We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean”
Review of Thalgara Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thalgara Estate
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The room was a good size with a lovely view. There are 6 rooms, but we didn't hear the other guests and only saw them in the car park.

A breakie basket was provided on Friday night with some small packets of cereal and half loaf of bread.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The room was simple but very clean, cozy and warm. Steve welcomed us very kindly and gave us lots of good information and tips about the region, although we arrived there a bit late there. They provided a light but very good breakfast for the following morning too.
The view from the room is beautiful, full of green and a nice lake.
It is well located, just few mins from main wineries and shops.
I would definitely come back to stay with them again, nothing to complain about our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simagagnini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Lovely place to stay. Thalgara Estate produce their own white & red wine, and I bought a bottle each, there are great wine and value for money (thou you may find some "cheap" wine online, but sometime you do want to pamper yourself for premium wine).

This is a self contained accommodation, that is clean, great fresh air, quiet/great privacy, lovely back patio that you can watch the kangaroos (need to get up early to watch them) hop around the vineyard.......with your own full privacy that you could read a book ..... and have a nice meal & a glass of wine ..... enjoying the view, fresh air ..... as if, is your own vineyard ;-)

The owner Steve & Sue are lovely couple, friendly and helpful. Great Aussie!

It's within short driving distance to supermarket, central shopping and there are great restaurant within reach.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday night to a warm welcome from the owners and headed to the room / apartment #4.was surprised upon entering the room to see a couple of very tired looking sofas (they would have been more at home in a 1970's travelodge.) It was clean and breakfast had already been put there for us which was a good touch. The bathroom was ok with a dodgy brown shower curtain and a rail that was wobbly to say the least. The shower had tenuous pressure and was not somewhere that one would linger. The apartment had 2 beds - we only required one and they were both doubles - a queen would have been a good touch. There was a hole in the wall the size of a doughnut filled up with a screwed up piece of paper. I removed the paper to check what was behind and swiftly replaced it - didn't want beasties crawling on me during the night! We woke up in the morning and had a great brakfast on the verrandah which was definitely the redeeming quality of the apartment. I thought that 420 for two nights was very expensive given the quality of the room and there was no service to speak of. Our beds were not made or turned down for us. As a previous reviewer mentioned we were required to was all dishes and mugs before leaving or face a charge of $20. This worried us in that, if the guests were responsible for washing the dishes manually, and they were not as diligent as us then there is potential for some rather unpleasant surprises. I would counsel you to bring your own wine and beer as the bottles placed in the room are not complementary, but for sale. The prices range from 2$23 to $35 for the show reserve.....is it really going to be as good as St Hugo? We had a great lunch at Firestick cafe which is at the next door vineyard, 2 chefs hats and really excellent. In summary, i would not stay here again unless i was going to a concert and everywhere else was booked (as was the case this time!).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We enjoyed our recent stay at the accommodation at Thalgara Estate Winery in Polkobin. The owners were very nice, and it’s a lovely setting, right at the vineyard. Our room was simple, but clean. By far the best part was the back patio, where we sat and enjoyed some wine in the sunshine while watching the birds. Further in the distance, we watched a family of kangaroos. The next morning, the mama and her joey were much closer to our room, and my friend managed to get a good photo before they hopped away. Whereas the afternoon before, all my photos were of brown lumps in the distance. ;)

The light breakfast provided was mostly bread, some refrigerated fruit, cereal, milk, juice and coffee. Would have liked some yogurt or something with some protein. They request you wash all the dishes you use before you leave, or else there is a $20 charge. Check out is 10:30 am.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Lovely accommodation with everything you need to enjoy the wine region - friendly and knowledgeable hosts, fully-equipped and clean room with modern bathroom, lovely private verandah overlooking the valley - all the in the heart of Pokolbin. Close to major wineries and boutique estates, restaurants and shops. Cessnock is a 15min drive away if you need supermarkets etc. Wine tour groups pick you up from your door. Breakfast is fresh bread, cereals, jam, juice, milk and fruit, which we enjoyed on the verandah watching a mob of kangaroos down in the valley.

The Thalgara wines are also a highlight - highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsivetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
1.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
7.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
1.8 mi away
Grapevines Boutique Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalgara Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalgara Estate

Property: Thalgara Estate
Address: Debeyers Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalgara Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Thalgara Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalgara Estate Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing