We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hideaway in perfect location”
Review of The Longhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Longhouse
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I thoroughly agree with the other reviews already posted, this place is a brilliant place to relax, amazing views, great facilities, even had DVD payer with a DVD selection, iPod speakers, books to read. Also had access to a nearby pool but did not use. Definitely hope to bring some more friends back here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eleanor1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

Quite sure that we'll back, we had a great time, the place is so cozy clean and comfortable exquisite architectural work that might live there happy..Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Such a gem in the Hunter, tucked away in a nice quiet spot. Very good value for money. A brilliant small little complex that would be great for couples, families or even a group looking to enjoy the Hunter. Place was clean, well kept with all the amenities. We really loved it. Even with the rainy weather it was a great setting to just relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Recently spent 2 days here with 3 friends (a girls weekend away) as we got a great deal. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and will be back. It is well designed and the beds were so comfortable. I wouldn't mind some lazy chairs on the deck though sitting on the couch will still provide the great view.

Everything is just like the pictures uploaded (so I won't upload any of mine)

Loved it and so central to everything. It's a leisurely hours walk to brekkie opposite the Hope Estate.

Room Tip: Beds are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We recently stayed at the longhouse with our three children and loved it. The place is architecturally detailed beautifully and the views across the vineyards with kangaroos hoping by an absolute delight. The added touches like milk, juice and champagne in the fridge were an added benefit.The Hunter is a great getaway the whole family can enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The place is wonderful, well designed, sited well, spacious, the kitchen works, the beds comfortable. The views to the vineyards and the kangaroos are perfect. I'd go back there right this second.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosa100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This place is fantastic, the architecture is FAB, the location and views are perfect. We planned to do so much while we were in the Hunter Valley, but the Longhouse was so lovely that we ended up spending most of our time sipping wine on the deck!

It has huge sliding walls that open the building up, a giant deck and there were wild kangaroos every where each morning

We wil definately be coming back, this is the nicest place I have ever stayed in the Hunter Valley :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greggy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
259 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
335 reviews
4.6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
904 reviews
3 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longhouse

Address: 385 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Longhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Longhouse Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing