We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot for pre-wedding group dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woolshed Hill Estate
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice spot for pre-wedding group dinner!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were looking for accommodation for our wedding party to stay (start looking early if planning an October wedding in the Hunter!) - we had 10 guests in the large house and the owners were okay with us having the rest of our wedding guests (extra 10 people) around for a BBQ the night before the wedding. We had use of the BBQ area and a large covered outdoor patio overlooking the dam.
The facility served us well - enough rooms and space for everyone, golf for the boys on the morning of the wedding (with a bag of Leftie golf clubs provided by the facility), fully stocked kitchen with enough cutlery/ plates/serving platters for 20.
Only negative about the place was one of the ensuite bedrooms was right between the two main living areas - we felt if might be a bit noisy at times for our guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowschoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so glad that you had a great time at Woolshed Hill. We look forward to seeing you back here soon for a reunion!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a weekend away with a large group of friends (14ppl) staying in the executive residence, apartment and the cottage. The host (Andrew) was very helpful with the initial organisation and took us all on a whole day winery tour on the Saturday - which was great fun. The executive residence had plenty of living space for us to all socialise together in the evenings - but we split up into the 3 different places to sleep. The apartment is attached to the executive residence but the cottage was a walk away (close to the homestead which was being used by other guests). We made use of the tennis courts and the golf course. The only problem we had was that the people sleeping out in the cottage felt a little isolated. But, as I mentioned we spent most of our time in the executive residence anyway.
Thanks so much to Andrew - we all had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMcAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I am so glad you had a great weekend and thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to take you all out on the vineyard tour! Looking forward to seeing you back at Woolshed Hill again soon =))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We celebrated our wedding at Woolshed Hill Estate and rented the whole estate for 4 nights. Our guests really enjoyed staying at this beautiful estate and took advantage of the tennis court and golf course. Andrew was extremely helpful recommending a chef and a florist and made sure our wedding day was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyPokolbin, Owner at Woolshed Hill Estate, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we wish you all the best for a wonderful life together. We also hope to see you all come back soon for a 'reunion'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We spent two nights at the Apartment on this estate. The two en suite bedrooms with a large comfy lounge between them were ideal for two couples travelling together. The emphasis is on comfort rather than style. The estate is close to a number of wineries and restaurants, but not close enough to walk. The host provides a range of well-priced local wines in case you arrive empty handed. The grounds are beautiful for an early morning or late afternoon stroll.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caf92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed in a two-bedroom cottage for just one night., and were greeted and looked after well by the host. The cottage is adjacted to a much larger apartment which was empty, so we enjoyed a very tranquil evening. The room was very clean and comfortable, there were plenty of towels, dark curtains for a sleep-in, and enough room for 2 people, but probably not for 4. Outside, we enjoyed the covered area and deck chairs, overlooking the cleared grass area and forest, with plenty of grazing galahs and some nice birdlife to observe - could even do a pleasant 30 min walk around the perimeter, past dams, forest, and an extensive range of fruit trees.

The only surprise was the lack of a kitchen - bbq and washing up area outside, and one electric hot plate inside: fine for a night, but I would find it inconvenient for any longer. So it was more like motel facilities than a self-contained cottage.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLouY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.8 mi away
Silverpoint
Silverpoint
#27 of 40 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#4 of 40 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.9 mi away
Thalgara Estate
Thalgara Estate
#22 of 40 in Pokolbin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Casuarina Motel Suites
Casuarina Motel Suites
#30 of 40 in Pokolbin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Mercure The Vintage Accor Vacation Club Apartments
3.2 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolshed Hill Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolshed Hill Estate

Property: Woolshed Hill Estate
Address: 342 Deasys Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolshed Hill Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woolshed Hill Estate is a unique Hunter Valley Estate ideally suited to small through to large groups of all kinds. The Estate consists of three (3)) self contained country style houses where groups of all sizes and ranges from family, friends, weddings and corporate can enjoy. The Estate is available in three (3) configurations in the following manner - The comfortable, yet large, six (6) bedroom 'Homestead' that's coupled with nearby cosy 2 bedroom 'Cottage' affording the perfect setting for family and group getaways and wedding parties. Second option is the beautiful country charm of the 'Residence' with its four (4) ensuite bedrooms with its amazing cathedral style open lounge room affording you that truly relaxing country getaway. The last, and quite popular option is too book the entire Estate for that unique getaway for to 32 people. Woolshed Hill is perfectly located in the centre of Pokolbin, and offers bookings the opportunity for a round of Golf on private course, Tennis on an all weather court, a dip in the Pool and most importantly so many options of the Kids including an amazing cubby house set with all the options. Get set to cook up a storm on BBQ's while enjoying the beautifully maintained gardens and tranquility. Plan that reunion, wedding or just wine country getaway at the Hunter Valley's favourite family (kids) friendly estate. Woolshed Hill Estate - awarded the LUX 2015 - Best Boutique Hotel (Hunter Valley) in the prestigious Lux Hotel and Spa awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woolshed Hill Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolshed Hill Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing