We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible !”

Goldfish Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: $14 - $27
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Goldfish Bar & Kitchen is located at one of the Hunter's most iconic winery complexes - Roche Estate, Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, Hunter Valley provides an international Pizza & food menu coupled with an exclusive beverage offering, including an award-winning cocktail list and new and old world wines.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible !”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We waited over an hour for our food and were told several times that our food would take a further 10 minutes. When our food eventually arrived the waiter dropped a potion of our order on the floor and it wasn't until we realised that he confirmed he had done so and didn't not offer an apology. The food was fine and after pressing we were given additional food - but still no apology - sometimes that's a it takes

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldfishHV, General Manager at Goldfish Bar & Kitchen, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
First of all, thank you for taking time to offer us feedback on TripAdvisor. It is unfortunate to hear however that you did not receive the service you expected. I am still glad that you enjoyed the food.
We do take our feedback seriously and will discuss the areas you have pointed out to improve and better our standards and service levels.

I hope that when you visit us next time the service and food will impress you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    189
    58
    33
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good cockatils & service though a little pricey”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I had a few cocktails before dinner and were impressed with the range of cocktails and they were delicious, plus the service was really good. The only thing was the prices were a bit steep. We would defintely visit again though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the ultimate cocktail experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

looking for a break from the hunters extensive wine menu we stumbled across the goldfish cocktail longue at the tempus two winery.

first thing that caught our attention was the décor, a very gentlemans clubesque feel. Upon approaching the bar we were welcomed with a warm greeting from our bartender (with a smooth and exotic Hungarian accent) who then proceeded to talk with us about drinks, our day, where we are from and told us a bit about his past and experiences behind a bar. the cocktails he produced were to a high standard and were extremely enjoyable, so much so that we returned the next day for a lunch time nibble and drink.

both experiences were extremely enjoyable and the service was second to none and we left with a sense of fulfilment and would say a definitely must do, whether you are a fan of cocktails or just jazz, blues and funk music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jade g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Barmen with amazing accents and wonderful food. Have to try the smoked ham hock terrine and speck pizza. We had a very pleasant lunch despite the terrible weather, listening to the amazing accents and the excellent service made the day seem brighter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Little Spot”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent service...you don;t get that everywhere. The barman was outstanding. Great place to sit and relax.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldfish Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Goldfish Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing