We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Log cabin, red wine, fire place who could ask 4 more ?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pokolbin Cabins

Pokolbin Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pokolbin Cabins
Grafton, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Log cabin, red wine, fire place who could ask 4 more ?”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

For a truely great, comfortable, authentic place to stay this is it. We had 6 people stay comfortably in the 3 bedroom cabin. Owners are hard working and very helpful. Bed was very comfortable, Everything in the kitchen you need, BBQ works well, Great grounds, cabins private.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissP142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A group of friends and I just spent a very hot and uncomfortable weekend in cabin 6 at the Cabins and would absolutely NOT recommend it to anyone. When we arrived the water was turned off, we had to search for the pump to turn it on. Then we realised the hot water also wasn't turned on so we had to wait for that to heat up. Neither of which would bother me except that there was no information in the cabin to tell us that we needed to do either of those things. It was a particularly hot weekend so we turned the air conditioner on in the main room, it did not cool down the space at all, even after running for several hours. None of the bed rooms are air conditioned, nor do they have fans, so a sleepless night was had by all. Frankly the price we paid for the facilities provided is not worth the money, there are numerous other options in the same area that would be far better value for money. There is new management apparently so perhaps they will address these issues, in the mean time, take your money and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_travels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We booked out two 13 person cabins for the Dolly Parton weekend. We could not have asked for anything better from the location and the owners. The cabin was immaculate, linen was clean and crisp, bathrooms spotless and all kitchen essentials supplied! The venue is walkable to the Hope Estate however buses pass frequently for concert events! Colin and Jane (the owners) could not have been more welcoming and friendly and I would recommend anyone stay here! The pool was amazing on such a hot weekend too!

Room Tip: I can only comment on the 13 person cabins (number 1) which was spotless along with the surrounding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had the six bedroom cabin. It was very clean the linen was crisp and the towels were fluffy. The kitchen had everything that we required for our stay. These cabins are centrally located. The property is large and the space between the cabins means you have a lot of privacy. We were a group of ten and when we next visit the Hunter Valley we would not hesitate to stay here again. The new owners were friendly and helpful. They have told us that they are progressively renovating the cabins.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CE_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syd
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed at the cabins for a weekend trip, large property with the cabins not too close to one another so privacy wasn't an issue. The cabins were clean and tidy. Bed linen was crisp and clean, towels were nice and fluffy. All we had to bring was our food and drinks. Iron, ironing board, blow dryer, were also provided. The location was lovely with the local wildlife in the morning and afternoons. The staff were helpful and friendly from booking through to our stay. Turns out its under new management and upon check out was advised the cabins are being upgraded, so looking forward to our next visit with new facilities. thanks guys!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed there for a weekend with friends, I expected alot more for the money the cabins were dated and not terribly clean.
Better options close by.
However management was helpful & friendly.

Kate

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Pokolbin Cabins are outrageously overpriced. We rented a 6 Bedroom Cabin for 2 Nights
with 10 Adults and 2 Children on the 1st Night and 6 Adults and 2 Children on the 2nd Night.
We paid $900.00 per Night. The Cabin was Old, Run Down, Filthy and well below the
minimum standard for Quality Accommodation. Manager was Rude and Boorish, On
arrival he informed me that he had not cleaned out the Fireplace but I could do that. When I dared question him about the Rates he just said if you don't like it then just go somewhere else. This was the best advice I received all weekend. This place is a REAL DOG.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tarnamyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
4.0 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
1.6 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Cabins

Property: Pokolbin Cabins
Address: 212 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have ten self contained log style cabins set on 50 acres of park and bush land in the centre of the Pokolbin region of the Hunter Valley vineyards with several within walking distance of the cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Cabins Greater Newcastle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing