We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the love?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Twin Trees Country Cottages
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where's the love?”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

In desperate need of some TLC. The grounds are awful! Before we'd even made it up the driveway we contemplated turning around - everything is either dead, overgrown, messy or just not looked after. The rooms themselves could also do with some tlc. I understand its 'county cottages', but that's no excuse to let it all be dated.

Being able to see right into the managers (messy) private areas - backyard, chicken coop, sheds etc was a bit unusual & shows how little care they take for their own things. It also makes you feel like you're being watched.

Hopefully the new owners (it's for sale), can give it the tlc it so desperately needs. Maybe then ill be back, but not beforehand.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helloadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived between school holidays and wound up with the entire place to ourselves. Our cottage had a small kitchen, a dining space with seating for four, a living room with flat-screen TV and two sofas, a bedroom with a sliding glass door looking out over the vineyard, and a bathroom with a shower (no tub).

The manager checked us in and was very accommodating. He helped us get on the wifi and was more than happy to suggest wineries to try. He also pointed out the family of kangaroos that were resting in the field near our cabin. We also met what I believe is the maintenance man / groundskeeper. He was very friendly and apologized for mowing near our cabin, which we replied didn't bother us as we're used to lawnmower noise and were heading out anyways.

Twin Trees proved a great jumping-off spot to explore the area. It's down a long gravel road and nestled in long rows of grapevines so it is very quiet and rural. City folks might prefer something with a hot tub but we loved the comfortable bed and having the place to ourselves. We had lunch on the wrap-around porch and got to see the kangaroos bounding through the vine rows.

Wonderful!

Room Tip: Cottage #6 has a deck with a great view of the vineyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSUJillyBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the lovely Twin Trees Cottages in the Hunter Valley a two hour freeway and counry drive north of Sydney. A perfect base to visit the magnificent Hunter Valley Wineries in NSW. Our cottage was fully self contained and very clean and tidy. Two bedrooms with ample space for many people. Quiet and serene setting with a large peacful balcony. Our cottage was more than 50 metres from the nearest cottage and was extremely private. There must be a hundred wineries and restaurants in the Hunter Valley most within a few kilometres of each other.

Room Tip: 11am winery tours available. Walking distance (within 1 kilometre) to 11 wineries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale-from-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived on a sweltering New Year's Day and took refuge in these well appointed cottages situated in the heart of the Pokolbin wine district. The pool was a welcome relief from the heat, although the cottages are so spread out (a plus) that we had to drive there! Peter supplied fresh farm eggs and other breakfast food and the cottages are close to many restaurants for other meals. On our early morning walk we spotted kangaroos around the property's dam before heading off for a day's wine tasting. The cottages have a restful ambience with tasteful prints and comfortable lounges. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideMacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently got married at Roberts in April and had many guests coming from overseas who required clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation within walking distance to the venue. Luckily we were able to hire out all of the Twin Trees cottages for the wedding weekend. Cathy and Peter were very helpful throughout the lead up and throughout our event, going out of their way to ensure our wedding and next day BBQ was smooth and hassle free.

Twin Trees has 10 cottages of different sizes on their large property (2 x 1 bedroom and 8 x 2 bedroom). Most of the 2 bedroom cottages have sofa beds so friends or families can share. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen which was great for our guests so they could spend time relaxing in their cottage instead of going out to eat for every meal (which can be costly in Hunter). If you are lucky, you may even spot a wallaby or two in the gardens to give your overseas guests a "true" Australian experience. We received many positive comments from our guests about how much they enjoyed staying at the cottages and would therefore highly recommend Twin Trees to anyone.

Thank you Cathy and Peter!

Best regards,
Charmaine & Gavin

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharmSoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We booked lunch at Roberts and was looking around for accommodation for the night (sat). We kept driving down past Roberts Restaurant to find Twin Trees Cottages. Met with a smile, we were shown cottage 1 and were pleased to pay $175 with breaky. Peter the owner built this place up from a 50acre paddock which now consists of Ten cottages positioned in pairs which are distanced around to give you a great sense of privacy. We loved the location of the property as it was so close to all the popular wineries and restaurants. The cottages where very clean and had everything we would want from, heating, extra bedding, fully equipped kitchen, music, flat screen TV & DVD, lounge room, dining table, toilet and bathroom, 2 bedrooms, one with queen size bed and the other with two singles.The decour of the cottages is very 90's so don't be expected a contemporary villa. Had a lovely verander to sit and have a drink or two. The breaky came in a basket with 4 eggs, a loaf of bread, two poppers, 2 fruit cups, packets of jams etc, cereals and 1 litre of milk. Had plunger coffee in the cottage. Compare Twin Trees Cottages to other hotels that charge $300 plus and I think you will be very happy to stay here for what you get and its location. Twin Trees satisfied all our needs, thanks Peter for putting us up for the night.

Room Tip: I think the cottages have been built over the past 10-15 yrs and may correspond with the age of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently booked out all the cabins at Twin Trees for our wedding at Roberts over the Easter weekend - potentially a logisitical nightmare organising 50 people into 10 cottages - and it certainly was no breaze - but with the incredible help and flexibility of Peter and Cathy at Twin Trees, we pulled it off and had an absolutely AWESOME weekend where we could BBQ and brunch with all our besties. Although the cottage pricing is a bit steep for basic cottage accommodation, the added value offered throughout our weekend was invaluable and was totally above and beyond expectation - from buying additional sofa beds to accommodate all our guests, ordering and setting up a karaoke machine free of charge for us to have some hen night fun, preparing fresh free brekkie baskets daily, lending tools & trailers, making calls to help with planning, collecting ice cream and delivering it to each of our guests cottages and (the wedding night cherry on top) arranging fresh rose petals in a heart-shape on our bed - the service at this cosy Hunter Valley retreat is second to none I've ever experienced and we'll never forget our awesome wedding weekend - it could never have been possible without the extraordinary enthusiasm of Twin Trees and, in particular, the site manager Cathy who couldn't have been more kind, helpful and smiley for the weeks leading to the wedding as well as on the weekend - what a star!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flower p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.9 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Trees Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Trees Country Cottages

Property: Twin Trees Country Cottages
Address: 111 Halls Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Twin Trees Country Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Twin Trees Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twin Trees Country Cottages Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing