We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but no care factor!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beltana Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beltana Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great views but no care factor!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently stayed at Beltana for 4 nights, the villas are new and clean but I agree with most of the other reviews about it being done on the cheap and spartan.With the prices they charge they could do with a few finishing touches. Some of the reviews date back to 2010 complaining about little things such as toiletries, breakfast hamper etc the fact that they have done nothing to improve on this shows me that there is not a lot of care factor! I would like to add to that maybe a DVD player would not go astray, you can pick one up for around $20 maybe some rugs in winter as it was freezing and the only heating supplied is reverse cond.the cooking utensils are barely enough to cook a plate of pasta for 2 and for some unknown reason they supply 3 of everything ie bowls, wine glasses etc 4 would have made a little more sense. On a positive note it is very peaceful and on a beautiful property lots of potential sometimes it's the little things that matter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricsta61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

We booked a three nights for two special and have just enjoyed a great long weekend in the Hunter Valley, staying at the Beltana Villas. We're glad that we took the time to review the comments on Trip Adviser first as we were prepared for the stark lighting, lack of toiletries and lack of breakfast; we brought it all with us...... a small lamp, some candles, warm blanket.... made it very cosy! The kitchen was well enough equipped for our long weekend, although it was just breakfast, cheese & biscuits and then hot chocolate we were making in the villa (taking advantage of all the great eating choices in the Valley).

The villa was still feeling very fresh and new, the place was spotlessly clean and the bedroom, bed and bedding all very comfortable. Nice and quiet, great views, easy to find. We were happy with the arrangements in terms of pin code access and no reception; no need for a reception when it is self catering.

We will certainly stay there again and recommend them to others!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxxRandCxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Beltana Villas for two nights. The villa was new, very clean and had a great outlook onto a small dam and vineyards. The layout of the villas is also well thoughtout, so that every villa feels very private However, I agree with the other reviewers that some of the smaller things let the place down and made it feel a little clinical. If I could suggest just a couple of changes - please replace the hospital white fluro lights with warmer lighting, and perhaps include a small breakfast hamper (given the price for the weekend). Otherwise, this is a very good option for couples looking for a no fuss, quiet place in the hunter.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Intrepid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed over a weekend at the end of the July 2011 school holidays. I agree with all of the other comments here. The 1 bedroom villa was very clean but very clinical. Fluorescent lighting added to this feel and we lamented all weekend about the lack of coziness, which is what we hoped for a mid winter getaway. The tiny 2 seater lounge is very uncomfortable and we ended up just going to bed rather than enduring squishy TV viewing over some wine. This place would be lovely with some little additions. A rug, some soft lighting lamps, and yes, some toiletries. There was not even a cake of soap. Luckily I had bought some beautiful soap at one of the shops otherwise we would have had to use the liquid soap in the bathroom. I agree that a simple breakfast hamper would be lovely. All in all, we loved the Hunter but it was not a place I would want to do anything in but sleep. Shame really.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carls73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed as 2 couples for the Sting concert. As a regular visitor to the Valley I normally have my favorite places to stay, but our friends had booked Beltana so we were happy to check out another property in the Valley. The 2 bedroom villa we stayed in was modern and spacious, but I have to agree with most of the previous reviews regarding lack of the little extras that should be expected, not just in the HV, but in any similar style of accommodation. Thank goodness for the air con as there was a heat wave over this weekend.

No toiletries and no breakfast provisions is letting this venue down badly - especially when you consider the available options in the very near vicinity, let alone the wider Valley. I personally do not like the pin code check in (what to do if you forget it / lose it?????), but could see why others may like it.

Location is quite idyllic and very picturesque - quiet as well. Grounds are lovely and rolling hills very beautiful and relaxing to look at. Overall it was pleasant enough, but I just didn't feel the loving that you should for a weekend away in the Hunter.

Room Tip: Defintely do some research for the best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here in April and we were extremely disappointed. Our room was very clinical, no warmth or ambiance....NOT like the rooms we saw pictured on their web site, nor was our view like what was outlined. The pillows were the worst we have ever experienced and we ended up with very sore necks; we also had no sham, cond, or soap ....no brekkie provisions and for the rates charged we are convinced we could have got a much better deal elsewhere ...... The map we were provided with when we booked did not give clear instructions on how to find villas and when arriving in the dark it was impossible to find. We would not recommend - this is lucky to be 3 stars overall

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripSA5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Beltana Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2016
This may be strange to respond to a five year old post but for accuracy I will respond for future guests. When considering the purchase of Beltana villas ,our Real estate agent did describe the villas as cold and clinical and we could also see that when we inspected. We felt the improvements were easily done and we have continued since purchase to improve our Guests experience. Every Villa has been fitted with a log fire, new toppers to the beds, new bed pillows twice, new bed decor, new blankets, new art (not finished yet) new room decor,new sofas (also not finished yet) Sukin bathroom products, nice coffee , tea selection including herbal tea for days when too much wine enjoyed. We also meet our guests - pin codes no longer used, we also encourage guests to call us if anything is required as we live on the property. We are in the process of obtaining our Liquor licence so wine can be left in the room. Cheese platters and breakfast baskets are also in the future. We are enjoying our new business and get a big kick out of the wow moment when we take our guests to their Villa. I hope that will assist future guests in addressing these comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Think seaside crib crossed with public hospital and you have it. The only saving grace was the view of rolling hills punctuated by vines and stands of gum trees. Clean, tidy and quietly positioned it's true. But if you are looking for an environment of warmth and character, stay clear.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
2.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
4.7 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 40 in Pokolbin
143 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#4 of 40 in Pokolbin
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltana Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltana Villas

Property: Beltana Villas
Address: 186 Old North Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beltana Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beltana Villas Pokolbin has one and two bed self contained villas with ensuites and air conditioning. Comfortable living areas with seperate bedrooms. All our Villas are equipped with cosy woodfires and beautiful views of the local bush, mountains, dams and vineyards. Located a short drive from the heart of the Hunter Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beltana Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beltana Villas Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing