We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect again”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sillymoo9...
1 review
“Perfect again”
Reviewed 4 weeks ago for a stay in July 2018

Our stay at Amelie's was perfect yet again. Sally's hospitality is outstanding and the cottage is pure heaven. It was the perfect place for an engagement ♥️

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
1 review
“Spectacular views from the most cosy Hunter hideaway - perfect!”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed at Amelies cottage for 2 nights in July 2018. Our intention was to use it as a base to explore the beautiful Hunter Valley region (and its many wineries!) but once we arrived at the cottage we didn't want to leave! Perfectly situated on the side of Pokolbin Mountain, it has a spectacular view into the valley giving the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets (which can be enjoyed from the amazing spa bath with full length windows!). The cottage is so cosy, the perfect winter hideaway. Sally has put so much love and care into furnishing the cottage and it feels like a home away from home. Sally also kindly left us lovely fresh bread, eggs, bacon and other breakfast supplies - such a lovely touch and much appreciated. We also had the absolute joy of meeting Penny, the resident canine, who lives over with Sally but is the welcomer-in-chief for anyone lucky enough to stay at the cottage!
I would stay again at Amelies cottage in a heartbeat - we're already planning our next trip back. Thanks Sally for such a lovely relaxing stay, we hope to see you and Penny again soon!
Claire and Joe x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amal A
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Extraordinarily beautiful view and place to stay. A cosy cottage with every essential you might need. The quiet is fantastic. The morning view just after sunrise is perfect. The balcony opens to this stunning view of the valley. Salley the owner is absolutely friendly and welcoming. Penny the cute and friendly dog made our stay even more enjoyable. Absolutely loved it and looking forward to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AEB_9
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Spectacular view, total privacy!”
Reviewed March 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Located a few minutes drive from cafes and vineyards, this little cottage is fantastic. Situated on the side of a mountain, with views from every window, this is a place to sit and unwind. It is very comfortable with comfortable bed, white fluffy towels and a stocked pantry. We loved this place and can't wait to visit again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liac25506...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, elegant retreat in a picturesque, tranquil setting”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Amelie's is a beautiful retreat for one or two people high on Pokolbin Mountain with stunning views. It is completely quiet, except for the sound of bellbirds. The accommodation is gorgeous - elegant furnishings in a French style, and very comfortable. A splash in the spa bath that has sweeping views is a must! Take all your food with you as you won't want to leave. The cupboard has staples like oil, salt and pepper plus everything needed for tea and coffee. Items for a delicious cooked breakfast are also supplied.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQ195...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Magic tucked away on the side of a hill”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Amelies for a few days, arriving on a Monday and leaving Wednesday. The Cottage had everything we needed and our host, Sally, was generous and left a pantry full of supplies with everything we needed and more. A short trip down the hill led us to a wide choice of wineries and restaurants. It was a perfect short break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny C
2 reviews
“Beyond perfect getaway in the mountains”
Reviewed August 27, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The stay at Amelies was wonderful! Very close to the wineries, the drive up to the cottage offered an exclusive vantage point of the Hunter Valley. We couldn't get enough of the views while parked outside and admired the cute little cottage perched on the side of the mountain. Once we stepped inside we continued to be in awe on how lovely the space was and automatically knew we were going to try to stay in the cottage as best as possible! We definitely left the double doors opened to access the amazing view and embrace natures soundtrack . Sally had left some breakfast items for us to enjoy which was a very nice gesture! We have stayed in many hotels, B&Bs and rentals and this by far was the best one. We will definitely return again when we want a relaxing weekend!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing