We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food, knowledgable staff & outstanding value”

Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Pokolbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World Class Delicatessen/ Cheese Shop offering a gourmands delight.We manufacture Gelato and Cheese. The Tempus two site also offers a licensed cafe serving food and alcoholic beverages. Come try the best pizza, burgers and coffee in town.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing food, knowledgable staff & outstanding value”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We had to wait as it opens at little late but is was worth every minute. The staff were friendly, helpful & knew their stuff. The big breakfast was outstanding & the sour dough fruit toast with Merlo coffee were yummy too. A huge variety of local produce including oils, bread, cheese of course & heaps of other great things to try. This place is a must visit & worth the hustle. & bustle feel - like an old school deli!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1122_Sarah_1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    88
    35
    19
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh... the choice”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Busy shop. Cheeses,accompaniments, quality kitchen utensils and gift ideas galore.
Can taste any of the cheeses you wish.
Helpful staff.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickieg1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my second time at the Smelly Cheese Shop. Most winery tours will stop here. The cheese is amazing, I always spend a small fortune every trip. This place is usually busy and I feel it would be beneficial if they increased the amount of staff. The staff is friendly, but they could be more knowledgable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Will definitely be back!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My family and I visited the store yesterday Sunday 3rd November and were looked after by "Loz" (as her name was printed on our receipt) Her cheese knowledge and confidence in the product made us spend a small fortune!! The Recommended Cheeses were great, the service and experience was even better and we're already gathering a group for our next order (you can order online). Can't wait for our next visit to try some hot food and Gelati!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Neat place with good food and samples”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Visited with a tour group of the Hunter Valley. Was a neat place with some really good food at a reasonable price as far as Australia goes. Gave some decent free cheese, bread and olive oil samples, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nhfox100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing