We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I did not purchase anything !” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food

Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food
Ranked #2 of 11 Shopping in Pokolbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: World Class Delicatessen/ Cheese Shop offering a gourmands delight.We manufacture Gelato and Cheese. The Tempus two site also offers a licensed cafe serving food and alcoholic beverages. Come try the best pizza, burgers and coffee in town.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I did not purchase anything !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very ordinary experience at the Tempus Two branch of this chain store of cheeses.
It took four questions before the sales person would tell me where the cheese arose - the cheese i was keen to taste was " made locally for us " she said. It seems that this firm doesn't actually make make cheese.
I went elsewhere to spend my money!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank win243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
hi win. thankyou for your review. as with most gourmet cheese stores. none of us go to the expense of setting up a cheese factory at millions of dollar costs. we unlike many other gourmet cheese stores do have quite a lot of our cheese made under license by cheese factories. but like the curnal we dont like to give away our recipe. etc. all ouf our branded cheeses are made under license. the rest we purchase either direct from the manufacturer or in the case of imported cheese, thru the importer or wholesaler. i am sorry you went elsewhere to spend your money. as our cheese is amazing. thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    85
    32
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Sad to say we didn't get to taste the 'great range of cheeses' reported by others here. Service was painstakingly slow - when when we finally managed to indicate to someone that we would like to try a few cheeses, we were brusquely told we needed to wait...some more. So we left. Our advice is not to bother with this one. Head over to Binnorie dairy for much better service, truly local cheese, and possibly the best marinated goats feta in the world. Yum!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
hi julie. i am sorry you had this experience, and yes we are a very busy tourist store in a very busy tourist destination. i can however tell you the store is not always teaming. you must have visited during a bus tour rush. yes binnorie is about one tenth of our floor space and can only fit about ten to fifteen people in the store before it to is jam packed. however it is on the outskirts and doesnt get the crowds we do in the middle of pokolbin. pity you didnt stay long enough to try our fettas etc. as all of our branded product is made under license from binnorie. oh well maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude rude rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have never in our life been made felt so unwelcome in a shop in our life. It was like a scene from pretty woman. It was the biggest hassle to try a piece of cheese and the lady was so rude.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Becker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gl0ryb0y, Owner at Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi
Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologise that you felt the lady serving you was rude. This is not how we want the customers to feel. We pride ourselves on our great service and the way you felt treated is unacceptable. If you could let us know, what day you visited, and which of our two stores it was, we will speak to the staff on for that day. One store is at Pokolbin Village and one store is at Tempus Two. Once again, we sincerely apologise and hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A vast range of amazing cheeses and other nibbles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great range of cheeses - the labna is amazing as are the bries. There is a huge variety of nibbles (crackers, deli items, etc) as well as oils/vinegars/dukkahs. There are very tasty gelatos and a mini chocolate shop. Try to avoid on weekends as it is out of control and staff seem to get a bit ruffled by this and can come across cranky. I have been on quieter weekdays and they are much nicer. There also seem to be a ton of passive aggressive signs that litter the store and its entrance. Maybe they are cheese nazis but they can be - great quality products.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank meikadalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Cheese selction good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Good selection of cheeses and other produce but gets busy,avoid if you dont like crowds ,service can be slow and they need to improve in this areas

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamarosaCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop - Hall of Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing