We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely breakfast for two, with some beautiful scenery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Cuvee

Restaurant Cuvee
Ranked #16 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Part of the vineyard Peterson's Champagne House
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely breakfast for two, with some beautiful scenery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

We arrived at Peterson's, after it was recommended to us by the staff at the information centre, without a reservation and were seated at the best table in the house. Overlooking the vineyard and mountains of the hunter valley. I ordered the champagne breakfast and it was delicious although my champagne arrived after I finished my meal. On paying the bill I received a complimentary bottle of champagne for the mix-up, which was a nice touch. A great way to start the day in the Hunter Valley! The chocolates were delicious too!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank taniaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    107
    35
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very very average on all fronts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I decided to have a nice lunch for NYE rather than dinner and chose Petersons thinking oysters, bubbles and a vineyard outlook would be a pleasant way to pass a couple of hours.

Our major problem was with our waitress who was gruff, lacked basic service skills and made little effort to get the details of our order right. For example, when we finished our glasses of "champagne," she said we could reuse them for our bottle of wine, rather than bring us clean wine glasses (instead of flutes). When she eventually brought clean glasses, she opened the wine and just poured it without even offering either of us a taste. Later, my request for some fresh lemon with my oysters and an extra fork for my husband was completely ignored. Similarly, the salad we have ordered to have with our mains was full of the walnuts we had explicitly requested to be omitted. Fortunately another waitress started her shift and she was fantastic in quickly sorting out our issues - I believe her name was Felicity.

The food too was very average, partiularly with regards to the the oysters (a supposed feature of the restaurant and oyster bar) which were incredibly dry and clearly not shucked that day. My scallops were ok, as were my husbands zucchini flowers, but his pork striploin was grey and tough. Of our six restaurant meals over the long weekend, this was the most disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank ten2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
919 reviews
593 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
“Great Food, Average Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

I ordered the tenderloin steak and my son the duck and both meals were first class. However, again, the service at Restaurant Cuvee leaves a lot to be desired. We wanted to leave for our wine tasting tour of the Hunter Valley but no amount of signalling seemed to attract our waitress. Eventually, we paid at the entrance as you do in a cafe. As soon as the place began to become busy, the wait staff seem to be overrun. There seems to be no maitre d' available to organise them. Beautiful food, though a little expensive at $100 for bread, two mains and two sides, no alcohol.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Improve your service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

We waited for an hour for our first thing to eat. Surely the bread and oil doesn't take much preparation. We had to get our own menus and asked for water three times. The food then came one course after another.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bidcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Champagne Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

The breakfast was amazing! The champagne to die for.... we will be back!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank RHONDA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Cuvee also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Cuvee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing