We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Professional”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$133.29*
and up
Hunter Valley Gatherer's Full-Day Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 97 Food & Drink in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Unique, private luxury full or 1/2 day tours. 2- 10 guests only. By limiting our tours to max 10 guests we have access to small family-owned wineries that have excellent wines but do not take bigger groups. Pickup from Hunter Valley only in luxury Mercedes Benz vehicles. My wife's ancestors planted some of the first vines in the Hunter Valley in 1853 and just never left. We have looked after visitors to our region since 1998. In 2008 we added some tours to our business to the delight of many guests. We offer 2 different full day tours, our very popular 'Progressive winemakers Lunch tour' and 2 half day tour to choose from. Or we can tailor a tour to suit your needs. Our aim is to show our guests great food, great wine and have loads of fun. Educational, yet light-hearted. Our tours are unique, over time, we have build up trust with local chefs and (boutique) winemakers, who all offer a personalised experience. Because we only have a small number of guests on our tours we can be flexible and tailor our tours to suit you. We can also assist with your accommodation needs if needed.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly and Professional”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

In January 2013, my husband and I took a Half Day Wine Tour with Two Fat Blokes and it was an awesome experience. It was only another couple (lovely couple, by the why -Mitch and Laura-) and us, so it felt like a private tour. We visited three boutique wineries of the region (Hunter Valley) and had access to delicious wine and local produce tastings. All topped off with the expert knowledge of Ross, our tour guide who was born in the region and has been involved with wine and wineries all his life, and with the professional and friendly staff who received us at each winery. We recommend this half day wine tour to anyone who wouldn't have too much time to take a full day excursion, but would still like to have a glimpse of the fine wines of Hunter Valley. Jan, the owner, will arrange the most suitable tour for you. (4/Jan/2013 - Jaime and Maria Maya).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MontsePdeMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,137
    115
    39
    14
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

What an enjoyable day we had. Our guide, Jan had put a huge effort into planning our progressive lunch which was worth every penny. Superb food, wine tasting and company. Cheers Jan (Two Fat Blokes)

Helpful?
1 Thank Sayward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“An outstanding day !”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The two of us joined two groups of 4 and Graham our host (or is it Gunner Lofty ?). From the moment we were picked up Graham had us all smiling & laughing with his humour. The choice of wineries was first rate and the lunch provided on our Hunters Gatherers Tour was excellent.

A fabulous way to see some outstanding scenery and taste some equally outstanding wines.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrPaul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic day out - Worth every penny!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently booked to go a full day Hunter Gatherer wine tour and had a great day out. The driver Graham was very knowledgeable about the area and a great bloke. We visited for interesting wineries and tasted some fantastic cheese. Free water provided throughout the trip and a great lunch over looking the vineyards at Petersons.

A very enjoyable day out, would recommend to anyone!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

It was only the two of us on a full-day wine tour - and it was fabulous! Super private. Great start to the day at Petersons - tasting a variety of sparkling wines, off to McWilliams to taste a million and one fantastic whites and reds with an added challenge to create your own masterpiece wine. Lunch at Esca Bimbadgen - which was very fresh and delicious. One more wine tasting after lunch with a special behind the scenes look to the process wine-making which was very informative and thorough - We even got to taste a wine still in the barrel. Finishing off the tour at tempus two to grab cheese supplies, chocolate and gifts for home. Grahame was a fantastic host entertaining us the whole time - thanks Two Fat Blokes Team, we will not hesitate to recommend you in the future, and cannot wait to bring our friends next time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing