We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to do nothing..”
Review of The Longhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Longhouse
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved this property. Have stayed in many places in Pokolbin and found this the best for a small group of friends. I had my 8 yr old but if there were more kids would have stayed at another property we love. As mentioned GREAT for couples and friends.

We did many walks on the property, would have used the pool over at Villa Province had it been warmer, the management were so happy to help with anything and the BBQ's were fun.

Little one loved playing hide and seek, soccer on the grass, watching the kangaroos and chilling by the fire.

The beds were super comfy, tried to take the shower with me ;) was so great and rooms were spacious enough.

We did not leave the property except to have one meal out. It was that nice to stay in and do nothing much at all. Great location if you want to go out and about.

Room Tip: If staying with others, run to the room where the fireplace is. Not as private but you enjoy the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanuatugirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was part of 2 couples that stayed at The Longhouse for 2 nights. We loved the property, the setting is so peaceful and so many kangaroos right out front. Good location to explore the Hunter region from, close to most of our favourite wineries and easy drive to dinner as well. We were in unit 2 so had people staying either side of us but this wasn't a drama, we made friends with them while enjoying a drink on the deck. Only 2 tiny things bothered us: There was no kindling to start a fire so we sourced our own from the surrounding bush (a problem when it's raining), and the dishwasher will keep you up at night if you leave it going while in bed. Nothing huge and nothing to ruin our stay, we had a great time :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkeykong787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Incorrectly advertised. One room has no wall therefore no privacy from the living area. Not great for couples. No kindling provided as advised and in wet weather damp branches don't assist with lighting a fire.

Door to one bedroom doesn't lock therefore had to sleep with the door open which resulted in a restless nights sleep.

Overpriced for the condition. Not happy and won't be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anonymous12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

I'm sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us at The Longhouse.

Photos of our units are available on our website and they do show the opening in the wall between the lounge room and one of the bedrooms. This bedroom does have a wall and a door, it is just open over the double sided fireplace.

The reason that this opening is part of the design is to allow air conditioning to flow from the bedrooms to the living areas. Due to environmental planning restrictions air con in living areas was not permitted. Given that temperatures in the Valley can exceed 45 degrees in summer, we felt that being able to cool these spaces was important.

As far as your bedroom not being able to be locked, we would think that as you are sharing a unit with your friends or family, this would not be a problem.

With relation to wet firewood, unfortunately we cannot control the weather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The 4 of us had such a great time at the Longhouse. 2nd time we've been, and this time just had to bring more people with us! All the mod cons and extra little touches that made it such a pleasant experience. Really love the addition of the Wifi Internet. Always a fan of the social kangaroo population as well.

Beautiful soft fluffy towels, decadent bedding and Manchester, warm and toasty open fire - plus loved the extra additions of juice, wine and tim-tams in the fridge.

Whenever we come back to the Hunter we will always stay at the Longhouse!

Thanks Jo for making our trip back so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is sencond time I'm stay overnight in hunter valley. Compared with my last stay, this time is much much batter. I couldn't believe that. The place is clean, comfy and warm. My partner and me really enjoy our stay at The Longhouse. We are planning to back again in the early future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were two couples and only spent one night at The Longhouse but had a great time and it certainly exceeded our high expectations.

The architecture was great and innovative. Opening the door and finding they slid back to create a 6 metre opening and almost the same with the glass doors on the front wall so that you could see the vines growing at the back and the front was wonderful.

We did wonder about getting to the books on the very high bookshelf but then found the stepladder. Our unit was very clean. We particularly liked the fluffy towels, the large beds and the crisp bed linen. It was great being able to lie in bed and see the stars from the tall window. Being a city dweller it was a joy to see so many stars so clearly and also the Milky Way.
We used the BBQ (not mentioned on the website) which worked well.
2 litres of fruit juice and 2 litres of milk were in the fridge at check in, along with a mini packet of Tim Tams, which were an unexpected bonus as this was not mentioned on the website. We also enjoyed the bottle of complimentary Longhouse Semillon.

We saw a group of about 9 Kangaroos in the surrounding vines twice and relatively close up.

A too short a stay but we will return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is without doubt the best place we have stayed in the hunter valley. As soon as we drove up the long driveway we knew it was going to be peaceful and relaxing. The design is fantastic. The fireplace a real treat on our cold stay and the enormous stack of firewood outside, great. We had the apartment to ourselves, and decided not to wander out except for breakfast on our second day, opting to simply relax and enjoy the unit and the view, by the fire. I would have loved there to have been some comfy outdoor furniture. A daybed, sunbed or even bean bags to relax and enjoy the winter sun, but really this is about all I wanted for. I lay on the decking anyway lapping up the sun :)

I guess if you were private, you may be bothered by the uncovered windows in the evening or early morning as other guests enjoy the balcony, but everyone seemed not too interested in looking.

We will definitely be back. I'd love to book out the entire place for a special occasion one day. We're already reviewing the dates available for our next trip and cannot wait to share this little gem with friends...or do we keep going on our own? Hard to decide!

Room Tip: Its much of a muchness really. I think the end units may be the better option for a tiny bit more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.1 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
173 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
3 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: $286 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing