We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the beer paddles”
Review of Bluetongue Cafe - CLOSED

Bluetongue Cafe
Price range: $5 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An authentic Italian dish always starts with the best flour, garden fresh tomatoes, and the best quality local produce. Then of course matched to a great wine. Sound simple ... We make all our own pasta and sauces from scratch , in the traditional Italian way. Our restaurant also features a glass fronted air-conditioned wine cellar where we have wines from all over the world including some rare vintage wines from local private cellars.
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the beer paddles”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Loved the beer paddles, but the food was a bit industrial. Having said that it was exactly what we needed to soak up the beer. There were kangaroos there too! We loved the beers, but the pilsner and the light beers were probably my favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    48
    37
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice to have a cold frothie on a warm day”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our first port of call on our Hunter Valley. We had a light lunch with a cold beer to wash it down. Unfortunately the place was overun with day trippers from Sydney so we were glad to get out of there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ditu-Wonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hmmmm!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and i were really looking forward to visiting this brewery but the experience fell short. Compared to other we had visited in Tasmania, WA and NZ this brewery was lacking. No proper gift shop, the outside eating area was tired and need new furniture. The beer platter was ok nothing special. Stick to the wineries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gareth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
159 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A fun place with friends”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You can eat, you can drink, you can sample. Personally, like like coming here around lunch time. Good time to take a break from the wineries, have a bit to eat, and try a Blue Tongue sampler paddle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellersforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK Pub Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well worn outdoor area, not a bad offer for the $15 paddle of beer with the free middie. The food was decent for pub fare. Overall a place to bring kids but don't expect top notch food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sydneybubbles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluetongue Cafe also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing