We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Longhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Longhouse
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at.the Longhouse with friends. Loved the the peace and quiet and watching the abundant wildlife. Loved the design and the thoughtful inclusions like the ipod dock and bbq. Kitchen is great, only thing missing would be a microwave. As mentioned in other reviews, one bedroom is not particularly private but it was fairly easy to work around. The wide expanses of glass do make it a little hard to sleep in, so either take the opportunity for an early morning walk with the kangaroos or invest in a sleep eye mask because the beds are quite comfy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingoesjustwannasleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maianbar, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2012

" It's so quiet here. Nothing but the birds and the breeze as it rustles the grass. I could stay here forever - letting this peaceful place ease my breathing. From the deck of my room I can see the kangaroos lazing."

Written on the back of their Semilon - sums the Longhouse up perfectly!

I love this place, beautiful, thoughtful design, stunning views - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magic_maianbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Longhouse, my children thought the kangaroos we fantastic. The view is to die for, I felt so peaceful and relaxed watching the kids play happily outside. The design of the Longhouse is refreshingly different to anywhere we had ever stayed before, so modern and hip- not hotel-ish at all. The beds were super comfy, best night sleep I have ever had. Loved to kitchen, perfect for a family wishing to self cater. This place is a little slice of modern luxury tucked away in the Hunter, great place for a young family to stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummyliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read some of the reviews on this property and now having stayed there, I really wonder whether my experience was at the same property.

This property is a classic example of why architects should never design a property and then not live in it to experience their concept.

Aesthetically, very interesting with some great design ideas for a stand-along house. However, as a rental property however, it fails miserably.

Advertised as two bedrooms, it is really a one bedroom with a sleeping nook with en-suite on the other side. The second ‘bedroom’ is not private and has a large open wall to the living room, which would make it impossible for couples who were not very close friends to have any hope of privacy. As previously said, aesthetically very interesting, but totally impractical.

Having just stayed at the property and having drawn the short straw with the quasi bedroom, a number of other issues arose. The design is very modern and there is a large amount of glass, with no blinds or coverings. In the bedroom there are louvred glass windows in addition to the large glass living room area. This means, if anyone had any concept of a sleep-in and gentle start to the day at any other time than mid-winter, this would not happen. The light is very bright from a very early hour.

To an early riser, this would not normally be a problem, however, this is exacerbated by the fact, at least in the quasi bedroom, there is also a slatted glass window in the bathroom which runs out to the car park behind the apartment. There is a very bright light in this car park (which cannot be turned off) , right outside this slatted glass window, so the bathroom (which has a glass door through to the bedroom) and the bedroom are well lit up all night. Should the people sleeping in the real bedroom come into the living room for any reason, then once again, there is no privacy.

The Longhouse is three identical apartments, joined by one long balcony with no separation, so any neighbour can walk past your bedroom and look in through the slatted glass windows.

This brings me to the facilities. The living room is nicely designed with a great looking kitchen and fridges, etc. The outlook is fabulous as is the 'breezeway' design. There is a long bookcase stretching to the ceiling, however one could only reach the first third of books because there is no mechanism to get up to look at or pull down any books from the higher shelves (strange). It is a cook-yourself facility and there is an absolute minimum of food provided, so you need to bring everything with you if you expect to have anything other than tea and toast (there is no jam).

Just before we stayed we did look at Trip Advisor to see some of the reviews regarding the bedroom problem and contacted the manager. We concur with some of the other reviewers, the manager is, to be kind, brusque and defensive and was of no help other than to say ‘stay elsewhere’. The property charges top dollar, i.e. $1200 for a Friday and Saturday night, which is way into the top end of accommodation costs in the Hunter Valley, without meeting any of the expectations of that price bracket.

The website and advertising materieal promotes the point that the profits from the property go back into student architecture. Perhaps the profits would be better allocated to having some students stay in the property so they can appreciate first hand how not to design holiday accomodation.

There are far better accomodation options in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epicurianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne B, Manager at The Longhouse, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
The Longhouse was constructed as an educational project for University students around Australia. The students designed the Longhouse then worked with the builders as labourers to bring the building to life.

While it is not of a 'standard hotel design' the Longhouse provides the opportunity to stay in unique and beautiful accommodation, lovingly crafted by the students who designed it. Further, profits from The Longhouse do not go to student architecture as you suggested, they go towards supporting architecturally based aid organisations such as health Habitat.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and are concerned that you felt that the manager was brusque when at no stage did you ever actually speak with her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had a great relaxing time in the very modern Longhouse that had all the mod cons. Jo was very helpful, answering any queries immediately and fixing a problem with the battery for the firealarm straight away. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to the hunter valley with 6 families and stayed at the longhouse. It was very good value, conveniently located. Clean and right in the vineyards .
There are kangaroos everywhere and vines 4 meters from the great deck. Get some friends together and get there . Wine golf walking. Friends. Does not get better. Enjoy. We did

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had a great time at The Longhouse. All mod cons. A friend and I went - a bedroom each with our own luxurious bathroom. Views great. Very peaceful. Not far away from township but you do need a car - one which will preferably handle off-road. The staff member I dealt with was very nice but it was odd not to actually seeing anyone - there doesn't seem to be a physical presence - all done by mobile phone. Breakfast packs were great - had soooo much food.
From what I've observed the Hunter Valley is geared towards adults.

Room Tip: All units are great - only 3 in building. If you hate noise from neighbours suggest Unit 1 and weste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
4.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
1.6 mi away
Cam-Way Estate
Cam-Way Estate
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
131 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Property: The Longhouse
Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Longhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing