normal cereal, fruit, breads and pasteries with a cooked meal also available. All in all, a very pleasant stay. One thing to note, there is no lift to 1F so if your bags are heavy, you'll need some help.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barolobrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

i can't believe no-one has mentioned the 'other' occupants of this hotel.
We stayed in room No.10, but it's apparently no.8, which houses the resident spirits.
i won't go into detail, as the experience still frightens me, but needless to say i will never return to the Convent. if you don't beleive me, be sure to pick up the big old guest book in the foyer downstairs during cocktail hour, that should give you enough to think about during your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Such a romantic place to stay - and because it was a Sunday night so early in the season, we were the only guests. It was like have our own private mansion, with a staff to cater to your every whim.
Wonderful to have such spacious, lush reception rooms and garden to relax in.
Our package included a double massage at Peppers other resort nearby, and dinner at Robert's restaurant, which is on the same grounds - the meal there was fabulous.
I really enjoyed the history of the building and reading the comments in the guestbook from former pupils who had come to stay at the new, luxurious version of their old school.
The breakfast room is lovely, and breakfast was divine.
Expensive, yes, but worth it for a one-night treat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CubaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We were surprised to be able to book a single night at the Convent for the June long weekend (Sunday) for a belated anniversary celebration. That scored a tick from the outset - many other Hunter Valley properties insisted on 3 night bookings for the long weekend. The package we booked included a three course dinner at adjacent Robert's restaurant (see seperate review) and a massage treatment at the spa attached to the other Peppers Hunter property. The meal and spa were both decent, but nothing remarkable....(though if I hear the word "youz" one more time I'm going to strangle someone!! Both Spa staff and restaurant staff used it repeatedly).

Booking: I booked online in the evening and there was an email waiting in my inbox the next morning to confirm the reservation and check preferences for the dinner reservation and a number to ring to book spa treatments directly. All handled professionally with quick responses.

Check in: Handled quickly, professionally and efficiently, with a smile. Exactly the standard of service one expects from top class accommodation establishments. Full points.

Room: We had an upstairs "deluxe" (i.e. small, less expensive) room. Photos on the Peppers website are a fairly honest reflection of what to expect. The room was definitely on the small size, but the high ceiling and French doors on to the large covered verandah (shared) help to make the space feel bigger. Furnishings and fittings were all tasteful, of reasonable quality and in good working order. The bed was very comfortable and covered in good quality linen. While it was possible to hear some muffled sound coming from adjacent rooms (TV/conversation) as well as the normal creaks and squeaks one expects from an old building, there was nothing that was really bothersome nor enough to keep us awake.

The bathroom was a bit drab and obviously missed out on the last round of renovations, but the bath was big and deep, the hot water plentiful, towels fluffy and white and amenities a step up from what many other properties provide. A full length mirror somewhere in the room woud be about the only thing I thought was lacking.

Breakfast: This was the biggest let down. While service was friendly and efiicient and the range of food on offer was good (both the cold buffet and cooked to order hot breakfasts), the standard of ingredients and produce they used all spoke of thrift rather than quality. When staying in a region renowned for boutique producers of fine food and wine, it was disappointing to be served cheap-tasting supermarket juices, yoghurt, bacon, dry pastries, ordinary coffee etc. Disapointing, also considering the price.

I'd probably consider staying at Peppers Convent again - especially if able to pick up one of their good value last minute deals. I'll be hoping for a better breakfast though!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ByronMagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Our wine tasting tour of the Hunter Valley came with wonderful surprize-a night at the Peppers Convent. The rooms were airy and spacious with a huge balcony containing sofas and rocking chairs. It was ideal for watching nature as the sun faded from the sky. The staff, Tanya and Sharon, graciously made all the arrangements we requested in spite of a few changes on our part.

We took the free shuttle to Chez Pok for an excellent three course evening meal with great wine. Our waitress, Danielle, pointed out kangaroos bounding around in the nearby fields as we ate.

The breakfast next morning was the most extensive I have encountered anywhere. The breakfast was so good we nearly missed our ride to the wine school. Fortunately, our driver was there to remind us.

Coming from winter in the USA, we caught our first sun of the year, later in the day beside the pool, before rejoining our wine tasting tour.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallaby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews