We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price good location”
Review of Villa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Provence
Ranked #7 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed one night at villa Provence. Room was comfortable, warm and clean. We got a great price for the room on last minute.con.au. Each night had one discounted rate. When in Polkobin you must go to "Taste of the Country" near Hunter Valley Gardens for breakfast. Fabulous breakfast, can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our third trip to Villa Provence, we love it. The location, the views, the big rooms and the friendly staff all make for a perfect stay

Not sure why other people have complained about not getting breakfast, they offer a number of packages, some with and some without it. We always go for the champagne and chocolates deal then start our day at one of our favourite breakfasts spots either Cafe Enzo an Petersons Champagne House.

The manager is great she always goes out of her way to make our stay special. She's not always in reception but can be found cleaning rooms or working in the garden or in her house right next to reception. One quick phone call and she's always right with us if we need her. On our last trip (my wife's birthday) she drove to maitland to get flowers for my wife (the local florist was closed) and organised the most perfect fireside dinner. She even drove us back to the restaurant the next morning to get our car (we caught a taxi back as we drank more than we planned). We even saw her jump starting someones car - so I don't know how you could say the service is lacking!

We will Definately be back, the price is great compared to so many other hunter valley hotels, the views and ambience are perfect - we live the fuzzy chops and sheep, it's just perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This was likely once the very height of a Hunter B&B experience. Now just "B" (not sure what happened to the "breakfast delivered to our room" promised on our very well priced Internet "deal"), it is tired and worn, with decor reminiscent of 70's roadside motels. Having said this, it was warm, clean (no spiders spotted in our room) and comfortable enough. Little things - Sparkling wine from Peterson's, Lindt chocolates, plunger coffee in-room, L'Occitane bathroom products, free wi-fi Internet access - all meant however that the stay was made a little "special".

With a location in the very heart of things we would go back! It is a very acceptable bolt-hole when the primary purpose of a visit to the Hunter is to be out-and-about sampling all that is on offer in food and wine.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Villa Provence has a beautiful setting, and our suite was very comfortable. We arrived after dark and found a note at reception advising us which suite was ours and when I couldn't find it in the dark & had to phone for help, a pleasant gentleman arrived within a minute and showed us to our suite. My only beef is that the advertised "kitchenette" is nothing more than a microwave, bar fridge, and crockery and cutlery. Usually a kitchenette contains some pots and pans and at least a couple of hotplates. This was a problem for us - the kids and I have food intolerances that make it difficult for us to eat out, so we always book somewhere with self-catering facilities. The website should be more specific about what they mean by a kitchenette - it's a bit misleading.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This place should be good, but the management is appalling, spoiling what could be a good place to stay. On arrival, there was no one to be found and despite a sign saying to ring a bell, there was no bell. After waiting some time to check in, along with another couple who turned up, a guest who was already there found there was a key for us in a box. However then we couldn't find the room we were supposed to be in, so we wandered around all the rooms, with our luggage, then up the stairs till we found the room called 'Champagne'. The room was quite good, with a bedroom, lounge and kitchenette, but there were three of us and the third bed was not made up and there were only two cups. There was only a drip machine for coffee in the room, but there was an excellent Jura coffee machine available in the reception room. However the manager didn't keep it maintained and there was no milk in the machine and the dregs needed emptying, so it didn't work. The manager was seen occasionally wandering around barefoot, but didn't seem to do anything.
There were ducks, geese and sheep wandering around, and there was a pool and a lake, but one of the sheep was very aggressive, chasing and trying to butt one of us. Scarey! The next morning as we were leaving there were other guests complaining at reception that they had had no breakfast left in their room, although we had cereal, yoghurt and coffee.
The management needs a good shake up here. If someone prepared the rooms for the guests and checked them in and showed them to their room, then it would be worth staying there, but I can't recommend them with the current management.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Such a beautiful place set amongst the vineyards...but also a little different..and strange
We booked a two night stay midweek and on arrival no one was in attendance in reception at 3pm in the afternoon ..but a sign with our name on it telling us what room we were in and where to find the key..the note also told us what to do with the key on departure ..Hmm..okay we thought.
Our room was excellent with balcony over looking the vineyard and as evening started to fall we could see kangaroos bounding round on the grounds..
Thoughout the afternoon and the next morning ..ducks ...chickens..sheep roamed the grounds providing a wonderful relaxed feeling..
A chilled bottle of wine and choclates in our room on arrival..
The room was of good quality with a large sitting area with modern LCD TV ..kitchette with microwave ..plates etc...very modern bathroom ..and a nice comfy bed with three pillows each
Very well located we dined down at SSS BBQ in Cessnock that first night ...wine tour the next day ..dinner that night at Blaxlands Inn ..who provided a free transfer there and back ..the next morning breakfast in our room ..( not supplied) and then back home...as mentioned ..different and a bit strange ..in so far as the entire time we were there we saw NO ONE from the establishment and others we had spoken to during our stay ...and some had been there for 3..4 days also had not seen anyone from the property
we found our stay very enjoyable and would stay there again

Room Tip: ask for one of the upstair rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank roostown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We were given a 2 night mid week stay as a gift, we paid the extra to stay Friday/Saturday nights.
The location was lovely, the rooms are clean but very tired and cheaply decorated, we found the mattress and pillows to be of poor quality and were uncomfortable, the smoke alarm is positioned above the bed, hence the little green light feels like a spotlight at 1am!! There was no offer of another room when the male person (don't know his named as he never provided it or even made eye contact) asked us why we were leaving. The words GUESTHOUSE on the gate should have been an indication of the standard of the accommodation, how they gained a 4 star rating is beyond me??? Funny that 2 of the recent reviews seem to be word for word the same??

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.5 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
3.1 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Provence

Address: 132 Gillards Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $197 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enchanting Villa Provence offers a little bit of Gallic magic in the heart of the Hunter Valley. Overlooking 20 acres of vineyards and rolling hills, the classic Provencial-style villa could just as easily be located in the South of France. After 7 month renovation, Villa Provence now consists of ten exquisite French style luxury suites set in lovingly tended lawns and 4 different themed gardens and each with stunning views. Your every comfort has been considered and we hope that each suite embodies your idea of enjoyment. Each room is equipped with a queen size bedroom with seating area, spacious lounge area with French doors opening onto the terrace, TV, kitchenette and air conditioning. All standard room rates include 2 your own choice breakfast at nearby Peterson House & Cuvee Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Provence Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing