We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congratulations to the new owners”

Verandah Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 81 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2018

We have visited this restaurant several times before and wondered if there would be any changes. All was good and certainly no complaints. We took advantage of a Groupon offer and found it tremendous value. The set tapas menu was a satisfying combination of olives with sourdough, a very generous serve of calamari, vegetable lasagne, a mouth -watering portion of lamb belly and a glorious sticky date pudding. It was a quiet mid-week lunch but service was friendly and we were seated by the fire. Keep up the good work - we'll be back for more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Granville T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verandah B, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Hi Granville

Thank you for the kind review!! We always try to give our guests a unique dining experience and we are glad you enjoyed the groupon offer and look forward to seeing you back at the restaurant in the near future.

Kind Regards

Verandah Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 636 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

Amazing food selection.

Loved the venison gnocchi and the fondue Camembert. Friendly service. Great lunch spot.

Thank Mandols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verandah B, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Hi Mandols

Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Verandah.

Kind Regards

Verandah Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018 via mobile

We came here as a family for a groupon lunch and it was amazing . They also have a kids menu which was awesome for my two kids. The Groupon tapas menu was enough for both of us . The service was amazing and they even swapped a dish for me as well . A special shout out to Rob , his service was outstanding . We sat outside and enjoyed the view during our lunch . It’s definitely worth a trip

Thank 546sandyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verandah B, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Hi 546sandyp

Thank you for taking time to review the restaurant.

We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience as a family. We are always happy to try and accommodate any menu requests where possible.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Verandah.

Kind Regards

Verandah Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

We had a family lunch at Verandah over the June long weekend. When you go to lunch in the wine district you know it's not going to be cheap and I'm used to ridiculously priced wines and $40 small portion mains but the tapas tower at Verandah takes it to another level. There were four adults and seven children in our party. We spent $390 all up and left a little underwhelmed to be honest.

The tower reads very well on paper but it's no so impressive on arrival at the table. At $80 it lacks substance and, more importantly, any impact on the tastebuds.

I think offering croquettes is ambitious but if you don't get it right, it can look like Gran's bubble and squeak in a mildly better crumb mix and fried in a slightly better quality oil. Comfort food for sure and maybe better with three or four glasses of Pinot Gris under your belt but pub food at best and even then on the brekky menu?

The waygu sliders and prawn dish were excellent (including the accompanying noodles infused with coriander and lemon) and the kids loved the Churros at the end of the meal.

The young male staffer who looked after our table was great and the general vibe was OK but, at the end of the day, the food is the primary reason for visiting a restaurant and, with so many to choose from in the Pokolbin district, I think we'll try a few others before we got back to Verandah.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verandah B, Owner at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2018

Dear Steven

Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. We appreciate all feedback and take it on board. It is a pity you could not give this feedback to me in person when I asked about your experience on the day so we could have informed the kitchen.

I really feel that you can't gauge the vibe of a restaurant on an extreamly busy long weekend, however that is your opinion. With you only booking within an hour of dining with us we accommodated your large group at last minute, as we generally require groups to be on set menus or preorder to make the experience more enjoyable. Considering the 11 of you shared one tapas toweTVr (which is designed for 2) and a few tapas dishes plus beverages for the table I consider $35pp a reasonable price. There is always options to order more tapas or for the children to order a kids meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2018 via mobile

We decided to "splurge" and have a nice, expensive meal out while visiting the Hunter Valley. Reading the menu online, The Verandah sounded delicious. We ordered 4 dishes 3 of which were very average, cheap quality meat and poor flavor. We left hungry and feeling extremely ripped off. So disappointed as there arw so many others places to choose from that would have been better!

Thank k21stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verandah Restaurant also viewed

 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Verandah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing