We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
ourimbah
1 review
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights and it felt like a week, very relaxing surroundings and opulent rooms with a bath big enough for 2 made for a very romantic getaway. Buffet breakfast is the best I have ever had offering everything I could think of. Staff went out of their way to makse sure our needs were met and were very helpful with suggestions on local sights and things to do. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid balconies near the golf tees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    360
    233
    139
    85
See reviews for
268
305
12
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We came down to stay for my wife's 30th birthday, the villas were perfect, great location right in the middle of the hunter and the staff were very helpful with any of our needs... oh and the buffet breakfast is a real winner! will definitely come and stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slinger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cypress Lakes for a long weekend in March to enjoy some pampering at the Golden Door Spa and play a few rounds of golf.
We experienced excellent service all around the hotel. The reception staff were very helpful and accommodating to our requests. We were showed around the hotel and they told us some great places to visit in the Hunter Valley.
The rooms were generous in size – and very clean. The cleaners did a great job every day.
I would highly recommend the Golden Door Spa – it was to die for!
We will be staying at Cypress Lakes next time we come to the Hunter Valley in September for sure!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beat27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Highly recommend staying here. The new & improved bar & restaurant are excellent. The villas are excellent & set in a serene setting. Even though the resort was booked out, you still have a feeling of being in a tranquil setting. The massage from the spa comes very highly recommended to complete the experience.The golf course is in excellent condition. With these options available, all at your front door, this resort is definitely one you will return to.....we have.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluegogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2011

My husband & I had 5 fantastic nights, a wonderful relaxing time being thoroughly spoilt by very caring staff who couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay.
I have since booked another two long weekends in 2011, taking different people with me each time as I want them also to experience heaven on earth.
Although set in a golf course you don't have to play the game to enjoy the surrounds as there is so much else to do and see.
A must do is visit the Golden Door Spa within the resort for the best pamper session you will ever get as well as views to die for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmel_borg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Cypress Lakes. Not only is it a very relaxing experience as the rooms are incredibly generous in size and very well maintained with amazing views,the service is of a high standard and nothing is too much trouble.
Also the location is perfect for all that is available to you in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We were up in the Hunter Valley for Day on the Green with Inxs, Baby Animals & Train - so it was a very busy weekend and I cannot fault Cypress Lakes, their staff or their property.

I have read some reviews and am not sure if we had a newly refurbished villa, but our whole villa was very fresh and new looking, great wicker outdoor setting with the most magnificent views.

The breakfast was amazing, yes a little cold in places, but beyond that the huge range and choices were great and quality of food was definitely worth the visit. My only suggestion would be to include the capaccinos and latte's in the price of the breakfast. I personally do not drink coffee, but did notice people paying a couple of dollars for a 'trendy' coffee.

My review is only of praise, room service was very prompt, piping hot and just great quality. Pricey, but when it is of high standards it is worth the cost - but aren't all room service menu's pricey at 4-5 star properties.

Staff at reception were all friendly and attentive.

Thanks, will return again and again, love it and what a beautiful property.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oben08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
840 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort

Property: Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Address: 15 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly Cypress Lakes Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HUNTER VALLEY ACCOMMODATION BY OAKS HOTELS Located in the beautiful wine district of the Hunter Valley, Oaks Cypress Lakes is a 25 acre premier resort providing Hunter Valley accommodation. Over $20m recent capital investment in this rural resort that includes 200 Villas, two restaurants and two bars, over 1500sqm of exceptional Meeting, Conference and Event facilities and a 6,487 meter par 72 18-hole championship golf course ranked among the top resort courses in Australia. The Hunter Valley is only two hours from Sydney. Scenic drives past endless rows of gnarly vines are a given, so are grazing cattle and mobs of kangaroos, and everything from tutored wine-tastings and boutique brews to cooking classes, festivals, award-winning restaurants and hot-air balloon flights. Choose from a range of picture perfect Hunter Valley accommodation options to suit your needs at Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Lakes Hotel Pokolbin
Cypress Lakes Pokolbin
Cypress Lake Resort
Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing