We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top tapas”

Goldfish Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is located at one of the Hunter's most iconic winery complexes - Roche Estate, Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, Hunter Valley provides an international Pizza & food menu coupled with an exclusive beverage offering, including an award-winning cocktail list and new and old world wines.
Matarangi, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Top tapas”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

On a deserted chilly Sunday night, the Tempus Two complex in Pokolbin looks like a ghost town and Goldfish has the same décor as all the other restaurants...we didn't want to spend a fortune on food (which you clearly can in the heart of the Hunter) so, went in with some trepidation. Excellent staff were happy with our order of sharing a pork and pistachio terrine (delicious!) and a margharita pizza (very good). So - you can eat well in great surroundings for a reasonable cost in the Hunter...(go back to your hotel room to share the wine you bought that day!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwihilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    188
    58
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I love this place. The food, the staff, the view, the drinks. Its just a place to relax and enjoy and have a great weekend day.

I roll in at least once every time I come to the hunter. The guys really know their stuff and the food is beyond amazing. The pizzas are the best ever. I will definitely go back. If only to talk to the guys behind the bar...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grandmaaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have been here for birthdays, Saturday nights and lunch.

Pizza is amazing, interesting and different.

Wine list could do with improving but is very drinkable.

the lovely european mixologist is amazing in making cocktails. tell him what flavour, what alcohol what fruit and he will make an amazing cocktail for you.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ebony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
“Amazing !!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great food and cocktails,music know how to get the atmosphere going here. Went midweek so was a little quiet but would strongly recommend. The interior design on this place is so cool. Worth a visit just for that alone! You won't be disappointed..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micheal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

There is a new winter menu that is A-MA-ZING!!! The brussel sprouts side is a MUST to try - even if you don't like them usually - these are yummy - tossed in honey and truffle oil! I was lucky enough to try 2 dishes as we were sharing. The Oxtail dish was beautifully presented and really delicious! The gnocci was a winner too and the food going to other tables looked great - I want to go back and try the other dishes! Cocktails are amazing too - The best espresso martini I have ever had!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank popgoesthechampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldfish Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Goldfish Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing