We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“seriously ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“seriously ordinary”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

first time back here in ten years, for a conference, and the only change to what must be 20+year old rooms is a couple of uber cheap flat screen tv's that didn't even pick up abc 2- the national broadcaster- am sitting here awaiting the "duty manager" 45 mins after calling "9" , the only number one can call, to ask how to get reception for the only nationally broadcast tv station in australia. mind you, the room service dinner of fish and salad was quite fine, warm on arrival and pretty quickly delivered for a resort that is ridiculously spread out. air con seems to work well, the rooms are very private and clean . but very very old. the manufacturer of the kitchen appliances went out of business a decade ago, so its a shame that the owners, operators, haven't seen fit to do a simple update of the room decor. the other big annoyance was at check in- the lovely, but obviously overworked, check in staff, have to not just check in guests, but answer all incoming calls, room issues, food orders and reservation queries. madness. so this is definitley not a conference venue. barely a hotel that functions at a 2 star level. AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle B, Marketing & Event Co-ordinator at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. I apologise that on this occasion we were not able to meet your expectations. We take all reviews on board and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We work hard to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area and it is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our guests. We are currently undergoing renovations throughout the resort and would be happy to welcome you back in the future so you can see the improvements first hand. Honest feedback, no matter how unfavourable it may appear, is the launch pad for improvements and we are striving to make these happen.

Kind Regards,

Julie Pettit
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    367
    233
    141
    85
See reviews for
277
310
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We visit this Resort amost once a month. This time the cottage was quite smalebut the service wasgood, as usual.

Helpful?
Thank Chevalierlatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Passing through the Hunter for work so looked at the pricing of Hotels and found Cypress Lakes at $180 per night.Good efficient check is with Friendly staff.I was given Room 753 which is a one bedroom villa up on the hill.The rooms are ageing and I have been staying here for near on twenty years so maybe a lick of paint and a touch up would be good.One of the chairs in the dining room near collapsed and I needed to call for help with the phone - all the contact names are listed such as 2 for reception,3 for room service etc but they fail to mention you need to press 9 first ! I had a great meal at the Restaurant Bodega which included a great steak.The number one attraction for this place is a dam good golf course - it is always in great condition and at $58 a round with a cart you need to pack your clubs ( or hire ) and get out there.The place is good but would be better with a little investment in updating the rooms - I think the problem is that most rooms are privately owned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roosterman2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a girls weekend away here in July 2013, we booked a 3 bedroom apartment.
Cypress Lakes is in a great location for visiting all the Hunter Wineries. Upon arrival we were greeted by Matt in reception, a great guy, whom later also bought us a complimentary bottle of wine and so kindly lit the fire for us. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable with a wonderful view from the sun drenched verandah. My only gripe was how under equipped the kitchen was, no bottle opener, not a single saucepan or decent knife. I had to ring reception to get and ironing board and hair dryer, and no one could work the oven including house keeping so our dinner was taken to the restaurant to be cooked. But all of this was attended to promptly and without fuss.
Breakfast was nice each morning, although very busy and noisy on the weekend.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronnyB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle B, Marketing & Event Co-ordinator at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in. We will be sure to pass your kind words to Matthew. With regards to the ‘under equipped’ kitchen we sincerely apologise about this. Housekeeping has been made aware of the issue and in turn do regularly stock takes of the villas for this reason. But all in all it looks like any issues had we rectified efficiently. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cypress Lakes Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Julie Pettit
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Well worth a stay.A great location for the golfer or just checking out the wineries.We booked a villa 3 night deal ,the villa was very spacious with separate king bedroom (quite hard bed) and large bathroom with spa,and handy kitchenette, although a little tired it was very comfortable. Arriving late we decided to eat at the restaurant,the food and service was first class,(a little expensive). Andy our waiter looked after us. In house shuttle bus is a great idea. Breakfast was included, and well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantelle B, Marketing & Event Co-ordinator at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are extremely proud of our golf course and the views on offer for our guests. We are delighted to hear that your experience was a relaxing one. In regard to the comment about the rooms ‘being a little tired’ upgrades to the Resort and Villas are happening progressively and we should see a great change for our guest experience going forward. With that said we are glad that you were able to enjoy a meal at the Restaurant and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Julie Pettit
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a work conference at Cypress Lakes, for the second time and loved it. The rooms are like mini town houses, so everyone has their own room and bathroom. You do need to drive to the rooms as they are miles away from the main resort and up huge hills. The place is starting to get a little worn but is a charming place for a conference.

I don't know if I'd stay here on a personal trip, it's not all that romantic.

The food is great although the setup of the restaurant is strange so that you have to line up for ages as the plates are right at the front door.

The handy thing about the place is the great golf course and superb wineries within walk distance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank MellyWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing