We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verandah Restaurant

Verandah Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Must go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Went for lunch and everything was amazing,food and service.highly recommended.especially our waitress Sharon,thanks very much for our dining experience !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepone18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    125
    48
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views & fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved this restaurant! A real highlight. The views from the verandah were just magnificent - the vineyard on one side, rolling hills on the other.

The tapas style dining and service was great as well. I can definitely recommend the porcini mushroom, the chorizo, and the haloumi dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have dined, at lunchtime, twice at this restaurant. On the first occasion we managed to eat through the Tapas Tower. On the second occasion we ordered from the menu, and found this was a better option, as the Tower was mostly fried foods. In either case, the food is excellent. Service is thoroughlty professional. On our second visit our wait person apologised as she was mentoring a new waiter...a young gentleman who apperaed somewhat nervous, but all was handled in a professional mannar. The wine list is excellent, and we were allowed to purchase a few bottles from the cellar door, Calais Estate, which is at ground level, when we found the wines we wanted were not on the restaurant's list. How's that for service.This restaurant is not cheap, but it is definately good value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Service and Atmosphere. Will return.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to the Verandah on a friends recommendation and it was the best decision we made going there. Food was amazing, staff were knowledgable and ultra friendly without being overbearing. The restaurant itself was lovely, roomy and warm. We are already planning our next trip back to the Hunter Valley and will be booking a table at the Verandah again, and we will be bringing friends. Cost was very reasonable and cocktails were amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
247 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Terrific Tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon the Verandah Restaurant while taking the Lovedale Loop tour with the Yellow Brick GPS guide. Beautiful setting with views over the vines. Chose to have the Tapas Tower as it allowed us to sample a range of dishes...and we are so glad that we did! Each level of the tower was delicious and included haloumi, pork belly, chicken, calamari... and more! I had a glass of Callais Estate Semillon, my husband the Verdelho. Both complimented our lunch perfectly. Terrific tapas in a picturesque setting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 29plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Verandah Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Verandah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing