We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most fantastic stay in the Hunter Valley”
Review of Pokolbin Cabins

Pokolbin Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pokolbin Cabins
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most fantastic stay in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We booked a whole bunch of cabins here for our wedding last year and we (& our guests) were so impressed that I decided to come back with my family for our 1st year wedding anniversary. The cabins are set in a peaceful large grounds...cabins are spaced out enough to not interfere with each other...
The cabins have a log fire place, BBQ and all amaneties you desire. There is also a tennis court and a swimming pool. The owners Jane and Cole are superbly friendly and will go above and beyond for their guests....from making you feel at home to offering her baby sitting services. The location is very central...close to most of the main attractions....I can't imagine staying anywhere else and I already can not wait to come back! Brilliant place to bring your whole family or a group of friends! I can not recommended this place highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aniak81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    9
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We spent a lovely week in a 3-bedroom cabin in July. Just the 2 of us and Gladys our dog. We had been looking for a place which was dog friendly and this was just fantastic. Very peaceful with lots of space around each cabin. The wood stove kept us wonderfully warm at night - plenty of logs supplied. We had everything we needed (though glad we took our own coffee plunger!). Colin and Jane were around if needed but were never obstrusive. We could sit on the veranda in the morning and watch the kangaroos. Even when Gladys decided to go for a walk on her own the last evening and was found by Jane, she was brought back with a smile (she snook off while we were chatting!). George left some clothes behind and Jane posted them back to us. The only downside (which is Hunter Valley and not the cabins) was the lack of countryside walks due to the private land - but we were able to walk round the site. The grounds are lovely and lots of planting going on - highly recommended - and the wine isn't bad round there either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Consider_phleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was heading to the Hunter for a luncheon and could only stay the Saturday night, after contacting numerous cottages, resorts etc- all had a 2night min. stay I contacted Jane who was happy to offer me one night's accommodation at a reasonable rate. Although there were only 2 of us we were booked into a 3 bedroom cabin- no extra charges for the rooms we weren't going to use which was also nice.
We arrived at 11am on Saturday morning and were able to check in to our cabin immediately.
The cabin itself was comfortable, the living area is small- but there is a large verandah with seating which can be utilised if the weather allows. The kitchen has everything you need to make your own meals, and the woodfire is always a nice touch.
The beds could use an update as they are a bit sinky in the middle- but didn't really bother us that greatly for a one night stay.
The grounds are beautiful with Kangaroos and parrots.
We walked into Pokolbin which took approx 40min, but this does involve walking very close to the edge of the road.
Overall i'd be happy to recommend Pokolbin Cabins to friends & would definitely stay there again. Thanks to Colin & Jane for great customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maido77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thank you once again Colin and Jane for yet another magical stay at the Pokolbin cabins. Your hard work and perseverance has paid off and the cabins and surrounding grounds and gardens are better than ever since taking over the business a couple of years ago.
I have been frequenting the cabins for years and I was disappointing to see a psychotic rant in the reviews. Colin and Jane's customer service goes above and beyond one's expectations.
Upon arrival, the fire was crackling away and the cabin was beautiful and warm. I was presented with a bottle of wine from the local region for my birthday, a thoughtful touch.
The cabins are situated in the heart of Pokolbin yet spaced far enough apart to give you a genuine feel of being alone,.....Very romantic!!!!
There are all sorts of wildlife on the grounds, ducks, rabbits, and kangaroo's who give you a guard of honour when driving through the grounds which is amazing to see.
We visited the cheese factory and olive farm to purchase goodies to have back in the cabin in front of the fire with some beautiful port from Mcguigans.
The cabins are situated next door is Bimbagen Estate, famous for their Jazz in the park and Esca fine dining, amazing food and service. It is a worthwhile drive to Cessnock to visit Carr's butchery, an old world butcher shop who smokes their own meats and have the most amazing t-bones on earth where you can cook them on the BBQ's provided on your cabin's veranda.
Be sure to make time to visit Ballabourneen winery, the old Evan's estate family wines, amazing, You can't go past Taste cafe for breakfast, beautiful food and delightful service.
Do yourself a favour and stay at the cabins, I guarantee you, you will be back again and again.


Cheers,
Juliet Dixon (Sydney)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in the Hunter staying at Pokolbin Cabins. We booked cabins 1 (5 bedroom) and Cabin 9 (3 bedroom) and were extremely happy with both. We had ages ranging from 6 months old to 83 years old and found the cabins extremely comfortable for everyone. The cabins were exceptionally clean and in a fantastic location. Check in was very easy and as both cabins were available we were able to check in first before we went off for lunch and wine tastings which was very convenient. This is the third lot of cabins I have used in the Hunter and we would definitely stay again. Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amym4023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Most Disgusting customer service EVER!!! So rude and seriously need to be reviewed by Fair Trading for their practices!!

Booked in to a cabin last week - requested the 5 bed - 8 ppl cabin $960 - paid the deposit - all appeared fine... THEN got an email from Jane saying that "You have been booked into Cabin 6 which is a three bedroom cabin but only has three beds which will not accommodate eight guests." and if I wanted to change to a cabin that would fit our party "You would definitely need to move out of Cabin 6 but I note that you have only paid the price for this cabin whereas the three bedroom cabins that can sleep up to eight guests are $$1,120.00 for two nights." $160 more than what we were quoted and confirmed for 8 people. The options on their website are to accommodate 8, 13 or 15... so if they cannot accommodate 8 people in the 8 people cabin then what the hell are they advertising that for?!

She claimed she had rung me "The telephone number that I called twice last night is 04xx xxx xxx (as shown on the booking confirmation sheet). It simply rang out with no message bank for me to leave you a message." when I suggested that she'd gotten the wrong number as I had not received a phone call and did in fact have message bank the reply was: "I guess one could call the same telephone number incorrectly twice - not! "

She admitted the booking was an internal error on their behalf, but still would not find a solution to our issue - to which I said I would find alternative accommodation and would happily relay the service she'd provided to my friends and colleagues to which I got the following reply: "Am I concerned with your threats - not in the least! Am I concerned with losing business through you - not in the least!"

This woman is a piece of work! The cabin are minimalist as it is and if I'm going to pay pay the extra cash to someone deserving then this rude, obnoxious lady!

At the end of the day - their website constitutes false advertising - they take your booking and then tell you because of a computer glitch its your fault and you have to pay for it - ABSOLUTE JOKE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamiG1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hunter Valley is a mid point for our group of friends so we probably visit the Hunter Region 4-5 times a year. This year we were looking for a three to four bedroom apartment and came upon the log cabins - we were pleasantly surprised! The cabin was extremely clean, well layed out and well equipped both inside and out. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Location is also good - only a two/three minute drive to the village (we actually walked in). We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
4.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
693 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cam-Way Estate
Cam-Way Estate
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Cabins

Property: Pokolbin Cabins
Address: 212 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten self contained log style cabins set on 50 acres of park and bush land in the centre of the Pokolbin region of the Hunter Valley vineyards with several within walking distance of the cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Cabins Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing