We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back!”
Review of Pokolbin Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pokolbin Cabins
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Hunter Valley is a mid point for our group of friends so we probably visit the Hunter Region 4-5 times a year. This year we were looking for a three to four bedroom apartment and came upon the log cabins - we were pleasantly surprised! The cabin was extremely clean, well layed out and well equipped both inside and out. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Location is also good - only a two/three minute drive to the village (we actually walked in). We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJoan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Group of 10 of us stayed here! Was great having 2 bathrooms! Great location! The rooms are not sound proof but it as very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyddii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights. It was cold (being in the middle of winter) but the fireplace was great and a lot of fun. Being city slickers, we particularly enjoyed chopping wood and having breakfast outside on the beautiful grass expanse outside.

The cabins themselves have a log cottage feel which is nice, but still manage to be clean and not having too many insects. The hot water was fast and long-lasting, and there were no complaints about linen, beds etc. The cabins have lots of little things that you can appreciate (eg clothes hanging rack, BBQ).

The location is excellent - right in the middle of the wineries. Was great to see kangaroos on site as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabins 8 and 10 - both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have stayed at this place many times over the last few years. This trip was our first since new management took over and it has improved out of sight since our previous visit. The cabins have been cleaned up and in some cases renovated. Jane and Colin were friendly and welcoming from the initial contact, right through to check out. And they have done an amazing job with the whole place. We've always liked it as a great place to stay in a big group but our experience last weekend made us like it even more. We will be back again for sure!!

Room Tip: Cabin 3 for a large group is very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

For a truely great, comfortable, authentic place to stay this is it. We had 6 people stay comfortably in the 3 bedroom cabin. Owners are hard working and very helpful. Bed was very comfortable, Everything in the kitchen you need, BBQ works well, Great grounds, cabins private.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissP142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A group of friends and I just spent a very hot and uncomfortable weekend in cabin 6 at the Cabins and would absolutely NOT recommend it to anyone. When we arrived the water was turned off, we had to search for the pump to turn it on. Then we realised the hot water also wasn't turned on so we had to wait for that to heat up. Neither of which would bother me except that there was no information in the cabin to tell us that we needed to do either of those things. It was a particularly hot weekend so we turned the air conditioner on in the main room, it did not cool down the space at all, even after running for several hours. None of the bed rooms are air conditioned, nor do they have fans, so a sleepless night was had by all. Frankly the price we paid for the facilities provided is not worth the money, there are numerous other options in the same area that would be far better value for money. There is new management apparently so perhaps they will address these issues, in the mean time, take your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah_travels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We booked out two 13 person cabins for the Dolly Parton weekend. We could not have asked for anything better from the location and the owners. The cabin was immaculate, linen was clean and crisp, bathrooms spotless and all kitchen essentials supplied! The venue is walkable to the Hope Estate however buses pass frequently for concert events! Colin and Jane (the owners) could not have been more welcoming and friendly and I would recommend anyone stay here! The pool was amazing on such a hot weekend too!

Room Tip: I can only comment on the 13 person cabins (number 1) which was spotless along with the surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
893 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
173 reviews
4.6 mi away
Belford Cabins
Belford Cabins
#33 of 39 in Pokolbin
29 reviews
5 mi away
Elfin Hill
Elfin Hill
#4 of 39 in Pokolbin
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Cabins

Address: 212 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pokolbin Cabins are your "home away from home" in the Hunter Valley Vineyards!! Ideally located within minutes to the best of what the Hunter Valley has to offer including world renown wineries, restaurants and activities such as hot air ballooning, The Hunter Valley Gardens and many more well known attractions. We have your accommodation sorted with privately situated, individual cabins, featuring 3 bedrooms, 5 bedrooms or 6 bedrooms. Whether your a couple looking for a relaxing weekend away or thinking of having a large celebration of sorts, we can accommodate your needs! Set on 50 acres of natural bush land, with views to the Watagan Mountains, there is plenty of room to walk, ride and explore. Take a swim in the pool or have a game of tennis or just relax on the verandah, enjoying the peace and quiet and picturesque surroundings. And, don't forget to bring the camera to capture some up close shots of our locals, the wild Eastern Grey kangaroos!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Cabins Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing