We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours

Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Balloon Aloft took to the skies for the first time back in 1980 becoming Australia’s very first hot air ballooning company. With over 30 years experience in providing the ultimate flight experience, Balloon Aloft has been recognised with numerous national, state and regional tourism awards including many Best Adventure Tourism Operator awards. A family run company, Balloon Aloft is dedicated to providing the very best ballooning adventure to each and every passenger.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“A great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a great experience with Balloon Aloft. The 1 hr flight was actually 1.2 hours and they took us up and down at various times to see various features more closely. It certainly wasn't boring but they were also very safety conscious. Excellent landing in 2-3 km/hr ground wind.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhalgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloon_Aloft, Public Relations Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your experience with Balloon Aloft. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your flight and hope you can fly with us again soon. Kind regards, Michelle Balloon Aloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    538
    28
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This Balloon Flight was the best thing ever, I booked it five months ago as a surprise for my wife for her Birthday and we did the flight on the actual day of her birthday. The morning was just perfect with not a cloud in the sky and the light of day just breaking through as we helped setup the balloon. As we started to lift off the ground the sun started to rise and the views from 500 feet were just amazing. Our Pilot Yosh was just great and not only explained all the ins and outs of Ballooning but also gave a fantastic guide of the countryside below. Our flight and perfect landing were just the best and to top it all off we completed the morning with a Champaign Breakfast at Petersons.

We would recommend Balloons Aloft as a great experience by a very professional crew

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
I am so pleased that we could help you pull off such a wonderful birthday surprise for your wife! Thank you for taking the time to post your review and recommend a Balloon Aloft Balloon Flight Adventure to others.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

My twin sister and I celebrated our Birthday with a Balloon Aloft flight over the Hunter Valley courtesy of my children. A magic experience. Our pilot and crew were magnificent. Three balloons went up which made it an unforgettable experience. We did not get a sunrise, however this enabled us to ascend to a greater height. We literally "stopped the traffic" as we glided low over the valley at one stage and people got our of their cars to watch. Magnificent scenery of vineyards, the airport with all the parked planes, horses and lots of kangaroos. The landing was very gentle. We laughed many times with the other passengers during the trip and afterwards as we helped with the balloon retrieval. The Champagne Breakfast at Peterson's Champagne House was delicious and very generous. The Chocolate Shop attached is also highly recommended Yum!! My husband, who does not fly, followed in the pursuit vehicle and joined us for breakfast. We highly recommend this experience to everyone. Congratulations to Balloon Aloft may you continue to fly high for many years to come. June Fava & Joan Bain

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Happy Birthday to you both! I am delighted that we could help you celebrate the special day. Thank you so much for recommending us to others and also for your kind wishes - we certainly hope to be offering sky high adventures for all for a very long time to come.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A must do - incredible way to spend a morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

This is the absolute best way too see the Hunter Valley! From our arrival at the meeting point to the landing and all throughout the flight the staff (Matt & Paul) were fun, friendly, knowledgable and professional (Paul takes the best photos too!). The scenery and flight itself was better than we ever imagined and finishing off with a glass of champagne and Breakfast was the perfect ending. 100% wowed, would recommend it to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank LB4JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your balloon flight with us. I am so pleased to hear that we were able to ‘wow’ you. Paul will be delighted with your compliments to is photography skills. We love Paul’s photos too – he’s certainly very talented.

Kind regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Balloon Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was absolutely awesome. Courtesy of my partners sisters for his 50th Birthday we experienced The Hunter Valley up high with Balloon Aloft. The experience is unforgettable and highly recommended. Our pilot - Yosh, was awesome as were the entire Balloon Aloft crew. Perfect day, perfect weather and perfect company. We made a weekend of our trip to The Hunter and went to a 'A Day on The Green' afterwards. This area has so much to offer. So much FUN! The champagne breakfast after the flight was delicious. Thank you so much Balloons Aloft! Cheers, Joe and Heidi.
P.S. I highly recommend the photos for purchase and the picture book you can personalise.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloon_Aloft, Manager at Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Joe and Heidi,

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your flight experience with Yosh and the team. It sounds like you had a terrific weekend all round. I’m glad we could help contribute to a great weekend away here in the Hunter.

Regards,

Peta
Balloon Aloft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Balloon Aloft Hunter Valley Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing