We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places like this give the Hunter a bad rep....”
Review of Bluetongue Cafe - CLOSED

Bluetongue Cafe
Price range: $6 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An authentic Italian dish always starts with the best flour, garden fresh tomatoes, and the best quality local produce. Then of course matched to a great wine. Sound simple ... We make all our own pasta and sauces from scratch , in the traditional Italian way. Our restaurant also features a glass fronted air-conditioned wine cellar where we have wines from all over the world including some rare vintage wines from local private cellars.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Places like this give the Hunter a bad rep....”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Terrible is an understatement! I am so disappointed we wasted a meal at this place when there are so many other tastier options available in the Hunter Valley. The service is lacklustre and the food is a let down.The chicken pie, at $14, was so inedible (due to the thick layer of oil sitting on top) that we returned it. Our replacement meal was then also stuffed up. Disappointing. Do yourself a favour and eat somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lady_lunchal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    48
    37
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Felt a bit BLUE after visit”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Looked forward to visiting to this establishment but we were disappointed. When ordering and asking about tasting paddle and food we felt like the vibe given off by staff member was ``I know all this, why don`t you``
Anyway we ordered a pizza and asked if we could have it well browned. We were told it comes out different all the time.
So we waited and when our buzzer went off and my wife went to collect the pizza, you guessed it, she had to ask for it to be cooked a few more minutes.
When we got around to eating it , the pizza was just warm and texture was nothing more than doughy stodge!!!!
Obviously a frozen pizza reheated and a guess taken as to whether its cooked.
Milkbar food , city restaurant prices and service that is impersonal.
Beer was good but not worth the bother.........................

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank geoffery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

quiet,peaceful,delicious,food served with rapid attention ,good portions,well planned menus,next room a bit noisy

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sue n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“For lovers of BEER not wine”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

As we are not wine drinkers, we loved Bluetongue! The food in the cafe did nothing for us, except the pizzas, but we loved the paddle of beer tasters. 6 85ml of different beers and then a middle of your favourite for $15. It was great fun. It is lovely sitting out in the gardens. If you prefer beer, you must go here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly serviceable food and beer”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I don't think Bluetongue aims to be the best. We had salt and chili squid and meatballs: they were fine and well-priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sapphire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluetongue Cafe also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing