We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could not have been better.”

Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.69*
and up
Hunter Valley Gatherer's Full-Day Food and Wine Tour
Ranked #1 of 96 Food & Drink in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Unique, private luxury full or 1/2 day tours. 2- 10 guests only. By limiting our tours to max 10 guests we have access to small family-owned wineries that have excellent wines but do not take bigger groups. Pickup from Hunter Valley only in luxury Mercedes Benz vehicles. My wife's ancestors planted some of the first vines in the Hunter Valley in 1853 and just never left. We have looked after visitors to our region since 1998. In 2008 we added some tours to our business to the delight of many guests. We offer 2 different full day tours, our very popular 'Progressive winemakers Lunch tour' and 2 half day tour to choose from. Or we can tailor a tour to suit your needs. Our aim is to show our guests great food, great wine and have loads of fun. Educational, yet light-hearted. Our tours are unique, over time, we have build up trust with local chefs and (boutique) winemakers, who all offer a personalised experience. Because we only have a small number of guests on our tours we can be flexible and tailor our tours to suit you. We can also assist with your accommodation needs if needed.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Could not have been better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Two fat blokes tours came highly recommended and we were not dissappointed. We did the full day wine tour and had an excellant time. All of the wineries we visited had their own fantastic qualities and a vibe that we believe you could not get from the bigger more commercial wineries! Jan was an amazing host and full of so much information that makes you feel that he loves his job and wants to spend the day with you. If we were to come back we will definately be booking a tour with two fat blokes, as they made our experience memorable and gave us the professional experience we expected of our day in the hunter valley!!!! Thanks Jan!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaraSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    102
    34
    12
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Gippsland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hunter needs to be seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a great day out with Two Fat Blokes as part of a larger group at the end of last month. Tasting some interesting Hunter Valley wines together with Olives and Binnorie cheese was a great experiance.Our guide, Grahame, had organised a Picnic Lunch at Petersons and was a great source of information on local produce and obiously had a wider knowledge of wines from time spent living and working in Europe.
Having been in the hospitality business in the past it was a pleasure to be looked after by such a professional set up who had thought through in detail what customers were looking for. It was a very pleasent day indeed. Thank you

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect day in Hunter Valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The tour was great, all the restaurants we visited were amazing! The food was exquisite and the wines, omg the winesssss!!! Wow! The tour minivan was great, even luxurious! We were really confortable, thanks to the a/c, cause that day was pretty hot! The tour guide was friendly, chatty, and knew what he was talking about! Thanks to the two fat blokes owner who welcomed us with a glass of sparkling wine,we had an extraordinary experience! We would recommand it to any foodies!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a great way to spend a Sunday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I had friends visiting from Brisbane and I wanted to show them what the Hunter Valley was all about. What a perfect way to do so with The Two Fat Blocks. Our tour guide Dan was a total laugh and right from the start we knew we were in for a great day. First stop Petersons Champagne House for a cheeky bubbles tasting, differently got the day started on a high note. We were well on our way by the time we stopped at Broken Wood for a tour of the Vineyard and Barrel shed. Time for lunch and Esca delivered with a tasty lunch and wines to match. Next Leogate for a very extensive wine tasting with their very friendly and informative staff. A few other stops along the way to sample chocolate and beer. Over all a wonderful day with friends and Dan our tour guide was great, so knowledgeable about the area and wine in general- Thank you Dan. I cannot recommend Two Fat Blocks enough. Money well spent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jasz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous day in wine country!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just enjoyed the best wine tour with Graham. We tasted some really good wines at Mistletoe, Calais and Petersons and some excellent cheeses at Binnorie followed by olives. After a delightful picnic lunch we indulged in a chocolate & wine matching session (yummo!) a choc tasting (more yummo!)before the brewery tour and yet more tasting. What a day! Big thanks to Graham for such a fabulous day out!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Toby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Two Fat Blokes Gourmet Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing