We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative, fun and jam-packed”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours
Ranked #9 of 100 Food & Drink in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Unique, luxury full or 1/2 day tours. 2- 14 guests only. By limiting our tours to max 14 guests we have access to small family-owned wineries that have excellent wines but do not take bigger groups. Pickup from Hunter Valley only in luxury vehicles. My wife's ancestors planted some of the first vines in the Hunter Valley in 1853 and just never left. We have looked after visitors to our region since 1998. In 2008 we added some tours to our business to the delight of many guests. We offer 5 different tours to choose from. Or we can tailor a tour to suit your needs. Our aim is to show our guests great food, great wine and have loads of fun. Educational, yet light-hearted. Our tours are unique, over time, we have build up trust with local chefs and (boutique) winemakers, who all offer a personalised experience. Because we only have a small number of guests on our tours we can be flexible and tailor our tours to suit you. We are the preferred tour partner for many accommodation places.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed February 7, 2017

We did a 1/2day wine tour on a Saturday morning and it was fantastic. It ticked all the boxes. Lovely driver, small group, generous wine tastings with knowledgeable hosts at boutique wineries, great variety in terms of choice of vineyards and wines on offer and to top it all off the tour ended with a cheeseplate and matching wines - heaven!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Lani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half day tour"
in 134 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 85 reviews
"wine and cheese"
in 64 reviews
"wine matching"
in 41 reviews
"hunter gatherers"
in 18 reviews
"great tour"
in 59 reviews
"progressive lunch"
in 11 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 17 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 25 reviews
"gourmet tour"
in 12 reviews
"different wineries"
in 23 reviews
"boutique wineries"
in 28 reviews
"great company"
in 13 reviews
"great cheese"
in 12 reviews
"these guys"
in 23 reviews
"my partner"
in 34 reviews
"small group"
in 13 reviews
Filter

603 - 607 of 1,772 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

Date of experience: February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

Quite disappointing. The tour itself didn't live up to the hype and review from all others I read up on it. The driver cum tour guide mumbled on the microphone and seemed disinterested in the group from start to finish. He didn't build up aby group dynamic which is essentially the role of a guide (that used to be my job).

The wineries visited were basically cellar door tastings. There wasn't an education or history behind the wine making process or the region, nor did they teach the basics of wine appreciation (what to look for, how to serve, etc.). You just came in and sampled different wines

You're better off hiring a designated driver for the day and go cellar hopping on your own since cellar door tastings are free anyway.

The scrumptious lunch set up was a medley of deli finds. So expect to be served a cold plate of lunch comprising: a cold slice of roast beef, a cold piece of roast chicken leg, pickled shallots, peppers and artichokes, grilled zucchini slices, a cherry tomato on a small bed of greens, 2 slithers if prosciutto, 2 slices of salami, and of course a slice of cheese. The whole group would share 2 bottles of wine between them.

In the end, it's your tour mates who will define the outcome of your tour since your tastebuds would have been botched by the 3rd tasting session anyway. We were fortunate enough to have an awesome group. I used to work as a tour operator myself, so I would know how crucial the tour guide and members plays a role in the whole experience.

I wouldn't hesitate spending more for a more luxurious provider if that would assure a more hospitable experience and less drop-off-bugger-off type of a tour.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank nikki g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2017

Despite it being a day of intense heat..44C.. we were chaffeured around in air con comfort which made each wine tasting a pleasure. Our guide Byran was an absolute gem, both with his humour and knowledge of the area. Our group included people from US, UK, India and Phillipines with me being the only Aussie! We were still enjoying each others company way after the tour finished, at 10 pm in the pool !Only suggestion I would make it to provide a lunch that caters to most tastes and a vegetarians. Most didn't like antipasto so another option should have been available. You really do need to eat sometime on an all day wine tasting tour)

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Graeme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017

Date of experience: January 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing