We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven Found.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EmilyandD...
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven Found.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

My husband and I celebrated our third wedding anniversary at Amelies and couldn't have asked for a more magical, romantic hideaway. Tucked on the side of Pokolbin Mountain overlooking the valley you felt like you were a million miles away the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The cottage is beautifully furnished with everything you need including; scrabble, CDs, binoculars and even some DVDs. The breakfast hamper provided had so many delicious goodies. During our stay we had a fair bit of rain (which the valley so badly needed) but that only made it more romantic. Thanks Sally for a great time! Next stay will be for a week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WareySydn...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Amelies. The house is very cute and cosy, but with everything you could possibly need. The view from the room is very peaceful and it was just the break from the children and life in the city that we needed. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surrounds, and visits from the very friendly dogs
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG.... AMAZING, BEAUTIFUL... OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It is difficult to put into words and express how wonderfull this place is. My wife and I spent 4 nights at Amelies for our 20th Wedding anniversary. It was the most peaceful, relaxing and beautiful cotteage and surrounds we have had the pleasure of staying in... ever.
Sally has done a supurb job of making sure you have everything you need for your stay without ever seeing another sole unless you venture out to find someone. The accomodation was sensational, the cottage is well maintained and has the most amazing veiws of the Hunter Valley and has all the amentiies you will need to enjoy a relaxing romantic getaway. Although it was our first stay at this gem, it will not be our last, we will definately be back.... just got to find someone to look after the kids again.
Highly recomended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surrounds and the views
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaireinA...
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Amelies for 7 nights with my finance, 7 most wonderful nights, they have probably been the most relaxing 8 days of my life to date! I cannot recommend this place highly enough to anyone that wants to truly unwind!

Sally, owns this beautiful property and has lovingly created a home away from home, everything has been thought of to help you enjoy the most comfortable visit, I will keep these little things as a 'nice surprise' for you should you choose to come and stay :)

If this sounds like the place for you, then don't hesitate, but make sure you stay for the longer then just the weekend- you won't regret it- i promise!!

Price is extremely reasonable and location is is the heart of the hunter (but once you are up there onto of the mountain it feels as though it is just you and the trees) winning all around!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views!
Liked least: Nothing it was all fantastic!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MBR59
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stop and unwind - we didn[--]t want to leave.”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful weekend at Amelies. It's a quaint cottage filled with every comfort and lots of lovely homely touches. We enjoyed perfect peace and quiet - no noise other than the birds in the trees. So relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the whole experience of Amelies.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uwe B
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something special”
Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

From the moment we wound our way up the hill we anticipated we were in for something special and we weren’t disappointed. The lovely Amelies has everything! Beautiful views including an amazing view from the bath and the fridge full of goodies for a huge breakfast. Our host anticipated our every need. Every time I thought of something I would open a cupboard or a drawer and it was there. Extremely relaxing and once you have stocked up on some nibblies and wine from the wineries – you won’t want to leave!
I couldn’t recommend Amelies highly enough – thank you for a perfect weekend and on top of all that – reasonable rates. You can’t ask for more than that. We’ll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the host and the views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsCMarti...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A peaceful, rural idyll”
Reviewed April 22, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This is the first time I have been moved to write a review on Trip Advisor and rightly so. My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Amelies. We arrived on Friday evening to find the most charming cottage tucked high on a hillside above the Hunter Valley. Everything we could possibly need and more had been provided by the lovely Sally, including a first class breakfast! The cottage is petite but perfect; filled with beautiful furniture, a gas fire for cooler nights and a luxurious spa bath. We would have been very happy to have stayed inside the comfort of the cottage for two days but the sunshine and glorious views over the Hunter Valley enticed us outside to explore the wineries and surrounding countryside. It is perfectly positioned; far enough away from the maddening crowd down in the Valley but close enough to explore the vineyards, restaurants etc. Very peaceful and quiet; just right for a relaxing weekend away from the city. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Coming home!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing