We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nine courses and all brilliant”
Review of Nine - CLOSED

Nine
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Nine courses and all brilliant”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is a review of the food served at Nine, however, we actually had our private dining table for two set in the library which was just wonderful

The nine-course degustation menu was wonderful; my husband had the seasonal option whilst I had the vegetarian option and both were amazing. The matched wines worked for both of us for every course, the dry-ice presentation of the dessert was fun as was the cheese parer and the 'swirling red wine' presentation from the huge decanter. Highly recommended.

To make your visit here even more special, stay at the Tower Lodge and complete your evening with a nightcap in the bar and a short walk to your room!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did not live upto expectations - very good but we expected alot more”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We attended with a group of friends for my Birthday. We had read all the reviews and had very high expectations. The service was good and the wine was good although the food did not live upto expectaions, it was great quality but not oustanding. We have eaten at many of the hatted restaurants around Aust and the world and although the qulaity was good the quantity was extremly minimal. The atmosphere was a bit to be desired also as it is such a small place. It was a great experience but did not compare to Tetsuyas or other restaurants of that category.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant brilliant brilliant.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

In our family when food is beyond compare we take heart from an old teen movie and say 'nom nom nom'.

That's all I've got to say here,' nom nom nom'. The food, the wine matching( well worth the $70pp). Go spend, and enjoy, you will not be disappointed .

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robbiemoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Pretentious and expensive”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Great food and wine, yet the service and the overall treatment is disssatisfactory. Unless you arrive in a Bentley and have prebooked the roooms at $600 full rate, don't expect the manager Elizabeth to be nice to you as you will not be a "discerning client". Won't try Tower again, instead went to Robert's just down the road - better ambiance and much friendlier staff.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gregnazvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just what the food critics said.... Brilliant”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We dined at Nine last month and can say that all the great reviews written about Nine are so right. We first thought after reading all the other reviews, they cant all be true... Well... beleive them all. This is one of the best restaurants we have ever dined at, it's very intimate and cosy with a fantastic location and menu. You have to try it.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nine also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing