We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking in location and in wines!”

Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard
Ranked #7 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Wilkinson's were true pioneers of the Australian winemaking industry. Despite two earlier ventures in Australia, the Wilkinson family returned after the brothers Frederick and John had studied winemaking in France and Germany. In 1866 the family acquired the present site of the Audrey Wilkinson vineyard. Living in tents, they cleared the land and planted vines which were sourced from the MacArthur Onslow property. By the early 1900s, Audrey Wilkinson collected awards around Australia for his Hock, claret and fortified wines. Large quantities were exported to London. Audrey committed to leading edge technology which, at the end of the 19th century, included open cement fermenters and steam powered crushers and hoppers. It was here the Audrey Wilkinson legacy was born.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breathtaking in location and in wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We bumped into some friends whilst we were in the Hunter Valley and they highly recommended us to visit this estate - and we were definitely in for a treat!

The views from the cellar door are breathtaking - especially on a clear winters day! The estate makes one feel welcome and the staff are absolutely gems! Huge smiles, lots of knowledge and very welcoming.
We learnt alot, had a laugh and walked out of there with 2 boxes of awesome mixed wine, bubbly and a winery membership!! Lol!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tasia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnew W, Manager at Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thanks for the lovely feedback Tasia15!

I am so glad you enjoyed your tasting experience at Audrey Wilkinson with both our wines and fabulous staff! The weekend was a beautiful example of the Valley in winter, and up here at Audrey it was just stunning! So glad you made it on a great day!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Cheers,
Dylan
dthompson@agnewwines.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    96
    26
    9
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
“Spectacular service, wines & views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great service, great wines, awesome scenery ! We were treated to a personal taster in the museum room & sampled lots of great wines.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cddouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnew W, Manager at Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks Cddouglas!

We like to think we have the best views in the Hunter, with service and wine to match! Its very good to hear that you had such a lovely time!

we look forward to welcoming you back!

Dylan
dthompson@agnewwines.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
423 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Stop here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

As most reviewers say, the views from cellar door are spectacular, and the people pouring the wine are friendly and helpful. Ross was great fun and talked us through all the wines we tasted. A great stop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnew W, Manager at Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thanks for the feedback Travelling Tex!

Its always lovely to hear about customers experiences! I am very glad to hear Ross looked after you! We look forward to welcoming you back!

All the best
Dylan
dthompson@agnewwines.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best views and delicious wines!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My partner and i visited Audrey Wilkinson for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and we were just blown away by the beautiful views! Our experience got even better once we went into Cellar Door to have a wine tasting. Janice assisted us with a tasting, she made us feel very welcome and she was very helpful and entertaining! Definitely recommend a visit to Audrey Wilkinson!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel6047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnew W, Manager at Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thanks for the Feedback Melissa!

We are very happy that you enjoyed the views and our fabulous wine! Janice is always looking after our customers, shes a hoot!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Dylan
dthompson@agnewwines.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ending with a flourish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We travelled to Hunter Valley without much experience and certainty of the best places to meet and was on the last day, after asking the recommendation of a good place to have a coffee, that we ended up stopping in this winery.

Bit out of the way and a tight dirt road, but do not let that take Audrey out of your route, for surely this was our most enjoyable experience.

The place is beautiful, on the hill with a breathtaking view. The wines are deliciou and the staff very kind, a hidden stop but mandatory!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GabriellaBorella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agnew W, Manager at Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the fabulous feedback GabriellaBorella!

I am very glad that you enjoyed both the wines and our lovely staff! We do believe we have the best view in the Hunter Valley and we are always happy to share it with our visitors!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Dylan
dthompson@agnewwines.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Audrey Wilkinson Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing