We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldfish Bar & Kitchen

Goldfish Bar & Kitchen
Reserve with
Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, Mediterranean, Australian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is located at one of the Hunter's most iconic winery complexes - Roche Estate, Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, Hunter Valley provides an international Pizza & food menu coupled with an exclusive beverage offering, including an award-winning cocktail list and new and old world wines.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our first meal in the Hunter Valley. It was a Tuesday evening and so was relatively quiet. We were seated quickly and although the selection was small, we both found something we liked. Meals came out and they weren't exactly generous for the $30 each price tag (for pasta). No parmesan or pepper was offered. The clanger came when a piece of plastic was discovered in a mouthful. An apology was made and a free dessert offered, so some recompense was made. But the dessert took forever to come out and came with the tiniest bit of cream, which was frankly another example of mean portitioning. It was also really cold and wasn't the friendliest atmosphere. Disapointing start to our trip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    162
    52
    29
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Impressive food in lovely surrounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had an impromptu lunch at Goldfish during a leisurely drive around the Pokolbin and Mount View vineyards, and were delighted to have such a lovely meal.

The gnocchi and roasted Brussels sprouts were delicious, and the barramundi was excellent. Great wine, great desserts.

Given that it was a very busy Saturday lunchtime during the school holidays in perfect weather, we had expected it to be difficult to get a table, let alone receive prompt service, but our misgivings were totally unfounded. The service was prompt and faultless and the wait staff friendly and helpful.

We will be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sweet Nothings & Singapore Slings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stopped in for a couple of drinks whilst celebrating our anniversary & my birthday. Decided to order some nibbles to quell the alcohol rush of the sublime cocktails. The scallops with pea puree & jamon crumble were just the ticket. Plump scallops, perfectly matched flavours and didn't they just go with champagne cocktails, the singapore sling, the corpse reviver and my personal favourite the sweet nothing served in a jar. Berry good tasting! - not too sweet & a perfect afternoon with immaculate service and a great old world atmosphere. Lots of other couples and family groups dining whilst we were there but we could have just been in our own little bubble in a booth at the side - perfect for an afternoon jaunt.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank megmeisterrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
395 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Shaky start, smooth ending.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Visited here one quiet sunday afternoon. After a slightly awkward beginning of not being acknowledged for a couple of minutes we were eventually seated for a late lunch.
The food was excellent especially the Arancini and the Pizza.
Will be back here again some day without question!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottiehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First time at Goldfish..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Goldfish on a Friday night. We were seated in the restaurant area. The service was friendly and quick. The ambience was beautiful with candlelit tables and trendy music. We ordered a special of Spanish meatballs and a margarita pizza which was to die for! Was not too pricey and had plenty of options with an extensive wine list. Will visit again!

Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldfish Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Goldfish Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing