We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You for a Wonderful Two Nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Provence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Provence
Ranked #7 of 9 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Mortdale
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Thank You for a Wonderful Two Nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

It was a friend's 50th birthday, and all she wanted was to go to Hunter Valley. I saw this internet deal for Villa Provence and 7 couples bought the deal to celebrate our friend's 50th. I was quite nervous not knowing what this place was going to be. Read the review on trip advicer that some very disgruntled person had put on and got even more scared.
However, from the moment we got there everything was so great. The room was very clean & comfortable. It had a room plus a separate lounge, sitting are for each of their rooms. A very nice pool, nice country setting that was close to most places. The supplies for breakfast was quite adequate for a couple. Fresh bread was given each morning. All 14 people had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants an affordable getaway.

Room Tip: We had a room upstairs which had a great view from both the balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaMortdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
125
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Clean, roomy and comfortable with adequate breakfast provisions in room. Not everything was renewed for second morning's breakfast (especially toast and sugar) but still OK. For a group an indoor lounge area /dining room would have been good for sociallising when weather less than perfect. Upstairs rooms have lovely views and probably quieter although walls could be more soundproof. Overall a fairly quiet and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nannaandgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Villa Provence was great! Staff weren't always about as others have mentioned, but one phone call to the number they left and they were at your door in 2 minutes.

They organised our wine tour, told us about the best spots to go - Scarborough was a really great vineyard they sent us to. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on as well.

Rooms were spacious with great views, a little old, but had huge flat screen TV and yummy free stuff like Tim Tams, real coffee, cereals, juices and stuff.

Grounds are beautiful, cute chooks walking around - and they gave us some free eggs to take home when we asked!

Will definately be coming back, had a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We actually bought a 2-day mid-week package so got a good deal for Villa Provence. But looking through some of the reviews we wondered if we had bought a lemon. Only one way to find out.

We arrived mid afternoon at the Villa Provence, which is set amongst the vineyards and looks a little out of place on the edge of the Australian bush but it looked pleasant enough. Although there was no one in Reception there was a printed sheet with our name and details of our room and other information.

The single room with en-suite was clean, roomy and perfectly adequate for our 2-day stay. A balcony with views over the vineyards was a bonus and a basket with breakfast goodies and fresh milk and yoghurt in the fridge ensured we'd be adequately looked after.

A roomy en-suite was spotlessly clean and had the usual extras like shampoo, body wash etc.

We looked for the spiders mentioned elsewhere but a lone Daddy-Long-Legs high up on the ceiling didn't seem too threatening. The pillows, three each no less, were great and the queen-size bed firm and comfortable. The decor in the room is indeed very French and everything from the TV and DVD player to the jug worked as expected.

After 2 nights and 3 days we didn't see anyone from management but that wasn't a problem for us. Our package had been pre-paid and on check-out we dropped the keys in the box provided and were on our way.

Overall we can thoroughly recommend Villa Provence. It was clean, functional and perfectly adequate for a pleasant stay in a beautiful part of Australia. Frankly we couldn't see why anyone would complain. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustOneThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

From the outside, Villa Provence appears cosy and peaceful but our visit went downhill from the start. On arrival, the door to our room and Reception doors were all open meaning our room was freezing. Not an ideal start for a winter escape. We were also welcomed by a number of spiders holed up in the corners of the room.

While our room appeared to be cleanish, the bathroom was far from acceptable with hair and mould spotted around the edges, and bugs and dirt on the windowsill. On both mornings of our stay, we endured lukewarm showers. With only 9 rooms, I wouldn't have expected this to be a problem. We were also woken each morning by noise from other rooms and outside.

After enjoying some wine tasting, we returned to our room to enjoy a bottle on the balcony but our little ketchenette only offered one wine glass. Reception was constantly empty and we were unable to find anyone to help. Some people may like the low amount of intrusion but when help is needed we were left unsatisfied. Our booking also promised yoghurts and freshly sliced fruit but these did not appear.

With the amount of accommodation in the Hunter, Villa Provence is way under par for the area with all these little things adding up to an unhappy stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WineKila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
166 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed for three nights in May. We have stayed there previously when it was ran by other people. The rooms are nice and overlook Honeytree Vineyards. The rooms have everything you need. The only fault I had was I thought the managers were a bit too laid back. When we checked out it was a quick thanks without asking how our stay was. Its only a small thing but will likely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Arrived with a friend and found there was only one double bed in the room we had booked, making a rather uncomfortable night. The next nights we had a suite, but the second bed was a pullout couch that was not really that comfortable and took up much of the second room. Otherwise staff were friendly, the breakfast food left in the room was generous, the views and the kangaroos grazing in the field each evening were wonderful, and the location was convenient with a car.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheninromeok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
3.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.1 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 9 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.3 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Provence

Property: Villa Provence
Address: 15 Gillards Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Provence Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing