We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what it says on the box”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.98*
and up
Hunter Valley Gatherer's Full-Day Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 96 Food & Drink in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Unique, private luxury full or 1/2 day tours. 2- 10 guests only. By limiting our tours to max 10 guests we have access to small family-owned wineries that have excellent wines but do not take bigger groups. Pickup from Hunter Valley only in luxury Mercedes Benz vehicles. My wife's ancestors planted some of the first vines in the Hunter Valley in 1853 and just never left. We have looked after visitors to our region since 1998. In 2008 we added some tours to our business to the delight of many guests. We offer 2 different full day tours, our very popular 'Progressive winemakers Lunch tour' and 2 half day tour to choose from. Or we can tailor a tour to suit your needs. Our aim is to show our guests great food, great wine and have loads of fun. Educational, yet light-hearted. Our tours are unique, over time, we have build up trust with local chefs and (boutique) winemakers, who all offer a personalised experience. Because we only have a small number of guests on our tours we can be flexible and tailor our tours to suit you. We can also assist with your accommodation needs if needed.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exactly what it says on the box”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

2FB half day tour what spot on. Everything was slick, from the booking process on the website, the confirmation with the accommodation, on-time pick up, flexibility with the time spent out and about, selection of wineries, etc. John was very knowledgable of the area, the wines, the wine makers, and "read" our likes well and delivered us to interesting and quality places. Van was comfortable, considering it was over 30degC, and the final venue served outstanding cheese and terrine along with our wine tasting.
Overall, an excellent experience and would recommend to local or international visitors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    102
    34
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing mystery tour”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at Cypress lakes looking forward to our Mystery tour of 3 wineries. Our host was lovely and gave us information about our first winery which was just around the corner from where we were staying. But the next stop was a waste of time. They didn't have our booking and the guy serving us really didn't want to do it and we didn't get any special treatment. I can by broke wood anywhere is Sydney half the price. Then Our driver was not there to take to our next stop. After 15 minutes he turned up to take us to our next stop down the street which was nice. But we could have walked to all 3 wineries. Not much of mystery tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
20 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hvwino, Owner at Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the hospitality of your tour guide, the comfort of your transport and 2 of the 3 venues we visited and the cheese platter we served. Google maps show the distance between the first winery and the last winery you visited is 8.7 kilometers. You were joined by other people who stayed at different places in the Hunter Valley. We are conscious of maximising the times we spend at the wineries especially on the 1/2 day tours. Rather than spening a lot of time driving from one place to the next. We did have a booking at Brokenwood wines, unfortunately whoever made the booking for us wrote it down as a 1 pm arrival rather than the time we booked which was 11 am. I spoke to Brokenwood cellar door manager about the tasting and he passes on his sincere apologies and acknowleges that your experience was not up to their usual standard. We visit Brokenwood often and their level of service is usually very professional. The tasting usually takes 45 minutes with some time to give people the opportunity to purchase if they want. For some reason your tasting only lasted 30 minutes, which is highly unusual. Brokenwood Cricket Pitch range is widely available in retail land, but they have many wines you can taste only when you visit their cellar door. Your driver had gone across the road to Tempus Two to get a take-way coffee. As soon as your party contacted me to make me aware of this I contacted your driver who went straight back to pick you up. I apologise for this inconvenience. We take your feedback on board and learn from them Thank you again for bringing the issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
245 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic full day tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I did the full day hunter gatherer tour and it was fantastic! Small group of 6 in a very comfortable, air conditioned mini bus.
Nathan, our tour guide, was fantastic. Informative, funny and lots of information about the local area.
The wineries were great, food excellent and take-home cheese delicious! We were very very happy with the experience. Would definitely do it again.
Thanks Nathan and Jan for a wonderful birthday :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rcicala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Day Out!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were picked up at our accommodation by Nathan for a wonderful, educational and delicious day out! We did the Hunter Gatherer tour and were very impressed with the chosen wineries and food places we were taken to. Nathan was just so nice and he has lived in The Hunter nearly his whole life so he was full of local knowledge which we loved! We really felt well looked after at each of the different places we visited and we had a delicious lunch along the way at Peterson's winery with a spectacular view over the Valley. All in all it was a great day and ending it with a beer tasting was clever and strangely enough even quite refreshing. Lastly I would like to commend Nathan on his driving ability - his professionalism was impressive and we always felt extremely safe. Thank you for a great day out in the Hunter!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JaLa2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Hours with Ross the Boss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Four of us were lucky enough to be escorted for the day by Ross McGuigan on a private "Progressive Winemakers Tour". We all have struggled to think of a better value for money offering than this tour - every aspect of this tour was first class, from the luxury vehicle through to Ross's home-grown knowledge of the region... THANK YOU

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing